Communication Disorders Databases & Indexes
Education, Psychology, Linguistics |
Medicine, Physiology
Education, Psychology, Linguistics
Academic Search Elite
(EBSCO)
Full text for over 1,530
journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, education,
and more. Includes indexing for an additional 1,500+ periodicals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
(EBSCO)
Merger of two databases,
CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Now expanded to
provide indexing to 400 journals with full text for over 200 titles.
Some indexing goes back to 1915. Includes
several communication disorders journals.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center),
1966+
On
the Web through
FirstSearch.
On the Web through the official
ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal
articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc.
It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.
ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are
in the library on
microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other
useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk,
also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at
this site.)
Click
here to show
the journal title list.
Dissertation
Abstracts. 1861+
On the Web through FirstSearch.
Summaries of dissertations from universities in the United States and around the
world. All subjects. To actually see the dissertation, you must
request it on Interlibrary Loan through WorldCat.
MLA Bibliography. 1926+
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language,
linguistics, and folklore, produced by the Modern Language Association of
America. Approximately 75% of all MLA records are journal articles;
the remainder include books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts.
Click
here to show the journal title list.
PsycINFO
On
the Web through FirstSearch , 1887+
In print 1927-1966: General
Collection BF 1 P65.
Published by the American Psychological Association. Contains summaries of the
world's literature in psychology and related disciplines. Indexes over 1400
journals in 29 different languages from approximately 54 countries. Books,
dissertations, and reports are also included. Click
here to show the journal title list.
PsycARTICLES
On the Web through Ovid.
Full text articles from 57 journal
titles published by the American Psychological Association.
Click
here to show the journal title list.
Social
Sciences Abstracts
On the Web through FirstSearch,
1983+
In print under various titles
1907-1996: Ref AI 3 S6
Covers about 300 journals in the areas of anthropology,
area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics,
geography, international relations, law, political science, psychology, social
work and public welfare, sociology, and related topics.
Click
here to show the journal title list
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive sociology research
database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400
journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books
and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.
Print:
DSH Abstracts. 1960-1985.
Print:
General Collection RF 1 D45
Brief, noncritical summaries of
articles from 250 periodicals relevant to communication sciences and disorders.
Ceased publication after the 1985 volume.
Exceptional Child Education Resources. 1969-2003.
Print: General Collection LC 3950 E942
Indexes books, periodical articles,
government reports, dissertations on children who are gifted or are physically,
mentally or learning disabled.
Physiology and Medicine
EBSCOhost offers several databases useful for communication disorders.Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). 1983+
Print 1977-1997: General Collection RT 41 C842
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 1700 current nursing and health journals. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being assigned indexed.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals.
Academic Search Elite provides full text for over 1,530 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and more.
Dissertation Abstracts, 1861+
On the Web through FirstSearch. Summaries of dissertations from universities in the United States and around the world. All subjects.
General Science Abstracts, 1984+
Contains citations from more than 150 journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine and health, physics and more.
MEDLINE, 1965+
On the Web through FirstSearch
On the Web through PubMed, the NLM free public site
Indexes more than 3,500 journals published internationally in all fields of medicine. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Coverage: Click here to show the journal title list.
Journals
Speech & Hearing Journals in Pickler Memorial Library.
Includes where they are indexed and where to find full text
online.
Note: ASHA provides two FREE great alert services for their
scholarly journals.
eTOC provides e-mail Tables of Contents of new
issues as they are published.
CiteTrack Alerts provides e-mail alerts when new
articles matching your search
criteria are published in these journals.
Click on each journal at
http://journals.asha.org/
Education periodicals in Pickler Memorial Library.
Medical periodicals in Pickler Memorial Library.
Psychology periodicals in Pickler Memorial Library,
to use on the Truman State University network.
km