Library Web Home

Botany Research Guide  *

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Open Access Publications
| Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Botany.com the Encyclopedia of Flowers and Plants

Common Names of Plant Diseases. Includes both fungal and viral diseases. From the American Phytopathological Society

Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers  Reference SB 403.2 .A438 2002

Facts on File Dictionary of Botany  Reference QK 9 F33 2003

Illustrated Dictionary of Mycology.  Reference QK 600.35 .U4513 2000

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Succulents General Collection SB 438 R682

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees  General Collection QK 475 .E29 1978

Lichens of North America.  General Collection QK 586.5 .B76 2001

Medicinal plants of the world : chemical constituents, traditional, and modern medicinal uses. General Collection RS 164 R676 1999

NatureServe an Online Encyclopedia of Life
Authoritative information on more than 50,000 plants and animals in the U.S. Type in scientific or common name and then click on comprehensive report. The report includes distribution and conservation information, ecology and life history, and references to further information.

Mosses and other bryophytes - an illustrated glossary.  General Collection QK 537.M35 2000

On-line glossary of technical terms in plant pathology
Edited by Dr. Phil A. Arneson, Department of Plant Pathology, Cornell University. Brief definitions, in many cases, accompanied by audio pronunciations.

The plant-book : a portable dictionary of the vascular plants utilizing Kubitzki's The families and genera of vascular plants (1981-), Cronquist's An integrated system of classification of flowering plants (1981), and current botanical literature, arranged largely on the principles of editions 1-6 (1896/97- 1931) of Willis's A dictionary of the flowering plants and ferns.  General Collection QK11 .M29 1987

Plant Dictionary - The Ohio State University. Teaching resources for horticulture and crop science. 

Plant Identification Terminology : an Illustrated Glossary.  Reference QK 9 .H37 1994

Plants Database  - produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, this site is meant to serve as a central location  for plant information presentated in a standardized format.  It includes vascular plants (ferns, gymnosperms such as conifers, and flowering plants), mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens.

UCMP (University of California Museum of Paleontology) glossary, Volume 8: Botany.
Glossary of botanical terms from the Museum of Paleontology, University of California, Berkeley.  

World Economic Plants: a Standard Reference  Reference SB 107 W485 1999

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources | Back to Top

Quick Facts

Field Guides | Handbooks | Nomenclature | Taxonomic Information

Field Guides

Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Wildflowers Eastern Region
General Collection QK 112 .N53 1979

eNature.com
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides.

Edible and Poisonous Mushrooms - an excellent reprint from the Missouri Conservationist magazine. Missouri Documents  CON2:M97/2

Field Guide to Medicinal Plants and Herbs of  Eastern and Central North America
General Collection QK 99 .U6 F68 2000

Field Guide to Western Trees: Western United States and Canada
General Collection  QK 133 P43 1998

Missouri Wildflowers
General Collection  QK 170 .D45 1998

Mushrooms of North America in Color: a Field Guide Companion to Seldom-Illustrated Fungi
General Collection  QK 617 M84 1995

Wild Edibles of Missouri
General Collection  QK 98.5 .M8 P48 1998


Handbooks

Aromatic and Medicinal Plants Index
Alphabetical list by common and scientific name. 

Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps
Compiled by Claire Englander and Philip Hoehn, Earth Sciences and Map Library, University of California, Berkeley. 

Catalogue of the Flora of Missouri Missouriana Collection and General Collection  QK 170 Y37 1990

Cornell University Poisonous Plants Informational Database.

Five Kingdoms: An Illustrated Guide to the Phyla of Life on Earth
General Collection QH 83 .M36 1998

Flora of Missouri by Julia A. Steyermark Missouriana Collection and  General Collection QK 170 .S76 1999

Flora of North America North of Mexico
General Collection QK 110 .F55 1993 (multi-volume set)

Guide to standard floras of the world[:] An annotated, geographically arranged systematic bibliography of the principal floras, enumerations, checklists and chorological atlases of different areas. 2nd ed. .
General Collection QK 45.2 F76 1984

Index of botanical specimens. Harvard University Herbarium.
Search over 117,000 records by scientific name, author, collector, and geographic location.  

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

Missouriplants.com
Photographs and descriptions of the flowering and non-flowering plants in Missouri.

