Library Web Home

News Databases & Indexes

                            Newspaper Databases  |  News Transcripts   |    Newspaper Indexes
                                                                                                                                     
 

Newspaper Databases

*America's Historical Newspapers Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
*LexisNexis-A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news.
*Wall Street Journal-Full Text 1984+, Abstract 1982+
*Newspaper Source(EBSCO).  Selected full text for nearly 30 U.S. and international newspapers as well as full text of television and radio news transcripts and selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers.
*NewsBank- Full text of 3 Missouri newspapers and 7 other national newspapers.
               

News Transcripts

CBS News Transcripts - Pickler Library has CBS News Transcripts for 1975 - October 1987 available in microfiche in Microfiche Cabinet 3, Drawer 3-4. (See Guide for more information.)
*LexisNexis - has news transcripts from ABC, CBS, CNN,  Fox News Network, National Public Radio, Official Kremlin International News Broadcasts, and more
*Newspaper Source(EBSCO) - has news transcripts from MSNBC, CBS, Fox News Network, National Public Radio, and more.


Newspaper Indexes

Chicago Tribune Index, 1990+ 
Print index in Microforms Reference AI 21 C45 C47 
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1990+ 
1984+  available full text on Newsbank*  (select National Titles)

Christian Science Monitor Index, 1950+ 
Print index in Microforms Reference  AI 21 C462 I5423 
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1908+ 
1987+ available full text on Newsbank* (select National Titles)

National Observer Index, 1962-1977
Print Index in Microforms Reference AI 21 N25
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm: 1962-1977

New York Times Newspaper, 1851-present
Indexing for these years available at New York Times Article Archives 1851-Present.
The full-text is available for purchase through this web site or you can use the citation information to locate the articles on the full run of the New York Times microfilm in Truman's library collection.
Print index in Microforms Reference AI 21 N45 
Check the New York Times Collection Guide for more information.

St. Louis Post Dispatch Index, 
1975+ Print index in Microforms Reference  AI 21 S79 B45 
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1879+ 
1988+ available full text on Newsbank*

Times Index (London), 1990-1997+ 
Print index in Microforms Reference  AI 21 T46 
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1990

Trudex -- Online 1900+ 
An index to the Truman State University newspaper The Index, and other Truman State
University publications.
Truman Index - Truman's weekly paper when classes are in session - August 20, 1996+
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1912+ 

USA Today Index, 1987+ 
Print index in Microforms Reference AI 21 U8 B45 in the Periodicals Area.
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1982+ 

Wall Street Journal*--Online 1984+ full text (1982+ Abstracts)
Wall Street Journal Index 
1955+ Print index in Microforms Reference HG 1 W26  
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1889+ 

Washington Post Index, 1971+ 
Print index in Microforms Reference AI 21. W 3 and Microforms Reference AI 21 W3 O52 
Library has the actual newspaper on microfilm 1877+ 
1977+ available full text on Newsbank*(select National Titles)
 

Click here for other news sources (television, radio, etc.)

*Restricted to use on the Truman State University network.   Newspaper microfilm shelved in Microforms Room.



srh


 


Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter