A-Z List of Electronic Resources
Unless otherwise indicated, this is a list of subscription-based electronic resources available to Truman students, faculty and staff. It includes periodical indexes and abstracts, selected electronic journal collections, encyclopedias, library catalogs, and other kinds of databases. For individual electronic journal titles, please do title searches on Truman's library catalog.
Academic. Also called LexisNexis Academic. Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.
Academic OneFile (Gale). A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO). 1985+. A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800 journals in all areas of academic study.
ACM Digital Library.
All journals, transactions, conference proceedings, magazines, and newsletters
published by the ACM and affiliated organizations. Also includes the Guide to
Computing Literature, a bibliographic database that covers publications of the
ACM and of other publishers.
AGRICOLA.
1970+. Also free to the public at National Agricultural
Library's Gateway to AGRICOLA. Materials relating to all
aspects of agriculture.
AgeLine. Free database for information on social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences.
America: History and Life. Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
American Chemical Society Legacy Archives. Searches full text of all ACS journals from 1879 on.
America's Historical Newspapers. Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers. Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
L'Année
Philologique Online. Database published by the Société
Internationale de
Bibliographie Classique covering volumes 30 to 73 with more than
480,000 bibliographic records.
Anthropological Index Online. Free database.
AnthroSource. From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology
Art Full Text. 1984+. Indexes more than 400 key international arts periodicals and some other arts publications. Full text from 1997 onward is available for select publications.
Art Index Retrospective. 1929-1984. Coverage of older articles in international periodicals and journals in the arts.
ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
ArticleFirst. 1990+. Indexes articles from nearly 12,000 journals of all disciplines.
Arts & Humanities Search (Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
ATLA Religion Database. 1949+.
Bioethics Literature Database
Free database. BELIT provides access to about
320.000 records from the integrated German, American and French databases.
It is an extensive bibliographic directory of literature in the area of
bioethics unique world wide, containing references to monographs, grey
literature, legal documents, journal articles, newspaper articles and book
contributions.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index. (1 simultaneous user).
Biological Abstracts 1969+. (10 simultaneous users).
BioMed Central
(FULL TEXT)
Free database.
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all
areas of biology and medicine.
British Library Direct.
Search 20,000 journals for free. You can pay for individual articles, or order
them through your interlibrary loan service.
Business & Company Resource Center (Gale). Business, company, and industry informaiton. Contains company profiles, periodical articles, financial data, market research, and stock and financial information.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO). Full text coverage of over 8,000 business publications, dating as far back as 1922.
CCH Internet Tax Research Network (CCH Omnitax Library). Up to 35 simultaneous users.
Center for Research Libraries Catalog. A free site.
China Data
Online. 1949+
Historical statistics as well as monthly and yearly macro-economic
data from the China Data Center. Password needed.
Inquire at the Reference Desk.
ChoiceReviewsOnline. Includes access to entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988, updated monthly. Reviews significant books and resources of interest to those in higher education.
CINAHL (EBSCO). Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health. Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 1700 current nursing and health journals. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being assigned indexed.
CIS Congressional Masterfile 1789-1982. On CD-ROM workstation in the PML Reference Department.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO). Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more.
Company Dossier (Business section of LexisNexis Academic) includes:
- Business & Industry news
- Company Profiles
- Company Financial Information (Includes some Ratio Analysis)
- SEC Filings
- Accounting Literature
Congressional. Also called LexisNexis Congressional.
Credo Reference. Over 360 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Criminal Justice Periodical Index.
Discovering Collection. (Gale) A collection of essays, critical analyses, biographical information, primary sources, and multimedia elements in the core subject areas of history, literature, biography, science and social studies.
Dissertations & Theses. Obtain the full text of theses written at Truman State University, 1997+.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819. Full-text access to a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets, and broadsides from the early 1800s, based on Ralph R. Shaw's and Richard H. Shoemaker's "American Bibliography, 1801-1819. Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
EBSCOHost. Includes Business Source Premiere (over 8000 periodicals), Academic Search Elite (over 1,500 full text journals), and many others.
EconLit. Index of economic literature.
eHRAF World Cultures --Produced by Human Relations Area File, Yale University, this is a unique cross-cultural database currently covering 137 cultures; useful for many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities and medicine and any area concerned with cultural diversity. User guides can be accessed at www.yale.edu/hraf/userguides.html.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Energy Citations Database. 1948 +. Free database developed by the U.S. Department of Energy. This database contains bibliographic citations for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information. Disciplines of interest are: chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations and patents.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center),
1966+
On
the Web through
FirstSearch.
On the Web through the official
ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal
articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc.
It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.
ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are
in the library on
microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other
useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk,
also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.
Europa World--Online version of the Europa World Year Book. Contains political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories and profiles of over 1650 international organizations.
FARS--Financial Accounting Research System. Available in most computer labs on campus.
FindArticles
(FULL TEXT)
Free database from LookSmart. Search and read 5.5 million articles from over
900 publications in a variety of subject areas, from American
Demographics to Wrestling Digest.
FISonline--Formerly called Moody's Financial Information Service. Truman can access its weekly News Reports for Mergent Manuals.
General OneFile. (Gale) General interest news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics, including business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and technology. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
General Science Abstracts. 1984+. Contains citations from more than 160 leading journals in science.
GEOBASE. Worldwide literature on geography and geology.
Google Scholar. Free database
GPO Catalog of Government Publications.
1975+
On the Web through
GPO Access, 1974+
Free to the public.
In print, 1895-1976 Reference Z 1223 A18 (under title
Monthly Catalog of
United States Government Publications)
An index to publications of federal government agencies and departments,
compiled by the Government Printing Office.
Le Grand Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise. CD-ROM workstation.
Grove Music Online--Online version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the definitive reference source for music
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
The full text of nursing, allied health and medical journals;
consumer health magazines; newsletters topical overviews; and
reference books. More than 2,000 full-text sources and hundreds of
videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health
Specialized reference tool offering a vast collection of medical
information incuding hundreds of health/medical journals,
newsletters and thousands of pamphlets and hundreds of streaming
videos from medical experts. Provides access to many encyclopedias
including Clinical Reference Systems, PDR guides, Medical and Health
Information Directory, Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence
and much more. Includes Alternative Health module which provides a
rich collection of books, journals, magazines on alternative and
complimentary therapies.
HighWire Press (FULL TEXT)
Largest archive of free full-text science journal articles.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Historical Abstracts. Indexes world history journals and some other publications.
Homeland Security Digital Database. Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF )
Microfiche Cabinet 59, Drawers 8-10
A microfiche collection of mostly primary source materials on cultures or
societies representing all major areas of the world; useful for cultural comparisons or for studying
all aspects of a particular culture. Portions of this database, the
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography,
are available online.
Humanities
Abstracts. 1984+. Contains
citations from more than 465 periodicals in humanities.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing
of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907. Also
has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Ingenta. An
online articles delivery service, a table of contents database, and a
keyword entry index to nearly 20,000 periodicals. Free to the public to
search.
Information Bridge.
Free database. Provides open source access to full-text and bibliographic records of
Department of Energy
Research and development reports in phusics, chemistry, materials, biology,
environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and
information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
Informe JSTOR.
Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I
and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science
collection.
Kansas
City Star. Through NewsBank (1991+).
LANCE
Library Catalog. Union
catalog of libraries of 6 NE Missouri colleges including Truman State
University. Free to the public to search.
LexisNexis
Academic. Provides a wide range of full-text news,
business, legal, and reference information.
Library, Information Science & Technology (LISTA) (EBSCO). 1965+.
Indexing and abstracting for more than 600 periodicals as well as books,
research reports, and conference proceedings in the field of library science and
information technology.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) Up-to-date biographical information,
overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers
from around the world in all disciplines and time periods. 1 Simultaneous
User
Masters
Theses at Truman State University
MathSciNet
(Mathematical Reviews)
MEDLINE.
1965+. Also free to the
public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. Abstracted
articles from 3,500 medical journals.
MEDLINEplus Health
Information. Free site from the National Library of Medicine for
finding authoritative consumer health information including searches of MEDLINE,
ClincicalTrials.gov, and NIH research studies. Includes full-text drug
information, a medical encyclopedia, and the latest health news.
Mergent Online
(Also called FISOnline). Formerly called Moody's Financial Information
Service. Truman can access its weekly News Reports for
Mergent Manuals.
MLA
Bibliography. 1926+. A
bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and
folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals
and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
MLA Directory of Periodicals. Detailed descriptions of over 7100
journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency,
circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines. MOBIUS.
Combined catalog of Missouri academic libraries. Free to the public to search.
Monthly Bulletin of
Statistics---Economic and social statistics of the countries in the
world, collected by the United Nations.
MUSE,
also called Project
MUSE. (Note: Truman campus only has access to journals from
Johns Hopkins U Press.)
NASA
Astrophysics Data System - Free database. Collection of indexes including
Astronomy and Astrophysics (1,115,175 records),
including 106,464 abstracts from Planetary Sciences and Solar
Physics journals;
Instrumentation (777,377 records), including 212,772
abstracts from SPIE conference
proceedings;
Physics and Geophysics (2,035,073 records), including
380,005 abstracts from APS
journals;
ArXiv Preprints (332,683 records), consisting of all
the papers published in the ArXiv
e-print archive
National Criminal Justice
Reference Service Abstracts
National Science Digital
Library (FULL TEXT)
New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present. Indexes
over 15 million articles published in the
New York Times from September 1851 to the present. Users can
search for specific articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or
date range. Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include
advertisements and other listings. Searching is free and the full-text is available for purchase
through this web site or you can use the citation information to locate the
articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection. NewsBank.
Full text articles from the St Louis Post-Dispatch, the Kansas City Star and
the Springfield News-Leader as well as several national papers such as USA
Today, the Chicago Tribune, and the Christian Science Monitor. Also
provides full text from several popular magazines such as Entertainment Weekly,
People, Sports Illustrated, and Fortune.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com (FULL TEXT) NTIS/DARTS: National
Technical Information System/Depository Access to Reports, Technical &
Scientific. Project to provide more than 240,000 technical and scientific
reports (published between 1964 and 2000) to selected depository libraries.
Truman is part of the pilot project. Access only in the library.
Inquire at the Reference Desk for login.
Open Access Publications
(FULL TEXT)
Open Science
Directory - full text science periodical articles
for free.
Opposing
Viewpoints Resource Center. Information on current social issues,
including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper
articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other
website links. 2 Simultaneous Users. PapersFirst.
Index of papers presented at
conferences.
Philosopher's
Index (EBSCO) 1940+. (1 simultaneous user)
Physical Review Online Archive- 1893 - to present. A full
text archive of articles from Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics. POPLINE. Population
information online: abstracts of the worldwide literature on population,
family planning, and related health issues. Free database. ProceedingsFirst.
Index of conference
publications.
Project
MUSE. Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the
Basic Undergraduate Collection. ProQuest
Includes Criminal Justice Periodical Index and Wall Street Journal. To search a
specific database, click on "Collections" and choose a search mode
from "Search Methods".
PsycARTICLES.
Full text access to over 50 journals of the American Psychological Association (APA). PsycINFO.
1887+. Psychology abstracts.
PubMED PubMED Central
(FULL TEXT)
Reader's
Guide Abstracts.
1983+. Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.
Reader's Guide Retrospective. 1890-1982. Index
to older magazine articles.
RILM
Abstracts of Music Literature.
1969+
Rock's Back Pages.
Archive of reviews, interviews, and feature stories on current and past rock
musicians from major music publications. SciFinder Scholar
- Chemical Abstracts. 1907+. (2 simultaneous users) SciFinder Scholar provides
access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including
Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users
may search more than 19 million citations to the chemistry
literature by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number,
and CAS abstract number. More than 22 million chemical substances
may be searched by chemical name, chemical structure, CAS Registry
Numbers, and formula. Users can also do substructure searching. This database is available to the
public only on computers no. 31, 32, 33 in the Reference area of the
library.
SciFinder Scholar is not to be used for commercial purposes. Science.gov
(FULL TEXT)
Scientific American. Historical issues from 1846 to 1869 available
from Cornell University. Issues from 1993 to present available from
EBSCO.
Small
Business Resource Center. Information on how to start, finance or
manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to
guides, articles and websites.
Smoking & Health
Resource Library. Free database. "Abstracts of articles from
medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations;
reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from
federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents
from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents.
Social
Science Abstracts. 1983+.
Contains citations from more than 550 social science journals.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million
records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also
contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000
conference papers.
Sociological
Abstracts. In print 1953-1963
SPIN/Scitation
1893+
Sport
Discus (EBSCO). Comprehensive coverage of sport,
fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource
Center (SPIRS). Includes over 650,000 records of monographs and journal
articles going back as far as 1800.
Stat-USA.
Includes statistics from State
of the Nation, GLOBUS and National Trade Data Bank. 2 simultaneous
users with password. Inquire at
Reference Desk.
St.
Louis Post Dispatch. Through NewsBank (1989+).
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) TRUDEX.
The Index to Truman State University Publications. Free to the public to search.
Truman Library Catalog. Database
of holdings in Truman's Pickler Memorial Library. Free to the public.
Value
Line Investment Survey. Password needed. Inquire at Reference
Desk.
Wall
Street Journal. Full text 1984+, abstract 1982+. To limit the search
to a certain date, choose "Guided Search".
Washington Post Articles Archive 1877 - the present -
Indexes articles published in the
Washington Post from 1877 to the
present. Users can search for specific articles by keyword or phrase, author,
headline, date, or date range. Searches may be limited to articles only or
broadened to include advertisements and other listings. Searching is free
and the full-text is available for purchase through this web site or you can use
the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library
collection. The
World Almanac and Book of Facts
WorldCat.
Combined catalog of thousands of
libraries.
WorldCat Dissertations. Catalog of theses and dissertations
contained in the WorldCat database. World
News Connection. 11/1994+. English translation of foreign news
broadcasting. Password needed. Inquire at Reference Desk.
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this reference tool provides
full-text of popular Hispanic magazines - not just translations.
InfoTrac Custom Newspapers
Coverage of more than 150 cover-to-cover titles and selected full-text news and
business coverage from another 280 sources. Search by title, headline, date,
newspaper section or other fields.
ITER:
Gateway to the Renaissance
LexisNexis
Congressional. Comprehensive US legislative information,
including the full text of bills, reports, testimony, public laws, the
Congressional Record, and members biography and voting records. Truman
campus only has access to the base edition.
National
Trade Data Bank (NTDB). Included
in Stat-USA.
2 simultaneous users with password.
Inquire at Reference Desk.
On the Web. Free database.
Contains summaries of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice,
including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports,
journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections,
courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics,
and victims of crime. Covers items published from early 1970's to the present.
Free database.
A digital library of "exemplary resources collections and
services, organized in support of science education at all
levels." You may ask a science, math, or technology question
through the AskNSDL
question and answer service.
Naxos Music Library
An extensive collection of Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music
recordings. Users can also read notes about the music and biographical
information about the composers while listening to the recordings.
The link takes you to the free special collections portion of the archive.
Includes newspapers from the 18th century to the present. A membership fee
is required for searching the complete archive.
An open access publication is a publication that
provides immediately free online access to all users
worldwide.
Pro-and-Con. Searchable
database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest,
Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
Free site for searching MEDLINE through the National Library of
Medicine.
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital
archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Free site which provides a gateway to information resources at U.S. government
science agencies. Includes selected web sites and databases of
technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and
other published materials.
List
of Participating Agencies
General Collection (Non-Circulating) HM 1 S67
Covers more than 1,900 journals in sociology, social work, and other social
sciences.
One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference
proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific
societies and technical publishers.
A free EBSCO database, indexing/abstracting database to approximately
280 popular periodicals and 1,300 book chapters related to K-12 education.
Users may save, e-mail, or download citations and abstracts. Some full-text
articles will be available because of our subscriptions to other EBSCO
databases.