Plants Database  - produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, this site is meant to serve as a central location  for plant information presentated in a standardized format.  It includes vascular plants (ferns, gymnosperms such as conifers, and flowering plants), mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens.

Synonymized Checklist of the Vascular Flora of the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. A joint project between Biota of North America and the Texax A&M Bioinformatics Working Group.

USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map. Prepared by the U.S. National Arboretum

U.S. National Herbarium Type Specimen Register. Search for ferns, flowering plants, mosses, hepatics, lichens, and algae. Over 88,000 records from the Department of Botany, National Museum of Natural History 


Nomenclature

Carnivorous Plant Database
Nomenclature synopsis for 3,000+ carnivorous plants.

Flowering Plant Gateway
Detailed information on the four systems of flowering plant classification: Cronquist, Takhtajan, Thorne, and APG. Developed and maintained by Dr. Hugh D. Wilson, Texas A&M University

International Code of Botanical Nomenclature (International Association for Plant Taxonomy)

International Plant Names Index
Database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants.

w3TROPICOS
This site provides access to the Missouri Botanical Garden's VAST (VAScular Tropicos) nomenclatural database and associated authority files.


Taxonomic Information

Catalogue of Life
Component of the Species 2000 project which has the objective of enumerating all known species of plants, animals, fungi and microbes on Earth.  Database is searchable by scientific or common name.  It provides complete taxonomic hierarchy for each species from Kingdom down to Species.

GRIN Taxonomy for Plants
Taxonomic data for 37,000 taxa, 14,000 genera of plants, with a focus on economic plants. Maintained by the Agricultural Research Service.

Tree of Life Web Project
Information on organisms compiled by biologists around the world.  Searchable by taxonomic or common name.  Includes basic information, key references and web sites.

World Biodiversity Database
WBD,  produced by the Expert Center for Taxonomic Identification, is attempting to  document all presently known species (about 1.7 million).  The WBD contains taxonomic information (hierarchies), species names, synonyms, descriptions, illustrations and literature references when available.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources  | Back to Top

Find Books

Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books on botany. It is a catalog for finding books, journals and other materials owned by Pickler Library.  Because botany is so diverse, you should use keyword searching to combine terms.  For example, see the following keyword searches:

                                   paleobotany and coal
                                   endangered species and Missouri
                                   plants and fire

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.

RBG, Kew Databases
From the Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew. Searchable databases of vascular plant families and genera, authors of plant names, and DNA databases.

WorldCat
A catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.
 

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses.  Obtain the full text of theses written at Truman State University, 1997+.
                                                  
Truman Masters Theses - Biology
This is a link to the Truman State University Library Catalog catalog record for a biology theses.  All Truman Masters Theses are available online at Current Research by author, title and faculty advisor from 1997+.

Dissertation Abstracts*  
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions.  It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts from Masters AbstractsCoverage is 1861 to date

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources | Back to Top

Find Articles

Pickler Memorial Library Periodical Subscriptions

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

AGRICOLA, 1970+
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library.  Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject. It is compiled by the National Agricultural Library. 

Aquatic, Wetland and Invasive Plant Glossary. Aquatic Plant Information Retrieval System from the Center for Aquatic Plants, University of Florida. 55,000+ citations on ecology, physiology, utilization, and control. Free to the public.

CAB Abstracts, 1972+ On DIALOG. Must have password. Ask Librarian for details. 10,000 journals are indexed for worldwide coverage of agriculture, veterinary science, tourism and leisure.

Canadian Poisonous Plants Information System.  Free to the public.

Google Scholar - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.  Free site.

Index to American Botanical Literature
A searchable database of American botanical literature from late 1995 to present.  Search by subject category (eg. algae, fungi, etc.), author, article title, journal name, publisher, and keywords.  New York Botanical Garden.  Free to the public.

ingenta/UnCover
An online articles delivery service, a table of contents database, and a keyword entry index to nearly 20,000 periodicals.  Free to the public.

JSTOR
A searchable database of full-text scholarly journals including several major botanical journals. 

Poisonous Plant Database 
An alphabetical listing of references on poisonous plants. Maintained by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration, Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition, Office of Plant and Dairy Foods and Beverages.  Free to the public.

Recent literature on lichens.
From the American Bryological and Lichenological Society as published in The Bryologist, this searchable database contains over 24,000 references dated 1536 to present.  Search by author, journal name, and keyword from the title, keyword, or abstract fields.  Limit searches by material type: articles, books, chapters, or reviews.  Free to the public.

