Primary Sources - Art Guide
Speeches, letters, journals, diaries, etc. of an individual may be found by
looking for the name of that person as an author. For example, look at the
following record from the Library Catalog:
| Author
Michelangelo Buonarroti, 1475-1564.
Title
Complete poems and selected letters of Michelangelo / translated, Published Princeton,
N.J. : Princeton University Press, c1980.
Description 317 p. |
The word sources or documents or documentary usually
occurs on records for anthologies or
collections of primary source material. Use those words in a keyword
search to bring up
collections of documents.
Example: art and history and (sources or document*)
| Num | Mark | 75 Found |
|
| 1 | American art, 1700-1960; sources and documents | 1 | |
| 2 | The art of Rome, c.753 B.C.-A.D. 337: sources and documents | 1 | |
| 3 | The art of the Byzantine Empire, 312-1453; sources and documen | 1 | |
| 4 | Flight out of time: a Dada diary / by Hugo Ball | 1 | |
| 5 | From the classicists to the impressionists; art and architecture | 1 | |
| 6 | Giotto: the Arena Chapel frescoes / edited by James H. Stubb | 1 | |
| 7 | x | Gothic art 1140 - c.1450; sources and documents by Teresa G | 1 |
| 8 | Guide to British historical manuscripts in the Huntington Library | 1 | |
| 9 | History and its images: art and the interpretation of the p | 1 |
| Author
Frisch, Teresa Grace
Title
Gothic art 1140-c.150; sources and documents by Published Englewood Cliffs, N.J., Prentice-Hall [1971] |
EARLY ENGLISH BOOKS is a microfilm collection of books published in England or
in the
English language between 1475 and 1700. There are some very interesting
old volumes in this
collection. To search in this collection specifically, add early English
books to your keyword
search in the Library Catalog.
Example: early english books and (color or colour)
| Author
Boyle, Robert, 1627-1691
Title
Experiments and considerations touching colours <microform>: Published London: Printed for Henry Herringman, 1670. |
EARLY AMERICAN IMPRINTS is a microfiche collection of books published
in the U.S. in
the 17th and 18th centuries. To search this collection specifically, add
early american imprints to your keyword search.
Example: painting and early american imprints
ARTISTS ON ART FROM THE XIV TO THE XX CENTURY
Reference N 7452 G64 1958
DOCUMENTS OF 20th CENTURY ART is a collection of volumes giving
primary sources
relating to 20th century art. In the Library Catalog, a search on this title will find
a list of the books in the
series. Some of the authors included are: Guillaume Apollinaire, Jean Arp,
Umbro Apollonio,
Daniel Kahnweiler, Jacques Lipchitz, Robert and Sonia Delaunay, and Pablo
Picasso.
LIVES OF THE ARTISTS was written by Vasari (1511-1574)
Reference N 6922 V2213 1991
TWENTIETH-CENTURY ARTISTS ON ART: AN INDEX TO WRITINGS, STATEMENTS AND INTERVIEWS BY ARTISTS, ARCHITECTS, AND DESIGNERS, edited by Jack Robertson. Located in Reference NX 456 R59 1996
Also check the MOBIUS
central catalog and WorldCat
on FirstSearch for books that are
not in our library.
Previous
page || Next
page
Back to
Table of Contents
jir