Library Web Home

Language & Literature Databases & Indexes

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO).  1985+.   A multi-disciplinary database offering full text  for more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles.

Literature Resource Center - Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, produced by Thomson-Gale. (1 simultaneous user)

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles. You can limit your searches by the following languages: Chinese,  Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Swedish, and Ukrainian. 

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.  

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection.

Project MUSEFull-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection.

Anthropological Index Online. Free to the public to search.

ARTFL Project, years of coverage varies
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-ficiton prose and technical writing. 

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO).  Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more. 

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.  Full-text access to a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets, and broadsides from the early 1800s, based on Ralph R. Shaw's and Richard H. Shoemaker's "American Bibliography, 1801-1819.  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
        On the Web through FirstSearch
        On the Web throughAskERIC.   Free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education including language learning and teaching.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are available online.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle ages & Renaissance
A bibliography of articles from selected interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), years vary by journal title.

L'Ane Philologique Online. Database published by the Société Internationale de
Bibliographie Classique covering volumes 30 to 73 with more than 480,000 bibliographic records.

Unless otherwise indicated, databases are restricted to use on the Truman State University network.

Print Indexes

Communication Abstracts, 1967-2001
Reference P90 C65
Provides coverage of recent literature in the areas of general communication, mass communication, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, communication theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, small group communication, organizational communication, journalism, public relations, radio, public opinion, speech, and television. 

Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2001
Reference  AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.

Index to Journals in Communication Studies
Reference P87 M37, beginning dates vary to 1990
Often referred to as the Matlon guide, this subject and author index covers a number of important communication journals.

Language Teaching, 1982+
In print only under various titles: Periodicals PB35 L322
Indexes scholarly journals on learning and teaching languages. 

 

 

dr

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter