Free Databases for Magazine/Journal Articles, etc.
"AgeLine abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. AgeLine also includes selected consumer content." AARP.
Agricola
1970+ Free to the public from the National Agricultural
Library. Contains references to materials relating to all
aspects of agriculture.
Anthropological Index Online
Based on the periodical holdings of the British Museum.
BELIT: Bioethics Literature Database.
Developed by the German Reference Center for Ethics in the Life
Sciences.
BioMed Central
(FULL TEXT)
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all
areas of biology and medicine.
British Library
Direct.
Search 20,000 journals for free. You can pay for
individual articles, or order them through your interlibrary
loan service.
Databases and E-Resources at the Library of Congress--Publicly
Available Resources
Some FULL TEXT.
Energy
Citations Database
Bibliographic records with some full text for energy and
energy-related scientific and technical information from the
Department of Energy, 1948-.
ERIC
(Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+ (FULL
TEXT)
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal
articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings,
etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade
levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online
at this Web site. The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans,
web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web
through the Educator's
Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents
are not available at this site.)
FindArticles
(FULL TEXT)
From LookSmart. Search and read 5.5 million articles from over
900 publications in a variety of subject areas, from American
Demographics to Wrestling Digest.
Google Scholar
Bibliographic citations for scholarly journals.
GrayLit Network.
Developed by the Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and
Technical Information (OSTI), in collaboration with DOD/DTIC,
NASA, and EPA, the GrayLIT Network is a portal for technical
report information generated through federally funded research
and development projects.
HighWire Press (FULL TEXT)
Largest archive of free full-text science journal articles.
Ingenta
Connect
A table of contents database, and a keyword entry index to
nearly 20,000 periodicals.
Internet
Library of Early Journals (FULL TEXT)
Digitized archive of three British 18th century journals and
three 19th century British journals. Searchable by author and
keywords in the title and full-text article.
MagPortal (FULL
TEXT)
Provides access to articles in a variety of magazines, most from
2000+.
Making of
America at University of Michigan (FULL TEXT)
Search or browse eleven 19th century American periodicals.
Making of
America at Cornell University (FULL TEXT)
Search or browse twenty-two 19th century American periodicals
(more than 100,000 articles).
MEDLINEplus Health
Information --- Free site from the National Library of
Medicine for finding authoritative consumer health information
including searches of MEDLINE, ClinicalTrials.gov, and NIH
research studies. Includes full-text drug information, a
medical encyclopedia, and the latest health news.
National Criminal Justice
Reference Service (FULL TEXT)
Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, United
States Department of Justice. Includes reports by many agencies
of the federal government. Find information on identity theft,
capital punishment, gangs, victims, and much more. More than
1600 full text publications and references only to 160,000.
National Science Digital
Library (FULL TEXT)
A digital library of "exemplary resources collections and
services, organized in support of science education at all
levels." You may ask a science, math, or technology question
through the AskNSDL
question and answer service.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com (FULL TEXT)
The link takes you to the free special collections portion of
the archive. Includes newspapers from the 18th century to the
present. A membership fee is required for searching the
complete archive.
Online Books Serials Page (FULL TEXT)
This page lists freely accessible archives of serials (such
as magazines, journals, newspapers, and other periodicals).
An open access publication is a publication that provides immediately free online access to all users worldwide.
POPLINE
POPulation information onLINE: abstracts of the worldwide
literature on population, family planning, and related
health issues. Free to the public to search.
PubMED
Free site for searching MEDLINE through the National Library of
Medicine.
PubMED Central
(FULL TEXT)
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital
archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Science.gov
(FULL TEXT)
Provides a gateway to information resources at U.S. government
science agencies. Includes selected web sites and databases of
technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and
other published materials.
List
of Participating Agencies
Scitation
1893+
One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines,
conference proceedings, and other special publications from
prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
Smoking & Health Resource Library.
"Abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals;
books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference
proceedings and conference papers; government documents from
federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and
policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit
organizations; and other documents.
Truman State University
New Media
Index (FULL TEXT)
Truman's weekly newspaper (when classes are in session). Browse
or search.
TRUDEX
The index to Truman State University publications. Free to the
public to search.
lmg