Communication Databases & Indexes
Communication & Mass Media Complete.
EBSCO
Merger of two databases,
CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Now expanded to
provide indexing to 400 periodicals with full text for over 200 titles.
Some indexing goes back to 1915.
Humanities
Abstracts. 1984+
On the Web through FirstSearch.
In print under various titles
1907-1996: Ref AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 325 periodicals in
archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore,
history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion
and theology. Click
here to show journal list. This should be used with
the Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective listed below for
older articles.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective. 1907-1983
In print under various titles.
Ref AI 3 S6
Indexes all aspects of the humanities and social sciences from over
1,200 North American and European periodicals. Subjects
covered include: addiction studies; anthropology; archaeology; area
studies; art; classical studies; communications; community health &
medical care; criminal justice and criminology; dance; economics;
environmental studies; ethics; family studies; film; folklore;
gender studies; geography; gerontology; history; international
relations; journalism; law; linguistics; literary & social criticism
literature; minority studies; music; performing arts; philosophy;
planning & public administration; political science; psychiatry, and
psychology; public welfare; religion and theology; social work;
sociology; and urban studies.
MLA
Bibliography. 1926+
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language,
linguistics, and folklore, produced by the Modern Language Association of
America. Approximately 75% of all MLA records are journal articles;
the remainder include books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts.
Click
here to show journal list.
PsycINFO
On the Web through FirstSearch, 1887+
In print 1927-1966: General Collection BF 1 P65.
Published by the American Psychological Association. Contains summaries of the
world's literature in psychology and related disciplines. Indexes over 1400
journals in 29 different languages from approximately 54 countries.
Click
here to show journal list. Books,
dissertations, and reports are also included from 1987+.
Other related indexes/databases:
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO). 1985+.
A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800
journals in all areas of academic study--social sciences,
humanities, etc.
Business Source Premiere. Provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications and more than 7,000 other sources. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including advertising, public relations, etc. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Dissertation Abstracts International
Abstracts of doctoral dissertations (1980+) and masters
theses (1988+); citations to doctoral dissertations from 1861+; from
institutions in North America and Europe.
In Print: 1938-1979, located in Periodicals LB 2371 D58
The actual dissertations generally need to be ordered on
interlibrary loan.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
On the Web through
FirstSearch.
On the Web through the official
ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal
articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc.
It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC
Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before
1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche
subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other
useful information, is available on the Web through
the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC
documents are not available at this site.)
Online 1983+. Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.
In print, 1890+ Title is Readers Guide to Periodical Literature
Reader's Guide Retrospective. 1890-1982. Index to older magazine articles.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.
World News Connection. 11/1994+. English translation of foreign news broadcasting. Password needed. Inquire at Reference Desk.
Print Indexes
Communication Abstracts
In print only 1967-2001:
Ref P 90 C65
Provides coverage of recent literature in the areas of general communication,
mass communication, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, communication
theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, small group
communication, organizational communication, journalism, public relations,
radio, public opinion, speech, and television.
FIND: Frye's
Index to Nonverbal Data. Reference P 99.5 F79 1980
Index to Journals in Communication Studies through 1990. Edited by
Matlon and Ortiz. 2 vols. Print only. Ref
P 87 M37 1992.
to use on the Truman State University network.
km