Exercise Science Databases & Indexes
Sport Discus (EBSCO). Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS). Includes over 650,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center). 1966+
Also available through
the Web through the web on AskERIC,
free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of
journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc.
It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC
Documents 1993+ are available online through the ERIC
Document Reproduction Service. Documents before 1993 are on
microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
Google Scholar
MEDLINE, 1965+
Also available on the Web through PubMed,
the NLM free public site.
Indexes more than 3,500 journals published internationally in all fields of
medicine. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Completed Research in Health, Physical Education,
Recreation, and Dance. 1959-1994.
Print: General
Collection GV 1 C64
This compilation lists masters theses and dissertations in
the areas of health, physical education, recreation and dance. The library has
many of the master theses and dissertations in the
microfiche collection for health, physical education and recreation.
Physical Education Index. 1967-1997
Print: General Collection GV 341 P490
Provides indexing for periodical articles in the areas of
dance, health, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, sports, sports
medicine, kinesiology (including biomechanics), coaching, facilities,
measurement and evaluation, motor learning, perception, fitness, sports
psychology and sociology, training.
Unless otherwise indicated, databases are restricted
to use on theTruman State University network.
dm