Health, Nursing, and Medicine Databases & Indexes
MEDLINE, 1965+On the Web through FirstSearch.
On the Web through PubMed, the NLM free public site.
Indexes more than 3,500 journals published internationally in all fields of medicine. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
EBSCOhost databases of particular use for health and medicine are:
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). 1983+
In print 1977-1997: General Collection RT 41 C842
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 1700 current nursing and health journals. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information about new journal articles as they are being assigned indexed.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition. Provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.
Health Source: Consumer Edition. Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Alt-HealthWatch. Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles from more than 170 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, association & consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Bioethics Literature Database
BELIT provides access to about
320.000 records from the integrated German, American and French
databases. It is an extensive bibliographic directory of literature
in the area of bioethics unique world wide, containing references to
monographs, grey literature, legal documents, journal articles,
newspaper articles and book contributions.
BioMed Central.
Over 100 open access journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Free.
General
Science Abstracts, 1984+
Contains citations from more than 150 journals and magazines from the U.S. and
Great Britain, covering anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth
sciences, medicine and health, physics and more. Click
here to show journal list.
HighWire Library of the Sciences and Medicine. The largest repository of free full-text life science articles, with more than 690,000 free articles online. Click here for journal list.
LexisNexisAcademic
There are two specific menu items for medicine
and health:
(1) Medical Abstracts is
the MEDLINE database. Search abstracts of articles from medical
journals from all over the world.
(2) Medical
News. Full text of articles appearing in 35+ medical
news periodicals.
(3) Medical
Journals. Full ext of articles appearing in about 20 medical journals.
Additional full text databases for news and legal resources are also useful for
information on health and medicine.
PubMed Central
Database of about 50 free online medical journals, searchable by keyword.
Smoking & Health Resource Library.
Free database. "Abstracts of articles from medical and professional
journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports;
conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents
from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and
policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit
organizations; and other documents.
Sport
Discus (EBSCO). Comprehensive coverage of sport,
fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource
Center (SPIRS). Includes over 650,000 records of monographs and journal
articles going back as far as 1800.
Print Indexes
Bibliography of Bioethics. 1975+
Ref R 724 B53
Lists English-language books, essays in books, journal
and newspaper articles, court decisions, bills and laws, and audiovisual
materials concerning ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of health related
topics.
Unless otherwise indicated, databases are restricted
to use on theTruman State University network.
cal