Biology Research Guide
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. |
Quick Facts | Find Books |
Find Articles | Web
Sites |
Open Access
Publications | Find People |
Current
Discussions | Citing Sources
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
Check the
Truman State University Library Catalog
for encyclopedias and dictionaries. For example, see the
following keyword searches:
encyclopedia* and human biology
dictionar* and genetics
Quick Facts
Biology Data Book Reference QH 310 .A392
New York Public Library Science
Desk Reference Reference Q 173 B25 1995
Scientific American Science Desk Reference Reference Q 173 S427 1999
How Many? A Dictionary of Units of Measure
Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures. Reference QC 94 C295 2003
Find Books
Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books on biology. It is a catalog for finding books, journals and other materials owned by Pickler Library. Because biology is so diverse, you should use keyword searching to combine terms. For example, see the following keyword searches:
insects and flight
water and disease
plants and fire
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your
search in MOBIUS to
find books in other libraries in Missouri. You can order books
online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.
This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and
staff who will be notified by email.
WorldCat
A
catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You
can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within
two weeks. This service is available to current Truman
students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email. A
modified version of
WorldCat is also available for free.
Dissertations
Dissertations & Theses.
Obtain the full text of
theses written at Truman State University, 1997+.
Truman Masters Theses - Biology
This is a link to the
Truman State University Library Catalog catalog record for a biology theses. All
Truman Masters Theses are available online at
Current
Research by author, title and faculty
advisor from 1997+.
Dissertation Abstracts*
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every
American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes
many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts
from Masters Abstracts. Coverage is 1861 to date
Find Articles
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
Biological Abstracts 1969+. (10 simultaneous users).
Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains nearly 5.8 million archival records. Most of the records include abstracts.
Online 1969+ on DIALOG.
Must have password. Ask Librarian for details.
In print 1927-1993: General Collection QH 301 B37
10.5 million citations from Biological Abstracts, Biological Abstracts/RRM.
Together, these publications constitute the major English-language indexing
service for the life sciences.
Online on DIALOG.
Must have password. Ask Librarian for details.
5,000 primary and secondary source publications reporting on all aspects of
environmental subjects.
General Science Abstracts, 1984+
In print 1978/79-1995/96: General Collection Q 158.5 G45
Indexes and abstracts about 160 popular scientific journals. English
language only.
Google Scholar - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references. Free site.
An online articles delivery service, a table of contents
database, and a keyword entry
index to nearly 20,000 periodicals. Free to the public.
JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection.
PrimateLit, 1940+
A biblliographic database of book and periodical citations on any topic
involving primates, from paleontology through field and lab behavior to
medical research.
Science.gov Searches selected websites databases, technical reports, journal articles and other published materials.
Online 1974+ on DIALOG.
Must have password. Ask Librarian for details.
A multidisciplinary database of 4,500 science journal indexing. Citation
indexing is included.
Online 1978+ on DIALOG.
Must have password. Ask Librarian for details.
6,000 journals indexed on virtually every aspect of zoology.
Web Sites
Comprehensive Sites | Associations | Government Agencies/Resources
All about Birds
All the Virology on the WWW
Amphibia Web
Biology Browser Web portal for biological information. Searchable by organism, subject and
geographic locations.
BioTech: life
sciences resources and reference tools
BIOWEB California State University's guide to Internet biological
sciences research and teaching materials.
BRENDA A
dictionary of enzymes including: nomenclature, isolation and preparation,
stability, reaction and specificity, enzyme structure, functional parameter,
organism-related information, disease & references, application and engineering.
CMS-Molecular Biology Resource :A compendium
of resources for molecular biology, biotechnology, molecular evolution,
biochemistry and biomolecular modeling.
Entomology Index of
Internet Resources -
INFOMINE Gateway developed by the University of
California covering over 2,000 scholarly Internet resources.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
(NCBI) - GenBank repository of genetic sequence data; BLAST database for
comparisons of nucleotide sequences; PubMed medical literature citations.
Primate Info Net - Links
and original content about nonhuman primates.
PubMed Central
Full text of life science research articles.
SciCentral Gateway to
the best science and engineering online resources.
Science.gov - a catalog of government science
and technology Web sites from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
SciNet Science Search Search engine and directory to science related Web sites.
Scirus
Virtual Library -
Developmental Biology
Virtual Library on Genetics
WildFinder: mapping the
world's species
American Birding Association
American Cetacean Society
American Institute of Biological Sciences
American Ornithologists Union
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
American Society for Cell Biology
American Society for Microbiology
American Society of Mammalogists
American Type Culture Collection
Association for Tropical Biology and
Conservation
Biophysical Society
Botanical Society of America
CEDAM International
Council on Undergraduate Research
Entomological Society of America
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
International Mycological Association
Mycological Society of America
National Association of Biology Teachers
Society for Developmental Biology
Society for In Vitro Biology
Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology
FirstGov for Science Searches selected
websites databases, technical reports, journal articles and other published
materials.
National Biological
Information Infrastructure - An
electronic gateway to biological data and information maintained by federal,
state and local government agencies, private sector organizations and other
partners around the nation and the world.
Science.gov
Find People
For biographies and biographical dictionaries about scientists consult the following subject headings in Truman State University Library Catalog:
African American scientists.
African American women scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Scientists -- Biography -- Indexes.
Scientists -- Canada -- Biography.
Scientists -- United States -- Biography.
Women life scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Eric
Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name
or discipline.
Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Includes biographical information and bibliographies.
ISIHighlyCited.com
ISI site which lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.
Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search
by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
Nobel e-Museum
Provides extensive information on Nobel laureates including interviews.
Nobel Prize Internet
Archive
Provides information and Web links on all Nobel prize winners.
Current Research & Discussions
Current Research Information System
A searchable database of U.S. Department of
Agriculture funded research. Search by keyword, investigator, agency,
institution, state, and project status and type. Many records include a list of
publications resulting from the research. Free to the public.
Scientific Meetings
Newswise Calendar of Scientific Meetings
Science News
EurekAlert!
News site sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement
of Science.
Globalchange.gov
- government-funded, high-quality data directly related to global
change.
Sci-Bytes
A what's new in research site sponsored by ISI. Includes hot papers and journal
rankings in selected fields.
Science
News - New York Times - the Tuesday science section of the New
York Times.
The Scientist
Biweekly news journal for life scientists.
Citing Sources
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.
Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu
cal