Library Web Home

Music Indexes & Databases

 

Grove Music Online--Online version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the definitive reference source for music

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  1969+
Published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale.
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals in music.  Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, discographies, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften.  Majority of citations include abstracts.  Contains records in over 200 languages.

Naxos Music Library
An extensive collection of Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music recordings.  Users can also read notes about the music and biographical information about the composers while listening to the recordings.


Humanities Abstracts   1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996 : Reference AI 3 S6
Provides citations to articles in 465+  periodicals covering archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.  Citations from 1984 to present and abstracts from 1994 to present.
Includes some non-English publications.

J-STOR 
Years vary by journal title.  In general, the most recent issues are not included (a"moving wall" of  five years for most journals) but an excellent source for older issues. This is a full text journal collection of over 300  scholarly journals from various disciplines, including music (approximately 32 journals)

Arts and Humanities Search (Arts & Humanities Citation Index) 1980+ 
Provides citations to the world's leading arts and humanities journals.  Over 1,300 sources covered.   Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance  Years vary by journal title
A not-for-profit research project providing citations from selected interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

NEW! Rock's Back Pages.  Archive of reviews, interviews, and feature stories on current and past rock musicians from major music publications.

lmg

Unless otherwise indicated, online databases are restricted to use on the
Truman State University network.

 


 


Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter