Anthropology & Archaeology Research Guide
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
| Find Books |
Find Articles
Web Sites |
Citing Sources |
Help
"Anthropology is the study of humankind. Its four major
branches are cultural or social anthropology, anthropological
linguistics, physical anthropology, and archaeology. Its
distinctive approach lies in its global, comparative and
multidimensional perspective."
Harris, Marvin. Culture, People, Nature: An
Introduction to General Anthropology.
New York: Harper and Row, 1980.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS & REFERENCE WORKS
Subject Encyclopedias
These can be helpful for obtaining an overview of a subject and related topics.
An entry in an encyclopedia will often contain a bibliography which can lead you
to more sources on that topic.
Here are several we have:
Cambridge Encyclopedia
of Hunters and Gatherers Reference GN 388 .C35
Companion Encyclopedia
of Anthropology Reference GN 25 .C65 1994
Encyclopedia of
Archaeology: History & Discoveries 3 vols. Reference CC 100
.E54 2001
Encyclopedia of
Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists 2 vols. Reference CC 110 .E54
1999
Encyclopedia of Cultural
Anthropology 4 vols. Reference GN 307 .E52 1996
Encyclopedia of World
Cultures 11 vols. including 2001 suppl. Reference GN 307 .E53
1991
Ethnic Relations: A
Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia Reference GN 496 .L48
1994
Marriage, Family and
Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia Reference GN 480 .B76
1994
Subject Dictionaries
Dictionary of Anthropology Reference GN 11 .D48
1986
Dictionary
of Archaeology Reference CC 70 .D53 1999
Handbooks, Manuals & Guides
Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States (4 vols)
Reference E 184 .S75 H365 1993
Handbook of North American Indians vols. 4-13, 15 &
17 Reference E 77 .H25
Introduction
to Library Research in Anthropology Reference GN 42
.W22 1998
The following are shelved in the General Collection, on
second floor, and can be checked out:
Anthropology: A Student's Guide to Theory and Method
GN 25 .B39 1996
Fieldwork in
the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area
Studies
GN 42 .W47 1994
Handbook of
Methods in Cultural Anthropology GN 345 .H37 1998
Handbook of
Qualitative Research
H62 .H2455 1994
Handbook of
South American Indians 7 vols. F 2229 .S75
1963-
vol 6: Physical Anthropology, Linguistics, and Cultural
Geography of South American Indians
FIND BOOKS
There are several types of searches you can do in the library
catalog,
WebCat,
to locate books. Library catalogs contain subject headings
used by the Library of Congress and most library users are not
familiar with these official headings. Therefore it is always
best to begin with a keyword search rather that a subject
search when first going to the online catalog. Combine
several terms that describe your topic. Use and
to narrow your results, or to broaden your results:
technology and social evolution
cultural materialism or science of culture
kinship and land tenure
matrilineage or matrilinear
ritual* and social integration
(primative or traditional) and religion
A few tips on the keyword searches above:
The asterisk * truncates a term and will retrieve all forms of the
word that follow the truncation symbol. For example, ritual*
will retrieve ritual, rituals, ritualization The
parentheses allows you to search for concepts similar in meaning and
then combine these with a different term(s). Remember to
always place your similar terms within parentheses when using AND &
OR in one search statement.
Results from your keyword searches will help you identify
appropriate subject headings that you can search under.
These can help you get even more relevant books on your specific
topic.
If you cannot find a particular title in WebCat, or enough books on
your topic, be sure to check the
MOBIUS online
catalog. When you find a book in MOBIUS, just click on the
"request" button and complete the online form. You will
receive an e-mail notice once the book is here, which usually takes
2-3 business days.
FIND ARTICLES
Databases in this section are
restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI),
1970+
In Print 1970 - 1995: General Collection F 1408 H3
Covers Latin American studies and Hispanics in the United
States.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
Microfiche Cabinet 59, Drawers 8-10
A microfiche collection of mostly primary source materials on
cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world,
approximately 360 cultures of indexed ethnographic information
comprise this collection. This set can be used for cultural
comparisons (for example, mythology, taboos, causes of illness,
ethnobotany) or for studying
all aspects of a particular
culture (Copper Eskimo, Iroquois, Trobriands and many more).
