History Databases & Indexes
America: History and Life 1964+Abstracts articles, dissertations and reviews on the history of the United States and
Canada published throughout the world.
-
America's Historical Newspapers: Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.
-
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819: Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Handbook of Latin
American Studies
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by
Library of Congress. Free access on the Internet.
Hispanic American Periodicals
Index (HAPI) 1970+
Covers Latin American studies and Hispanics in the United States.
Historical Abstracts 1955+
Indexes journal articles and other sources concerning historical topics
from 1450 to the present for all countries of the world except the U.S.
and Canada.
Humanities
Abstracts 1984+
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals
in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore,
history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy,
religion and theology.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing
of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907. Also has
coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages &
Renaissance
A bibliography of articles from selected interdisciplinary journals
pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), years
covered vary by journal title.
JSTOR
A collection of approximately 100 full text scholarly journals from
most subject disciplines. These are primarily older periodicals. Years vary by journal title,
but do not cover the most recent issues.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive sociology research
database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400
journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books
and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.
Social Sciences Abstracts 1983+
Reader's Guide Retrospective. 1890-1982. Index to older magazine articles.
Unless otherwise indicated, databases are restricted
to use on the
Truman State University network.
Print Indexes
National Union Catalog Manuscript Collection, 1959-1993
General Collection Z881 A1 N38
Designed as an index to assist in locating and publicizing those repositories
which are open to scholars.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906
Reference Table B AI 3 P7
Early index to articles in US and British journals and magazines.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature 1890+
Reference Table B AI 3 R48
Index to articles from popular magazines.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Reference Table B Z2005
H6
A subject and author index to British articles,
as well as an index for book reviews.
jir