Humanities Databases & Indexes
America: History and Life 1964+Abstracts articles, dissertations and reviews on the history of the United States and Canada published throughout the world.
ARTFL Project, years of coverage varies
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
ATLA Religion Database 1949+
Indexes periodical articles and book chapters on religious topics, and composite works by various authors on religious topics.
Film Literature Index (1976-2001 freely Available on the Web) Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from scholarly to the popular.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 1970+
Covers Latin American studies and Hispanics in the United States.
Historical Abstracts 1955+
Indexes journal articles and other sources concerning historical topics from 1450 to the present for all countries of the world except the U.S. and Canada.
Humanities Abstracts 1984+
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing
of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907. Also has
coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
ITER: Gateway
to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of articles from selected
interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
(400-1700), years vary by journal title.
JSTOR
A collection of approximately 100 full text scholarly journals from
most subject disciplines. These are primarily older periodicals.
Years vary by journal title,
but do not cover the most recent issues.
MLA International Bibliography
1926+.
Contains over 1.8 million citations from
more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics,
folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the
historical aspects of printing and publishing.
.
Philosopher's
Index 1940+
In Print 1967+ : Truman Storage B52 P 55
An index to books and periodical articles on philosophy.
Unless otherwise indicated, Indexes and Abstracts are restricted
to use on the
Truman State University network.
Print Indexes
American Humanities Index 1975-1996
General Collection AI3 A278
Index to creative, critical, and scholarly journals in the arts and
humanities. Most of these journals are exclusive to this index.
Film Literature Index 1973-1998
General Collection PN 1993 F54
Indexes established film journals.
New Testament Abstracts 1956-1996
General Collection BS 410 N35
Record of periodical literature about the New Testament.
Religious and Theological Abstracts1958-2001
General Collection BR1 R286
Indexes periodical articles on religious topics.
jir