Communication Disorders Research Guide
Encyclopedias,
Dictionaries, etc. | Find Books |
Find Articles |
Journals
Truman Masters Theses |
Web Sites | Citing Sources
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
American
Sign Language Dictionary. Reference HV 2475 C67 1994
Encyclopedia
of Psychology. 8 vols. Ref BF 31 E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Special Education.
3 vols. Reference LC 4007 E53 2007
Gale
Encyclopedia of Medicine. 5 vols. Reference RC 41 G35 1999
Gallaudet
Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness. 3 vols. Reference HV
2365 G35 1987
Hegde's
PocketGuide to treatment in speech-language pathology.
Reference RC 423 H38296 2001
Oxford
Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education.
Reference HV 2380 O88 2003
Reference
Manual for Communicative Sciences and Disorders: Speech and Language.
Reference RC 423 K46 1994
Find Books
Check the Library
Catalog
for books. The Library of Congress (LC) subject heading is
communicative disorders. Because that term is so broad, you
might combine it with other terms, or think of completely different
terms. For example, try the following
keyword searches:
(Click
here for help in understanding keyword searching principles.)
communicative disorders and behavior
stuttering and treatment
(deaf or hearing impaired) and mainstreaming
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your
search in MOBIUS to
find books in other libraries in Missouri. You can order books
online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.
This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and
staff.
If you are unable to find all that you need through MOBIUS, you can look for books in libraries in other states by using WorldCat. You must allow plenty of time because these materials will come through the mail.
Find Articles
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
EBSCOhost offers several
databases useful for communication disorders.
Communication & Mass Media
Complete provides indexing to 400 periodicals with full
text for over 200 titles.
Cumulative
Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL).
1983+
In print 1977-1997:
General Collection RT 41 C842
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 1700 current nursing
and health journals. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a
companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information
about new journal articles as they are being assigned indexed.
MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in
literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8
million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000
book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal
articles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
provides over 520
scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Includes abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals.
Academic Search Elite provides full text for over 1,530
journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science,
education, and more.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive
sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and
the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also
contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more
than 6000 conference papers.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center),
1966+
On
the Web through
FirstSearch.
On the Web through the official
ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal
articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc.
It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.
ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are
in the library on
microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other
useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk,
also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at
this site.) Journal
Coverage: Click
here to show
the journal title list.
Dissertation Abstracts, 1861+
On the Web through FirstSearch.
Summaries of dissertations from universities in the United States
and around the world. All subjects. To see the actual
dissertation you must request it on Interlibrary Loan through
WorldCat.
General Science Abstracts, 1984+
Contains citations from more than 150 journals and magazines from
the U.S. and Great Britain, covering anthropology, astronomy,
biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine and health, physics and
more. Coverage: Click
here to show the journal title list.
MEDLINE, 1965+
On the Web through
FirstSearch
On the Web through
PubMed, the
free public site from the National Library of Medicine.
Indexes more than 3,500 journals published internationally in all
fields of medicine. Coverage: Click
here to show the journal title list.
PsycINFO
On the Web through FirstSearch , 1887+
In print 1927-1966: General Collection BF 1 P65.
Published by the American Psychological Association. Contains
summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related
disciplines. Indexes over 1400 journals in 29 different languages
from approximately 54 countries. Books, dissertations, and reports
are also included. Coverage: Click
here to show the journal title list.
PsycARTICLES
On the Web through Ovid.
Full text articles from 57 journal
titles published by the American Psychological Association.
Click
here to show the journal title list.
Social Sciences Abstracts
On the Web through FirstSearch, 1983+
In print under various titles 1907-1996: Reference AI 3 S6
Covers about 300 journals in the areas of anthropology, area
studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice,
economics, geography, international relations, law, political
science, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, and
related topics. Coverage: Click
here to show the journal title list.
Print indexes
DSH Abstracts. 1960-1985.
Print:
General Collection RF 1 D45
Brief, noncritical summaries of
articles from 250 periodicals relevant to communication sciences and disorders.
Ceased publication after the 1985 volume.
Exceptional Child Education Resources. 1969-2003.
Print: General Collection LC 3950 E942
Indexes books, periodical articles,
government reports, dissertations on children who are gifted or are physically,
mentally or learning disabled.
Journals
Speech & Hearing Journals in
Pickler Memorial Library. Includes where they are indexed
and where to find full text online.
Note: ASHA provides two FREE great alert services
for their scholarly journals.
eTOC provides e-mail Tables
of Contents of new issues as they are published.
CiteTrack Alerts provides
e-mail alerts when new articles matching your search
criteria are published in these journals.
Click on each journal at
http://journals.asha.org/
Education periodicals in Pickler Memorial Library.
Medical periodicals in Pickler Memorial Library.
Psychology periodicals in Pickler Memorial Library,
Truman Masters Theses
Truman Masters Theses in Communication Disorders
- List of theses with links to full text when available.
All Master's theses written by students at Truman State
University (1997+) are available online through
Dissertations & Theses at UMI. You may search by author, keyword, and faculty
advisor. To immediately view the first 24 pages of a thesis,
click on PREVIEW. To download an entire thesis, click on PDF
(Downloading takes several minutes so you may supply your e-mail
address to be notified when the process is completed). NOTE:
Access to full text is restricted to use on the Truman network.
Web Sites
ASHA: American
Speech-Language-Hearing Association
American
Academy of Audiology
Guide to
Otolaryngology in the Internet
Hardin
Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources---Maintained by the
University of Iowa's Hardin Health Science Library. Some sample
entries are Neurology, Otolaryngology, and Speech Pathology.
Mayo Clinic - Tools for
Healthier Lives
National Institute on Deafness
and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)---NIH division for
biomedical and behavioral research in human communication, which
supports and conducts research on the normal and disordered
processes of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and
language.
Search the above web sites using the box below.
SLP Start Page for Speech-Language Pathology: Internet Searches and Resources
University Programs in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Citing Sources
Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
Unless otherwise indicated databases are restricted to the Truman
network.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact
Karen McClaskey, Reference Librarian for Communication Disorders
(660) 785-7416
karenmc@truman.edu
km