Library Web Home

Classics Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.  |  Find Books  |  Find Articles  | Journals
  Web Sites  |  Citing Sources
 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome.  Reference PA3002 A5 1982
Atlas of Classical History. Reserve G1033. G65 1994
Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature.  Reference PA91 J45 1996
Dictionary of Latin Literature. General Collection PA 31.M3
Dictionary of the Roman Empire.   Reference DG 270.B86 1995
Greek-English Lexicon. Reference PA 445.E5 L6 1996
Harper's Dictionary of Classical Literature and Antiquities. General Collection DE 5.P36 1923
Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Classical World. Reference DE5 I55
New Century Classical Handbook.  Reference DE 5.N4
Oxford Classical Dictionary. Reference DE 5.O9 1996
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. Reference PA31 H69 1989
Oxford Latin Dictionary. 2 v. Reference PA 2365.E5 O9
Room's Classical Dictionary.  Reference BL 727.R58 1983
Who's Who in the Classical World. Reference DE 7.W48 2000

Art and Archaeology

Atlas of Ancient Archaeology. General Collection GN 739.H38 1974
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology.  General Collection CC 165.C3 1980B
Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from Classical Literature. Reference N 7760.P68 1983
Guide to the Ancient World. General Collection DE 25.G72 1986
Handbook of Roman Art. General Collection N 5760.H36 1983
Handbook of Greek Art. General Collection N 5630.R49 1967
Greek and Roman Architecture. General Collection NA 260.R6 1969
Makers of Classical Archaeology.  Reference DE9.A1 M43 2000
New Century Handbook of Greek Art and Architecture. General Collection N 5633.N39
Oxford History of Classical Art. Reserve N 5610.O84 1993
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites.  General Collection DE59 P7

Classical Mythology

Cassell Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Reference BL715.M37 1999
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama. Reference PA 3024. H35
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Literature. Reference PA 31.F4
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Mythology. Reference BL 303.T75 1970
Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Reference BL 715 .G713 1986
Greek and Latin authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000. Reference PA 31.G7
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. Reference PA 31 H69 1989
Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s. Reference NX650 M9 R45 1993
Place-Names in Classical Mythology: Greece.  Reference DF16 B45 1989
Who's Who in Classical Mythology. General Collection BL715.G68 2002

Greek and Roman History

Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity. Reference Atlases G1033.A84 1981
Atlas of the Roman World. Reserve DG 77.C597 1982
Battles of the Greek and Roman worlds. Reference D25.A2 M66 2000
Chronology of the Ancient World. General Collection D54.5 .B5 1980
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean:  Greece and Rome.  3 v. Reference DE 59 .C55 1988
Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities. 2 v. General Collection DE5 .S6 1973
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire.   Reference DG 270.B86 1994
Warfare in the Classical World. Reference U 29.W37 1995
Who's Who in the Greek World. Reference DE 7.H39 2000

Back to Top


Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

Greek art and themes
Trojan war and drama

Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples for Greek and Latin literature.  Each link performs the subject search in Truman's Library Catalog.

Elegiac Poetry, Latin

Greek Literature -- History and Criticism

Mythology, Classical

Pastoral Poetry, Greek
Greek Drama (Tragedy)  

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

The Loeb Classical Library, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.  Click here for a listing of titles from the Loeb Classical Library available in Pickler Memorial Library.


Back to Top


Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

Art Full Text. 1984+. Indexes more than 400 key international arts periodicals and some other arts publications.   Full text from 1997 onward is available for select publications.

Art Index Retrospective. 1929-1984.  Coverage of older articles in international periodicals and journals in the arts.

Arts and Humanities Search  1980+
Indexing of 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.  Citation Index allows searching of bibliographies.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.   Coverage: Click here to show journal list.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

L'Ane Philologique Online. Database published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique covering volumes 30 to 73 with more than 480,000 bibliographic records.

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles. You can limit your searches by the following languages: Chinese,  Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Swedish, and Ukrainian.   

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

Philosopher's Index  1940+
In Print 1967-99 : Reference B52 P 55

Anthropological Index Online. Free to the public to search.

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists - A Web-based index of the contents of 185 classics journals and collections of essays compiled by a team of classics scholars. The entries provide basic bibliographic information, with a few including abstracts and/or links to full text.
 

Print indexes

Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2001
Reference  AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.


Journals

Note:  Current periodical issues are shelved by title on the west side of the atrium.  Back issues of periodicals are shelved by call number on first floor, beginning with A by the windows on the west side. * indicates a peer-reviewed journal title.

American journal of archaeology* 1897+ Periodicals CC1 A6
American journal of philology*  1880+ Periodicals P1 A5
Archaeology* 1948+ Periodicals GN700 A725
Arethusa*    1993+ Periodicals PA1 A715
Classical antiquity 1982+ Periodicals PA1 C32
Classical journal*    1905+ Periodicals  PA1 C4
Classical philology*   1906+ Periodicals PA1 C5
Classical quarterly*  1907+ Periodicals PA1 C6
Classical review* 1887+ Periodicals PA1 C7
Classical world* 1992+ Periodicals PA1 C8
Clio* 1971+ Periodicals AS30 C53
Greece & Rome 1931+ Periodicals DE1 G7
Harvard Studies in Classical Philology 1916+ JSTOR
Journal of Hellenic studies* 1880+ Periodicals DF10 J8
Transactions of the American Philological Association 1974+ Periodicals P 11.A565


Back to Top
 

Web Sites

ABZU--Guide to Ancient Near Eastern Resources--Resource guide with numerous links about the Ancient Near East.
Ancient World Web - a selective guide to classics-oriented Web sites covering art and archaeology, law, science history, literature, and everyday life.
Ask the Oracle --Answers questions on ancient Greek and Roman literature, history and mythology.  Translates parts of ancient Greek and Latin texts.   Provides information on women in the ancient world, virtual maps and much more.
Classical and Medieval History --An annotated list of reference web sites developed by the Library of Congress
Classics Collections Page--A comprehensive site providing links grouped into categories such as Art & Archeology, Bibliographies, Classical Mythology, Databases, E-texts, Greek/Roman History and Journals.
Classics Search--Search for classical titles or authors in the Internet Classics Archive and Perseus Project.
Diotima--Wonderful interdisciplinary resource for women and gender in the ancient world.
Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation--Annotated listing of topics including everything from course materials to e-texts.
Greek Mythology Link--The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of myths retold by Carlos Parada, author of Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology, published in 1993  The GML contains texts, images, tables and maps. The mythical accounts are based exclusively on ancient sources.
Internet Classics Archive--Collection of ancient texts, primarily Greek and Latin.
Online Medieval & Classical Library - a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Perseus Project--Extensive digital library of ancient texts, art catalogs, secondary essays, and more.
VROMA-- Vroma is a site developed by teachers and scholars to create a virtual learning environment for classicists. It includes virtual tours of Rome as well as lists of resources.



Back to Top


Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.

 

Back to Top


For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Classics.

Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Classics
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu

dr

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter