Library Web Home

Education Databases


ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
       
On the Web through FirstSearch.
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.  Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.)

Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
        Current ly a free trial for this EBSCO indexing/abstracting database to approximately 280 popular periodicals and 1,300 book chapters related to K-12 education.  Users may save, e-mail, or download citations and abstracts. 

PsycINFO
       
On the Web through FirstSearch ,  1887+
        In print 1927-1966:  General Collection BF 1 P65.
Published by the American Psychological Association. Contains summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related disciplines. Indexes over 1400 journals in 29 different languages from approximately 54 countries. Books, dissertations, and reports are also included.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO).  1985+. 
A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800 journals in all areas of academic study--social sciences, humanities, etc.

Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL)
        Cumulative index on CD in the Reference Area
        KCDL is a collection of curriculum guides from all over North America, reproduced on
microfiche.  Click here for a detailed description of this set.


Print indexes:

Education Index. 1929-1982
General Collection L 11 E38
Index to the leading 400 periodicals in education--many of these are also available through ERIC.

Exceptional Child Education Resources, 1969+
General Collection  LC 3950 E942
Indexes books, periodical articles, government reports, dissertations on children who
are gifted or are physically, mentally or learning disabled.

   km

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter