Library Web Home

Children's Literature Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.   |     Find Books  |      Find Articles   |   Other Resources     |  
 Web Sites  |    Literary Awards and Prizes   |    Citing Sources
 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Children and books. General Collection PN1009.A1 S879 1986; Juvenile 028.5 AR19C 1986
Children's literature : an illustrated history. General Collection PR990 .C495 1995
International companion encyclopedia of children's literature.  Reference  PN1008.5 .I57 1996
Reference sources for children's and young adult literature.  Juvenile Reference 028.5 R653RE
Research and professional resources in children's literature.  General Collection PN 1009 A1 R47 1995
Who's who in children's books. Reference PN1009.A1 F575
The world through children's books. General Collection PN1009.A1 W67 2002
Worlds within : children's fantasy from the Middle Ages to today. General Collection  PR830 F3 E43 1988

Back to Top


Find Books

Juvenile Collection and Curriculum Library

The Library has a large collection of more than 11,000 children's books.  Members of the Truman community (faculty, staff, students, administration) may check them out for 30 days, guest borrowers may check them out for 14 days.  This JUVENILE COLLECTION is located on the second floor in the Curriculum Library.  All of the books are listed in the Library Catalog by author, by title, by keyword and children's subject heading.

The Juvenile Collection has all of the Newbery and Caldecott winners, the Mark Twain Awards, and many others.

The Curriculum Library also contains a collection of textbooks used in the public schools, as well as educational models and games.  These are all listed in the Truman's Library Catalog. 

Books ABOUT Children's Literature

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

children and reading
children and fantasy
picture books and children

Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples for children's literature.  Each link performs the subject search in Truman's Library Catalog.

Picture books for children.

Children -- Books and reading.

Best books -- Children's literature

Children's literature -- History and criticism.
Children's literature -- Bibliography. Illustrated children's books

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Back to Top

Find Videos/Sound Recordings

The Media Library, on the second floor, contains a wide collection of videos/DVD's as well as sound recordings, both in CD and audiocassette format.  These are all listed in Truman's Library Catalog.  Below are some links to lists of videos and sound recordings relating to children's literature.  For a more complete search of all videos, click here.  For a more complete search of all music sound recordings, click here. For a more complete search of all spoken audio recordings, click here.

Children's films
Children's songs
Children's stories


Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
        On the Web through FirstSearch
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
        ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are available online through  www.eric.ed.gov.   Documents before 1993 are on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.  The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Journal Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
A multi-disciplinary database offerings full text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals covering virtually every area of academic study.

MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO). 1975+.  Provides full text for over 500 general interest and current events publications, as well as a variety of full text pamphlets, full text reference books, biographies, image collections and primary source documents.

Primary Search (EBSCO).  1990+.  Full text for more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.   Coverage: Click here to show journal list.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

 

Back to Top

Other Resources

  Bibliographies   | Biographical Sources   |   Book Reviews  |  
Children's Literature Journals   |  Indexes to Materials in Collections   |    Videos/Sound Recordings  |

 

Bibliographies and Book Lists

A to zoo: subject access to children's picture books. Juvenile Reference  011.62 L628A 1998
Best books for children: preschool through grade 6. Juvenile Reference 011.62 B4638 1994
Best books for young adult readers. Juvenile Reference 028.162 C245 BE
Children's catalog. Juvenile Reference 028.5 C437
Children's literature awards and winners. Reference PN1009.A1 C545 1994
Elementary school library collection. Reference Z1037. E4
Magazines for kids and teens.  Juvenile Reference 011.34 M27
Newbery and Caldecott awards: a guide to the medal and honor books. Juvenile Reference 028.1 N4243 2004
Newbery and Caldecott books in Pickler Memorial Library
Subject guide to Children's Books in Print.  Juvenile Reference  028.52 C43692

Back to Other Resources

Biographical Sources

Children's Authors and Illustrators: An Index to Biographical dictionaries.  Reference Z1037 A1 C463 1995
Contemporary Authors.  Reference PN453 .C614
Something About the Author. Reference  PN451 .S6
Twentieth Century Children's Writers.  Reference PN 1009 A1 T9 1995

Back to Other Resources

Book Reviews

Book Review Digest  1983+
Also In print at Reference Table A Z1219 C95  1905+
About 75 general English language periodicals are indexed in this source; very few specialized titles are included.  The arrangement in the print volumes is by author with subject and title index.

Book Review Index.
In print at Reference Table A  Z1219  B59  1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews.  About 450 publications are included.

Children's Book Review Index.
In print at Reference Z1037 A1 C575

Children's Literature Review
In print at Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139

Back to Other Resources

Children's Literature Journals

ALAN review
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Children's Literature
Children's Literature in Education
Horn Book Magazine
Journal of Adolescent and Adult Literacy
Journal of Reading
Language Arts
Lion and the Unicorn
Reading Teacher
School Library Journal
Science and Children
Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
Wilson Library Bulletin
Young Children

Back to Other Resources

 

Indexes to Materials in Collections


Index to children's plays in collections. Reference PN 1627. K7 1977
Index to children's plays in collections, 1975-1986. Reference PN 1627.T73 1986
Index to children's songs.  General Collection ML128.S3 P 48
Index to Fairy Tales.  Reference PN 6071 F 15 E37
Index to Poetry for Children and Young People.  Reference PN 1023 B72
Master index to summaries of children's books. Reference  PN1009.A1 P477 1985
Plays for Children and Young Adults. General Collection PN 1627 K37 1991
Storyteller's sourcebook: a subject, title and motif index to folkore collections for children. Reference GR 74.6 M3 1982
Subject Index to Poetry for Children and young People. Reference PN 1023. A5

Back to Other Resources

 

Find Videos/Sound Recordings

The Media Library, on the second floor, contains a wide collection of videos/DVD's as well as sound recordings, both in CD and audiocassette format.  These are all listed in Truman's Library Catalog.  Below are some links to lists of videos and sound recordings relating to children's literature.  For a more complete search of all videos, click here.  For a more complete search of all music sound recordings, click here. For a more complete search of all spoken audio recordings, click here.

Children's films
Children's songs
Children's stories

Back to Other Resources

 

Web Sites

Associations  |    Children's Literature Sites   |  Literary Awards and Prizes   

  Associations

American Library Association
Association for Library Service to Children
Children's Book Council
Children's Literature Association
Horn Book
International Reading Association
Missouri State Teachers Association (MSTA)
National Association for Gifted Children
National Association for the Education of Young Children
National Council of Teachers of English
Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators
 

Children's Literature Sites

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
CCBC: Cooperative Children's Book Center
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
Children's Literature
Children's Literature Web Guide (no longer updated after 2000)
Fairrosa Cyber Library
DeGrummond Children's Literature Collection at USM
ISLMC Children's Literature and Language Arts Resources
International Children's Digital Library
Kay E. Vandergriff's Special Interest Page
Literature for Children
Merrycoz.org: works for children & adults, 1800-1872
Once Upon a Time

Literary Awards and Prizes

Association for Library Service to Children Awards
Coretta Scott King Award
Gateway Readers' Award (Missouri Association of School Librarians)
Golden Kite Award
Hans Christian Andersen Award
John Newbery Medal
Mark Twain Award (Missouri Association of School Librarians)
NCTE Poetry Award
Newbery and Caldecott Books in Pickler Memorial Library
Pura Belpre Award
Randolph Caldecott Medal
Show Me Readers Award (Missouri Association of School Librarians)

Back to Top

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
 

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Language and Literature.

Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu

Back to Top

dr

 

 


Last Modified 18 February 2008
Hit Counter