TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University


Name Changes

02 Sep 1867 - 26 June 1868 North Missouri Normal School & Commercial College
1868 - 29 Dec 1870 North Missouri Normal School
30 Dec 1870 - 20 May 1919  First District Normal School*
21 May 1919 - 31 Dec 1967  Northeast Missouri State Teachers College*
01 Jan 1968 - 12 Aug 1972 Northeast Missouri State College
13 Aug 1972 - 30 Jun 1996 Northeast Missouri State University
*The school was commonly known as "Kirksville State Normal School" and "Kirksville State Teachers College" during these years but the city's name was never officially part of the school's name.



1867 - 1881 Joseph Baldwin 1969 - 1970 Dr. Eli F. Mittler
1881 - 1882 William P. Nason 1970 - 1989 Dr. Charles J. McClain
1882 - 1891 Joseph P. Blanton 1989 - 1990 Dr. Robert Dager
1891 - 1899 Dr. William D. Dobson 1990 - 1994 Dr. Russell Warren
1899 - 1925 John R. Kirk 1994 - 2003 Dr. W. Jack Magruder
1925 - 1937 Dr. Eugene Fair   2003 - 2008 Dr. Barbara B. Dixon
1937 - 1967 Dr. Walter H. Ryle 2008 - 2010 Dr. Darrell W. Krueger
1967 - 1969 Dr. F. Clark Elkins   2010- Dr. Troy D. Paino


Old Campus: Library Hall (1901), Baldwin Hall (1873), and Science Hall (1906)

Building Names
and Their Origins

View a map of the
Truman State University Campus

Adair House Adair County, Missouri
Baldwin Hall Joseph Baldwin, Founder & 1st President (1867-81) [this is "New" Baldwin; "Old" Baldwin, the original building pictured above, was destroyed by fire in 1924]
Barnett Hall Otho Barnett, Alumnus and Head of Practical Arts Division (1939-68)
Blanton Hall Joseph Blanton, 3rd President (1882-91)
Brewer Hall Basil Brewer, Alumnus and author of "Old Missou", the first official school song
Campbell Apartments E B Campbell, Kirksville banker and businessman from whose estate the property was purchased
Centennial Hall Built during the University’s 100th year and named for that anniversary
Dobson Hall William D Dobson, 4th President (1891-99)
Fair Apartments Eugene Fair, 6th President (1925-37)
Grim Hall Dr Ezra C Grim, Alumnus, Member of Board of Regents (1909-15) & Nursing Program Administrator (1923-31); founder of Grim-Smith Hospital for which this building was originally the nurses’ home
Gardner Track Kenneth L Gardner, Assistant Professor of Physical Education & Track Coach (1951-88); Athletic Director (1974-88)
Kirk Building & Kirk Memorial John R Kirk, 5th President (1899-1925)
Magruder Hall Willis Jackson Magruder, 13th President (1994-2003)
McClain Hall Charles J McClain, 10th President (1970-89)
McKinney Center Robert L McKinney, Alumnus, Assistant to the President (1938-40, 1946-51), & Head of Public Relations (1965-73), and Virginia F "Fran" McKinney, Director, International Student Office (1965-94)
Missouri Hall State of Missouri
Nason Hall William P Nason, 2nd President (1881-82)
Ophelia Parrish Ophelia Ann Parrish, Director of the Model School (1899-1903) and 1st Head Librarian (1903-15)
Pershing Building & Arena
General John J Pershing, Alumnus and Commander of the American Expeditionary Forces, World War I
Pickler Memorial Library Samuel M Pickler, Instructor (1868-73) and Kirksville businessman (gave $25,000 to build the new library after Library Hall burned in 1924)
Ryle Hall Walter H Ryle, 7th President (1937-67)
Stokes Stadium James S Stokes, Professor of Physics (1905-25) and Supervisor of Grounds (1925-50); designed & built the football field & stadium
Student Recreation Center &
Student Union Building
The Rec Center & the SUB, built as a result of student initiatives, were named for the students
Ruth W Towne Museum & Visitors' Center Ruth Warner Towne, Alumna, Professor of History (1952-1988) & Dean of Graduate Studies (1983-1988)
Violette Hall Eugene M Violette, Professor of History and Head of History Department (1900-23)
West Campus Suites The western-most building on campus; named for its location


For information concerning this document contact:



Archives Table of Contents  |  Special Collections  |  Pickler Memorial Library


Direct questions and comments to the Library WebMaster
Copyright © 1996-2004 by Truman State University, Kirksville, Missouri. All Rights Reserved.


Encouraging Discovery