Library Web Home

Film Databases & Indexes

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO).  1985+.  A multi-disciplinary database that indexes over 3000 periodicals, includes both scholarly journals and  popular magazines.  Provides full text of about 2000 of the periodicals.  You can limit your search to find only scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Film Literature Index (1976-2001 freely Available on the Web) Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from scholarly to the popular.

Humanities Abstracts 1984+
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Art Full Text. 1984+  (Full text is available for select publications). Subject coverage includes motion pictures.

Readers' Guide Abstracts 1983+
In print, Readers Guide to Periodical Literature 1890+:  Reference Area Table B
Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts of articles from over 300 popular magazines.

Reader's Guide Retrospective1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.

Arts and Humanities Search 1980+
Indexing of 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.  Citation Index allows searching of bibliographies.

Unless otherwise indicated, databases are restricted to use on the
Truman State University network.

Print Indexes

Film Literature Index 1973-1998
General collection PN 1993 F54
Indexes established film journals.

 

jir

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter