General Indexes & Databases
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO). 1985+.
Multidisciplinary database offering over 2,000 full text articles from more than
1,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Indexing and abstracts are provided for a total of 3,468 journals.
ArticleFirst 1990+
Citations from tables of contents of 13,000 periodicals.
Dissertations & Theses. Obtain the full text of theses
written at Truman State University.
Dissertation
Abstracts International
Abstracts of doctoral dissertations (1980+) and masters theses (1988+);
citations to doctoral dissertations from 1861+; from institutions in
North America and Europe.
In Print: 1938-1979, located in Periodicals LB 2371 D58
EBSCOhost
Dates vary.
EBSCOhost is a family of 15+ databases. Academic Search Elite
is a multidisciplinary database offering over 2,000 full text articles from more
than 1,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Indexing and abstracts are provided for a total of 3,468 journals. Other
databases include MasterFILE Premier which provides full text for more
than 2,000 general periodicals and indexing and abstracts for 2,800+
titles. Several subject-specific databases are also available through EBSCOhost.
FirstSearch
FirstSearch is a collection of online databases that the library
subscribes to. Many subject areas are represented including
agriculture, economics, education, medicine and health, music,
religion, as well as general science and social science.
GPO Access On the Web and free to the
public, dates vary (newly revised, May 2003) Search or browse
official, full-text information from all branches of the Federal
Government including Congressional bills (1993 forward), the Congressional
Record (1994 forward); locate a Federal Depository Library.
GPO Catalog of Government Publications.
In print under various titles, 1895-1976 Reference Z 1223 A18
An index to publications of federal government agencies and departments,
compiled by the Government Printing Office.
IngentaConnect
An online articles delivery service, a table of contents database and a
keyword entry index to nearly 20,000 periodicals. Free to the public to
search.
J-STOR
Years vary by journal title, but do not cover the most recent issues
(a"moving wall" of five years for most journals)
This is an electronic journal collection of over 1,000 full text
scholarly journals from most disciplines.
LexisNexis
Academic
Contains full text documents from over 5,900 news,
business, legal, medical and reference sources. Sources include
regional, national and international newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade
journals and business publications, biographical information, corporate
reports, etc. Major archives of federal and state case law,
continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, as well as articles from law
journals. Also contains Shepard'sŪ Citations for all U.S. Supreme
Court cases beginning in 1789. A recent addition: transcripts from
the Arabic news channel, Al Jazeera (coverage: 1/2002 -current).
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO).
Full text coverage of more than 2100 general reference publications
in all subject areas, with some full text holdings dating back as
far as 1975. Also includes full text reference books, biographies,
primary source documents, and an image collection of photographs,
maps, and flags.
PapersFirst
1993+
Index to individual papers presented at conferences worldwide.
ProceedingsFirst 1993+
An index to worldwide conference proceedings and publications.
Readers'
Guide Abstracts
1983+
Reader's
Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Index to older magazine articles
In print, Readers Guide to Periodical Literature 1890+
Reference Area Table B
Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts of articles from 300+ news and
popular magazines as well as some trade publications.
Print Indexes
Bibliographic Index 1937-1997
General Collection Z 1002 B595
A subject arrangement of separately published bibliographies including books
and periodicals.
Essay and General Literature Index 1903-2000
Reference AI 3 E752
An index to essays published in books, listed by author, subject, and some
titles.
Ozark Periodical Index 1979-1999
Reference AI 3 O9
An index to selected periodicals from Missouri and Arkansas.
lmg
Unless otherwise indicated, Indexes and Abstracts are restricted to use on
the
Truman State University network.