The HRAF collection is organized according to two main print
resources: The Outline of World Cultures (OWC) and the Outline
of Cultural Materials (OCM), both located on top of Cabinet 59
where the fiche are filed.
The Index
to the Human Relations Area Files,1974-1983
(Microform Reference GN 25 I542) is a subject index to the
microfiche set organized by OCM category code. The index is
most useful for determining the coverage of a subject in a file
without going directly to the files themselves.
eHRAF World Cultures-- The eHRAF World Cultures,
a Web version of HRAF begun in 1997, currently contains
information on 137 cultures. This unique cross-cultural
database contains more than 350,000 pages of descriptive
information on cultures and ethnic groups. Source documents
include books, articles and dissertations that have been indexed
and organized according to HRAF's culture and subject
classification systems (The Outline of World Cultures and the
Outline of Cultural Materials). The eHRAF User Guides (a
Web-based tutorial, user guide and glossary of terms) can be
found at
www.yale.edu/hraf/userguides.html
Social Science Abstracts 1983+
Citations and abstracts from about 350 journals in
anthropology, sociology, geography, economics and other social
science areas.
In print under various titles 1907-1996: Ref
AI 3 S6
Covers about 300 journals in the areas of
anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care,
criminal justice, economics, geography, international relations,
law, political science, psychology, social work and public
welfare, sociology, and related topics.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive
sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records
and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.
Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs
and more than 6000 conference papers.
JSTOR--There are
34 full-text anthropology and archaeology journals available
online in this collection. Dates vary for each journal.
For most journals there is a "moving wall" of five years meaning
the latest available issue online is 5 years prior to latest
issue published. You can select journals to be searched by
keyword, or browse journal issues cover to cover.
Listed below
are anthropology journals available in Pickler Memorial Library
* denotes peer-reviewed journal
WEB SITES RELATED TO
ANTHROPOLOGY
Aboriginal Studies WWW Virtual Library--Specialist information to
various WWW links concerned with Australian Aboriginal studies.
Anthromorphemics--An anthropological dictionary for physical
anthropology, cultural anthropology, and archaeology.
Anthropological Index Online--Full index for v. 22-32. A subject and
author index to periodicals received by the RAI (Royal Anthropological
Institute).
Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History
Anthropology Biographies--Mankato State University dictionary of
anthropologists and other scientists that have influenced anthropology.
Anthropology Collections--Anthropology Department,
California Academy of Sciences. This site comes highly recommended by CHOICE
(March, 2003). The department's physical collection contains roughly 17,000
objects, with "internet-accessible catalog records" and 7,000 digital images.
Material collected comes from indigenous cultures of western North America (not
including Mexico), and the Pacific Rim, including East Asia and the Pacific
Islands.
Highlighted collections include: Elkus (Native American
pottery, paintings, textiles); Owings (over 100 Hopi katsinas); Rollo Beck (400
South Pacific objects). Also included: a history of eating utensils, Alaskan
graphic arts, and
Mingei (Japanese folk toys).
CHOICE, March 2003
Appalachian
Studies Bibliography--J.B
Brown, Reference Librarian, West Virginia University
Bureau
of American Ethnology
Center for World Indigenous Studies--An
online library of texts pertaining to indigenous peoples.
CSAC Ethnographics Gallery--Maintained by Centre for Social Anthropology
& Computing, University of Kent at Canterbury. Contains a range of resources
useful in the teaching and learning of anthropology.
Division of Anthropology,
American Museum of Natural History
Ethnographic
Resources Related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology and the Humanities
A collection of resources in anthropology, ethnomusicology,
folklore, and folklife.
"Highly Recommended."
CHOICE Magazine, Nov. 2005
Experience-Rich Anthropology--Center for Social Anthropology &
Computing, University of Kent at Canterbury. "This project is designed to
enhance the teaching and learning of anthropology by encouraging teachers to
help students explore the relationships between field data and analysis as
reported in monographs and journal articles."
NativeWeb--provides information on indigenous peoples.
Folkstreams.net: The Best of American
Folklore Films. "Streaming video access to a significant and growing
collection of documentary films about folk culture in the US. . .This excellent
source will benefit students and scholars of folklore, anthropology, American
studies, and documentary filmmaking. . .Highly recommended.
G.J. Reece, American University. CHOICE Reviews, May 2008.
Public
Anthropology--Robert Borofsky, Anthropology, Hawaii Pacific University
,
this site contains e-journals, a book series and writings by distinguished
anthropologists title "Speaking Out." . . .The Anthropology Journal Archive
Project reflects an ambitious effort to make information published in the major
publications . . .accessible to a world-wide audience." "Highly recommended."
CHOICE, April 2003
Theory in Anthropology--Devoted to Sociocultural Anthropology, this site
provides categories on subdisciplines, changes in anthropological perspectives
over time, and prominent theorists.
Truman State University's Sociology &
Anthropology Home Page
Worldwide Email
Directory of Anthropologists
Visual Anthropology.net
WEB SITES RELATED TO ARCHAEOLOGY
American Indian Ethnobotany Database--A
database of foods, drugs, dyes, fibers and other uses of plants (a total of over
47,000 items) by 291 different Native American groups.
The Ancient Greek World--A digital presentation of a real-life exhibit
at The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.
Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History
Archaeological Resource Guide for Europe: WWW Virtual Library for European
Archaeology--"ARGE is an ordered collection of hypertext links pointing
to current archaeological communication and information resources across
Europe."
Archaeology: An Introduction--An electronic supplement of relevant web
sites to a book of the same name.
Archaeology Data Service--"This
superb
web portal provides access to the digital corpora of
archaeological archives, collections and publications for Breat Britain and
Ireland. . .The site adds digital resources regularly" and provides a link to
"ARENA (
Archaeological Records of Europe, Networked Access), which
includes the digital archaeological libraries of Poland, Romania, Denmark,
Iceland and Norway." CHOICE, Feb. 2003
ArchNet--Provides links to useful archaeological materials and develops
materials to further public understanding of archaeology.
Canadian Archaeological Radiocarbon Database (CARD)--A compilation of
radiocarbon measurements that indicate the ages of archaeological and
vertebrate
palaeontological sites in Canada. This site seeks to improve our
understanding and use of radiocarbon dating.
Egyptian Artifacts Exhibit--Digital exhibit from the University of
Memphis.
The "Looting Question" Bibliography: Web and literary resources on the
archaeological politics of private collecting, commercial treasure hunting,
looting, and "professional" archaeology.
National Archeological Database--Provides information on public
archaeology and national legislation, such as the Native American Graves
Protection and Repatriation Act.
Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology--Located at Harvard, this is
one of the oldest museums in the world dedicated to anthropology.
Teotihuacan: the city of the
gods--Administered by the
Archaeological Research Institute at
Arizona State University, "this award winning web site features narratives,
maps, still and moving images, excavation reports and original scholarly
articles that provide firsthand information about pre-Hispanic Mexican
archaeology and Teotihuacan, and urban center northeast of Mexico City that
arose c. 200 BCE. . ." (Choice Magazine, September, 2002)
Visual
Anthropology.net
CITING SOURCES
There are several style manuals available in the library:
Chicago/Turabian Style
A Manual
for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
Reference LB 2369 .T8 1996
APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
General Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reserve BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001
MLA Style
MLA Handbook
for Writers of Research Papers
General Collection LB 2396 .G53 2003
Reserve LB 2369 .G53
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2003
For additional style guides and
information on citing Web sites and other electronic sources, click
here.
For further
assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660) 785-4051 or
contact the Reference Librarian for Anthropology & Archaeology:
Lisa M. Glaubitz, Reference
Librarian
(660) 785-7412
glaubitz@truman.edu
lmg