Sociology Indexes & Databases
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.
AnthroSource From the American Anthropological Association, full text online source of approximately 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology
Criminal Justice Periodical Index,
dates vary
In print: 1975-1998: HV 6001 C756
Indexes periodical articles on all aspects of criminal
justice.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF )
Microfiche Cabinet 59, Drawers 8-10
A microfiche collection of mostly primary source materials on cultures or
societies representing all areas of the world; useful for cultural comparisons
(for example, mythology, taboos, causes of illness, ethnobotany) or for studying
all aspects of a particular culture (Copper Eskimo, Iroquois, Trobriands and
many more). The HRAF collection is organized according to two main print
resources: The Outline of World Cultures (OWC) and the Outline
of Cultural Materials (OCM), both located on top of Cabinet 59.
The Index to the Human Relations Area Files,1974-1983 (Microform Reference GN 25 I542)
is a subject index to the microfiche set organized by OCM category code. The
index is most useful for determining the coverage of a subject in a file without
going directly to the files themselves.
eHRAF World Cultures-- The eHRAF
World Cultures begun in 1997 currently contains information on 137
cultures. This unique cross-cultural database contains more than 350,000
pages of descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups.
Source documents include books, articles and dissertations that have been
indexed and organized according to HRAF's culture and subject classification
systems (The Outline of World Cultures and the Outline of Cultural
Materials). The eHRAF User Guides (a Web-based tutorial,
user guide and glossary of terms) can be found at www.yale.edu/hraf/userguides.html
Humanities
and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200
periodicals, some going back as far as 1907. Also has coverage of many
important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Social Sciences Abstracts 1983+
In print under various titles 1907-1996: Reference AI 3 S6
This index covers about 550 journals in the areas of anthropology, economics,
geography, law and criminology, psychology, sociology, and related topics.
Come of the citations are to book reviews, interviews and biographies.
Provides citations from 1983 to present and abstracts from 1994 to present.
Print Indexes
Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography, 1927-1998
General Collection HQ 750 A1 C48
Indexes more than 200 journals in the fields of education, psychology,
sociology and pediatrics.
Human Resources Abstracts, 1975 - 1997
General Collection HV 1 P682
Abstracts periodical literature on human, social, and manpower problems and
solutions. Topics range from slum rehabilitation and job development training
to compensatory education, minority group problems and rural poverty.
Unless otherwise indicated, online databases are restricted to use on
the
Truman State University network.
lmg