Library Web Home

Agriculture Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
 Open Access Publications | Statistics | Current Research & Discussions | Citing Sources

 

Encyclopedia, Dictionaries, etc.

Encyclopedia of agricultural science. 4 vols. Reference S 411 E713 1994
Farming and food. Reference S 439 F37 1991

Quick Facts

Biology Data Book   Reference QH 310 .A392

New York Public Library Science Desk Reference    ReferenceQ 173 B25 1995

Scientific American Science Desk Reference   Reference Q 173 S427 1999

How Many? A Dictionary of Units of Measure 

Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures.  Reference QC 94 C295 2003

Find Books

Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books on agriculture. Because that term is so broad, you should combine it with other terms, or think of completely different terms.  For example, see the following keyword searches:
                               corn and genetics
                               farming and families
                               agriculture and economics

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

The primary source for agricultural information is the National Agricultural Library.  There is also the National Agricultural Library Digital Repository.

WorldCat
A catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.

Dissertations
                                                  
Dissertation Abstracts*  
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions.  It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts from Masters AbstractsCoverage is 1861 to date


 

Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

AGRICOLA, 1970+

Google Scholar - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.  Free site.

ingenta/UnCover

Web Sites Related to Agriculture

Comprehensive Sites | Associations | Government Agencies

Comprehensive Sites

AgNIC, the Agriculture Network Information Center
Agrinet - from Texas A & M
Science.gov - a catalog of government science and technology Web sites  from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

Associations

Agricultural Associations

Government Agencies

Agricultural Marketing Service
Agricultural Research Service

National Agricultural Library

United States Department of Agriculture

Statistics

Agriculture Fact Book (2000 Edition)
National Agricultural Statistics Service

Current Research & Discussions

Brownfield Network

Current Research Information System
A searchable database of U.S. Department of Agriculture funded research. Search by keyword, investigator, agency, institution, state, and project status and type. Many records include a list of publications resulting from the research. Free to the public.

Globalchange.gov - government-funded, high-quality data directly related to global change.

Science News - New York Times - the Tuesday science section of the New York Times.

Citing Sources



For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.

Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu
 

cal

 


                                 

 

 

 

 

 


Last Modified 13 May 2008
Hit Counter