Library Web Home

Political Science Databases & Indexes

America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Indexes to American and Canadian history (American: History and Life) and world history (Historical Abstracts).  Indexes major state, national, and international historical journals and contains some texts to full text articles in JSTOR.

Social Sciences Abstracts. 1983+
In print 1907-1983: Ref AI 3S6 Covers about 550 journals in the areas of anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice, economics, geography, international relations, law, political science, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, and related topics.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
Full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals.  It also includes federal and state case law, law reviews and other legal information. 

LEXIS-NEXIS Congressional, index 1970s+, full text late 1980s+
U.S. legislative information including full text of Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.

CIS Congressional Masterfile, 1789-1982
On CD-ROM workstation in Reference Area
An index to Congressional hearings and reports. The hearings are filed by CIS number in microfiche in the microform room on the first floor. Click here for CIS microfiche finding aids.

Europa World--Online version of the Europa World Year Book.  Contains political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories and profiles of over 1650 international organizations.

GPO Catalog of Government Publications. 1975+
        On the Web through GPO Access, 1974+  Free to the public.
        In print, 1895-1976 Reference Z 1223 A18 (under title Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications)
An index to publications of federal government agencies and  departments, compiled by the Government Printing Office.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography on Latin American studies by Library of Congress.  Free access on the Internet.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), 1970+
In Print 1970 - 1995: General Collection F 1408 H3
Covers Latin American studies and Hispanics in the United States. 

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links. 2 Simultaneous Users.

Pro-and-Con.org 1998+
Searchable database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest,  Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
Library has printed volumes of Congressional Digest (Periodicals JK 1 C65), 1921+, Supreme Court Debates (Periodicals KF 4546 A3 S86), 1998+, and International Debates 1994+.

Sociological Abstracts.
In print 1953-1963
General Collection (Non-Circulating) HM 1 S67

Covers more than 1,900 journals in sociology, social work, and other social sciences.

SocIndex with Full Text A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.

World News Connection.  
English translation of foreign news broadcasting. Password needed. Inquire at Reference Desk.

 Unless otherwise indicated, Indexes and Abstracts are restricted to use on the
Truman State University network.

dm

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter