Reviews - Databases & Indexes
Book
Review Digest 1983+
Also In print at Reference Table C Z1219 C95 1905+
About 75 general English language periodicals are indexed in this source; very
few specialized titles are included. The arrangement in the print volumes is by author with
subject and title index.
Book Review Index.
In print at Reference Table C Z1219
B59 1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the
reviews. About 450 publications are included.
ChoiceReviewsOnline.
Includes access to entire database of CHOICE reviews published since
September 1988, updated monthly. Reviews significant books, web sites and
other resources
of interest to those in higher education.
EbscoHost Dates vary.
Full-text articles from periodicals covering all subjects. (You can do
keyword searches by entering review and title or author. (e.g., review and
titanic) )
LexisNexis
Academic
Full
text of regional, national and international newspapers, news wires,
magazines, trade journals and business publications, biographical information,
corporate reports, etc. (You can do keyword searches by
entering review and title or author. (e.g., review and titanic) )
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical
Literature 1890-1899
In print at Reference Table B AI3 R479
Book reviews are entered only under the author of the book reviewed.
Poole's
Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1906
In print at Reference Table B AI3 P7 1963
Reviews of fiction, poetry, and drama are entered under the author of the
work. Reviews of subject books are entered under the subject.
Readers'
Guide Abstracts 1983+
Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts of articles from 225 popular
magazines.
Reader's
Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Index to older magazine articles
Readers'
Guide to Periodical Literature 1890+
In print at Reference Table B AI3 R48
In the back of each current issue or annual volume is a section of book review
citations arranged alphabetically by author of the book.
Literary/Literature Criticism series
In print Ref PN 88 through PN 771
The index in the last cumulated volume refers the user to any of the titles in
this reference family. It includes information about authors living and
dead.
Children's Literature Review
In print Ref PN 1009 A1 C5139
Profiles careers of authors and illustrators of books for children and young
adults from preschool through high school. Author lists reflect an
international scope and representation of authors of all eras.
Poetry Criticism
In print Ref PN 1010 P6
Provides significant criticism of the world's greatest poets.
Science Fiction Book Review Index
In print Ref PN3433.8 H35 1985
An index to more than 13,800 book reviews appearing in over 70 science fiction,
fantasy, and general periodicals from 1980-1984 as well as research index
featuring the history of, or criticism on science fiction and fantasy
literature, television programs, motion pictures, and graphic arts.
Shakespearean Criticism
In print Ref PR 2965 S43
This resource provides valuable insight into Shakespeare's drama and poetry
through "a multiplicity of viewpoints documenting the critical reaction of
scholars and commentators from the seventeenth century to the present
day."- Preface
Short Story Criticism
In print Ref PN 3373 S56
This resource concentrates short story writers of "all eras and
nationalities" and includes biographical information, criticisms, and a
bibliography of each short story writer.
Film/Theater/Television Reviews
In Print Ref PN1995 F55
This annual reprints reviews "of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year." - Pref. The reviews are arranged by title of film and taken from magazines, journals, and newspapers; the date and page are part of the citation.
Magill's Survey of Cinema 1927-1981
In print Ref PN 1993.45 M3
The series covers American, British, Canadian, Australian, and other English
language films of 1927-1981 (the sound era).
New York Times Film Reviews 1913+
In print Ref PN 1995 N4
About 16,000 reviews appear chronologically in the 1913/68 set; these are
reprints of the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper. It is published
biennially.
New York Times Theater Reviews 1870+
In print Ref PN 2266 N48
The Times has published, in chronological order, the reviews as they
appeared in the newspaper beginning with 1870. The historical sets and the
biennial volumes have indexes of titles, production companies, and personal
names.
Variety Film Reviews 1907+
In print Ref PN 1995 V34 1983
The coverage begins with 1907 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety.
The inclusion of international film festivals is especially strong.
Variety Television Reviews 1946+
In print Ref PN 1992.3 U5 V36
The coverage begins with 1946 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety.
Magazines for Libraries
In print Ref PN 4832 M34
A selective annotated listing by subject of more than 6,950 journals chosen by
experts in their fields.
Serials Review
In print Ref PN 4832 S47
Internet Scout Project - Archives. The Scout Report
Archives is a searchable and browseable database to over nine years'
worth of the Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports. It
contains 16,969 critical annotations of carefully selected Internet
sites and mailing lists.
Librarian's Index to the
Internet 2000+
The mission of Librarians' Index to the Internet is to provide a
well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected
Internet resources.
Unless otherwise indicated, databases are restricted to use on Truman State University network
dr