Anthropology Indexes & Databases
AnthroSource From the American Anthropological Association, full text online source of approximately 32 journals covering various areas in anthropologyeHRAF World Cultures-- The eHRAF World Cultures, a Web version of HRAF begun in 1997, currently contains information on 137 cultures. This unique cross-cultural database contains more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups. Source documents include books, articles and dissertations that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's culture and subject classification systems (The Outline of World Cultures and the Outline of Cultural Materials). The eHRAF User Guides (a Web-based tutorial, user guide and glossary of terms) can be found at www.yale.edu/hraf/userguides.html
Hispanic American Periodicals
Index (HAPI), 1970+
In Print 1970 - 1995: General Collection F 1408 H3
Covers Latin American studies and Hispanics in the United States.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) on Microfiche
Microfiche Cabinet 59, Drawers 8-10
A microfiche collection of mostly primary source materials on cultures or
societies representing all major areas of the world, approximately 360 cultures
of indexed ethnographic information comprise this collection. This
set can be used for cultural comparisons
(for example, mythology, taboos, causes of illness, ethnobotany) or for studying
all aspects of a particular culture (Copper Eskimo, Iroquois, Trobriands and
many more). The HRAF collection is organized according to two main print
resources: The Outline of World Cultures (OWC) and the Outline
of Cultural Materials (OCM), both located on top of Cabinet 59 where
the fiche are filed.
The Index to the Human Relations Area Files,1974-1983 (Microform Reference GN 25 I542)
is a subject index to the microfiche set organized by OCM category code. The
index is most useful for determining the coverage of a subject in a file without
going directly to the files themselves.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective--Provides indexing to
citations and abstracts from over 1200 periodicals, some going back to1907.
Coverage includes many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Social Science Abstracts
1983+
Citations and abstracts from about 350 journals in anthropology, sociology,
geography, economics and other social science areas.
In print under various titles 1907-1996: Ref AI 3 S6
Covers about 300 journals in the areas of anthropology,
area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics,
geography, international relations, law, political science, psychology, social
work and public welfare, sociology, and related topics.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive sociology research
database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400
journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books
and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.
Unless otherwise indicated, online databases are restricted to use on
the
Truman State University network.
lmg