Library Web Home

Business & Accountancy Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Company & Industry Sources | Marketing SourcesFind Books Find ArticlesWeb Sites  |  Citing Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting. Reference HD30.15 .B53 1997
Encyclopedia of Business 2 vols. Reference HF1001 .E466 2000 
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management. 6 vols. Reference HF1001 .I53 1996

Company & Industry Sources

Industry Profiles  
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)  
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys Reference Desk
Encyclopedia of American Industries Reference HC102 .E53
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries  Reference HD2324 .E527
U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook Reference HC101 .U54
Value Line Investment Survey Reference HG4501 V3    
   
Industry Classification  
SIC - Standard Industrial Classification  
NAICS - North American Industry Classification System Reference HF1042 .N6 2002
NAICS/SIC Conversion: Tables
  Search
   
Industry Ratios  
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios Reference HF5681.R25 A45
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios Reference HF5681.R25 I54
RMA Annual Statement Studies Reference HF5681.B2 R6        
Reuters Investing - http://www.investor.reuters.com Free site but must register to access ratios
   
Industry News & Trends 
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Company DossierSkip to end of form contents (Business section of LexisNexis Academic)
Wall Street Journal
 
Company Information
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
 
Company DossierSkip to end of form contents (Business section of LexisNexis Academic) — Contains profiles and financial data
Hoover's Handbook of American Business Reference  HG4057 .A28617 —  also part of Company DossierSkip to end of form contents (Business section of LexisNexis Academic)
International Directory of Company Histories 58 vols. Reference HD2721 I58 
   
Financial and Stock Information  
Annual Reports AnnualReports.Com:
SEC Filings - 10K Reports Company DossierSkip to end of form contents (Business section of LexisNexis Academic)
Current and Historical Stock Information BigCharts
Value Line Investment Survey Reference HG4501 V3    
Reuters Investing - http://www.investor.reuters.com Free site but must register for access to certain parts

Back to Top

Marketing Resources

Company Information: Profiles,  News, Marketing Reports
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)  
Company DossierSkip to end of form contents (Business section of LexisNexis)  
Hoover's Handbook of American Business Reference  HG4057 .A28617 —  also part of Company DossierSkip to end of form contents (Business section of LexisNexis )
Business Abstracts  
Wall Street Journal  
International Directory of Company Histories Reference HD2721 I58 
Thomas Register  

Demographic Information  
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)  
American Demographics Searchable through Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Community sourcebook of ZIP code demographics Reference HA203 .S662  2005 
Consumer Expenditure Survey Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Demographics USA, County Edition Reference HF5437 .S323
Demogrpahics USA, ZIP Edition Reference HF5415.33.U6 D46
Editor & Publisher Market guide Reference HF5415.3 .E45  2005 
Lifestyle Market Analyst Reference HF5415.33.U6 L54  2005 
U.S Census The Census offers numerous sources regarding population, income and housing. One of the most useful areas will be the American Factfinder. You can look at the population and spending patterns by state, county, city, or zip code.
More books: Do the following  keyword searches in the library catalog:
         consumers and statistics
         consumption and statistics

Consumer Price Index  
Bureau of  Labor Statistics ~ Consumer Price Index
Monthly Labor Review  

Industry News, Trends, & Profiles  
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)  
Company DossierSkip to end of form contents  (part of LexisNexis Academic) Includes a Business News as well Industry & Market News section
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys Reference Desk

Back to Top

Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

accounting and ethics
management and organizational change

Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples for business and accounting.  Each link performs the subject search in the Library Catalog.

accounting standards

business planning

corporations finance

employee motivation
tax accounting marketing management

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Back to Top

Find Articles

Business Source Premier (EBSCO).  Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources in nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

LexisNexis Academic 
Contains about 5,600 sources. These include the full text of regional, national and international newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade journals and business publications, marketing reports, biographical information, corporate reports, etc. It also includes major archives of federal and state case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, as well as articles from law journals.

Business related files/databases in LexisNexis Academic  include:

CCH Tax Research Network
Online access to the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Tax Cases, and the Missouri Tax Reporter as well as other tax literature.

Wall Street Journal Full text 1984+, Abstracts 1982-83

EconLit 1969+
Indexes economics journals, books, and working papers.

FARS--Financial Accounting Research System
Available in computer labs on campus
Financial accounting standards by FASB, AICPA, etc. 

National Trade Data Bank (NTDB)
On the Web at Stat-USA, password protected. Inquire at Reference Desk.
Contains full texts of market research reports, domestic and foreign economic data, import and export statistics, trade information, and country studies from 15 federal agencies.

Unless otherwise indicated, databases are restricted to use on the
Truman State University network.

Print Indexes

Accounting and Tax Index
Reference HF 5635 A33
Provides citations to articles on taxation and accounting.

Back to Top

Web Sites

| Accounting & Auditing | Associations | Company Reports |
| Stock Market/Finance | Comprehensive/Miscellaneous Sites |

Accounting & Auditing

AICPA---American Institute of CPA home page
AuditNet
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
Internal Revenue Service's home page
GAO: U.S. General Accounting Office
Rutgers Accounting Web
Tax and Accounting Sites Directory


Associations

AICPA---American Institute of CPA home page
American Accounting Association
American Association of Finance and Accounting
American Economic Association
American Marketing Association
 

Company Reports

AnnualReports.Com: Provider of Company Annual Reports
CorporateInformation---international company information arranged by country
Hoover's Online (Some information requires a subscription)
Locating Company Information on the Internet
SEC's EDGAR Database---company reports filed to SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission)

Stock/Market/Finance

American Stock Exchange
ABI World---Bankruptcy Information
BigCharts
Dow Jones Indexes
FISonline---Truman has access to the weekly News Reports for Mergent Manuals
NASDAQ
New York Stock Exchange
Stock Quotes---by YAHOO
Valueline Online---part of the site is password protected, inquire at the Reference Desk for access.
Wall Street Research Network

Comprehensive/Miscellaneous Sites

Best Business Schools---MBA and EMBA rankings by Business Week
The Conference Board---producing Consumer Confidence Index, Leading Economic Indicators, and more
Consumer Information Catalog
Federal Reserve Board
Fortune Lists of Companies
Interactive Currency Table
Internet Public Library: Business & Economics Reference
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)---including correspondence between NAICS Codes and SIC Codes
Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) Codes
Universal Currency Converter
U.S. Consumer Gateway
Web Marketing Information Center
The World Bank Group

Back to Top

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
 

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Business & Accountancy

Janet Romine, Reference Librarian for Business & Accountancy
(660) 785-7418
jiromine@truman.edu

 

Back to Top

 

 

jir

 


Last Modified 09 May 2008
Hit Counter