Science.gov 
Searches selected websites, databases, technical reports, journal articles and other published materials. Free to the public.

SciSearch

Online 1974+ on DIALOG.  Must have password.  Ask Librarian for details.
A multidisciplinary database of 4,500 science journal indexing.  Citation indexing is included. 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources | Back to Top

Websites

Biodiversity and Environmental Resources  
Centre for Plant Biodiversity Research site with links to botanical databases, herbaria, research institutions, botanic gardens, floras, etc.

Botany Related WWW Sites
Botanical Society of America site which lists major botany links and resources on the Web. Includes botanical e-journals and newsletters

FAO (Food and Agriculture Organizations of the United Nations) Forestry: Country Profiles    
Each country report contains a geographic description and information on forest cover, ecological zones, forest fire statistics, protected areas and forest product trade information.

Flora of North America
Database covers non-cultivated plants that grow north of Mexico.  Entries include physical descriptions, numbers of genera and species, distribution, and literature information.

HerbMed
Interactive, electronic database that provides scientific and general information on the biochemical action of herbs.

Internet Directory for Botany
Index to botanical information available on the Internet. Consists of both an alphabetical and categorical directory.

Missouri Botanical Garden

Missouri Natural Heritage Database
Provides information about the abundance, distribution and conservation needs of both plant and animal species in Missouri. 

Native American Ethnobotany Database - Foods, Drugs, Dyes, and Fibers of Native North American Peoples
A searchable database of uses of over 4,000 plant species from 243 plant families. Authored by Daniel E. Moerman, Professor of Anthropology, University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Plant Fossil Record. Search through 1000's of plant fossil records by genera, descriptions,  and occurrence using this database from the International Organisation of Palaeobotany.

Plants Database  - produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, this site is meant to serve as a central location  for plant information presentated in a standardized format.  It includes vascular plants (ferns, gymnosperms such as conifers, and flowering plants), mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens.

Scott's Botanical Links
Searchable Web page of  botany related sites which have been reviewed and rated by a University of Oklahoma professor.

Science.gov - a catalog of government science and technology Web sites  from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

Virtual Library of Botany/Plant Biology - a broad directory of botany resources, this site offers links to plant taxonomy, genetics, natural history and related sites.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources | Back to Top

Find People

Biography | Associations | Government Agencies

Biography

For biographies and  biographical dictionaries about scientists consult the following subject headings in Truman State University Library Catalog:

African American scientists.
African American women scientists -- Biography.
Botanists
Plant Collectors
Scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Scientists -- Biography -- Indexes.
Scientists -- Canada -- Biography.
Scientists -- United States -- Biography.
Women life scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
 

Biographical Web sites


Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name or discipline.

Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences Includes biographical information and bibliographies.

ISIHighlyCited.com
ISI site which lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.

Nobelprize.org Provides extensive information on Nobel laureates including interviews.

Nobel Prize Internet Archive Provides information and Web links on all Nobel prize winners.
 

Associations

Botanical Society of America
Scholarly Societies Project - Botany

Government Agencies

Forest Service Home Page
Geological Survey Home Page

Missouri Department of Conservation
Missouri Department of Natural Resources
National Biological Control Institute
National Science Foundation Homepage

Plant Materials Program

United States Department of Agriculture Homepage

 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources | Back to Top

Current Research & Discussions

Current Research Information System
A searchable database of U.S. Department of Agriculture funded research. Search by keyword, investigator, agency, institution, state, and project status and type. Many records include a list of publications resulting from the research. Free to the public.

Scientific Meetings
Newswise Calendar of Scientific Meetings


Science News

Botany in the News

EurekAlert!
News site sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Globalchange.gov - government-funded, high-quality data directly related to global change.

Sci-Bytes
A what's new in research site sponsored by ISI.  Includes hot papers and journal rankings in selected fields.

Science News - New York Times - the Tuesday science section of the New York Times.

The Scientist
Biweekly news journal for life scientists.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current DiscussionsCiting Sources | Back to Top

Citing Sources

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.

Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu

Consult the Biology Research Guide for related information.

 

Thank you to Jim Bird, University of Maine and Janice Dysart, University of Missouri Columbia  for their many contributions to this guide.
 

cal

 


Last Modified 02 March 2008
Hit Counter