Communication & Journalism Research Guide
Encyclopedias,
Dictionaries, etc. |
Find Books |
Find Articles
|
Web Sites
Film Reviews |
How to Find Speeches |
Citing Sources
So you have to give a
speech....(Help for Comm170)
International Encyclopedia of Communication. 12 vols.
Reference P 87.5 I58 2008
Dictionary of Media and Communications. Reference P 87.5 W45
1995
Encyclopedia
of Television. Available online.
Contemporary
Theatre, Film, and Television. 51 vols. Reference PN
2208 W52
A biographical dictionary.
Gale
Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. Reference
PN 4877 G35
Broadcasting
and Cable Yearbook. Reference HE 8689 B762
Media Law
Reporter. 1977+ Reference KF 2750 A513
Court cases involving media law.
Standard
Rate and Data Service (SRDS). 9 volumes. Reference HF 5415
- HF 5905
Ad rates, circulation, etc., for:
Consumer magazines, TV and cable, business publications, newspapers,
direct marketing, radio, etc.
Check the Library
Catalog
for books on communication. Because that term is so broad, you
should combine it with other terms, or think of completely different
terms. For example, see the following
keyword searches:
communication and culture
mass media and business
broadcast journalism
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your
search in MOBIUS to
find books in other libraries in Missouri. You can order books
online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.
This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and
staff.
Find Articles
Databases in this
section are restricted to use on the Truman network.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Merger of two databases,
CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Now
expanded to provide indexing to 400 periodicals with full text for
over 200 titles. Some indexing goes back to 1915.
Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
On the Web through FirstSearch.
In print under various titles
1907-1996: Ref AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 325 periodicals in archaeology and
classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history,
language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy,
religion and theology. Click
here to show journal list. This should be used with
the Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective listed below for
older articles.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective. 1907-1983
In print under various titles.
Ref AI 3 S6
Indexes all aspects of the humanities and social sciences from over
1,200 North American and European periodicals. Subjects
covered include: addiction studies; anthropology; archaeology; area
studies; art; classical studies; communications; community health &
medical care; criminal justice and criminology; dance; economics;
environmental studies; ethics; family studies; film; folklore;
gender studies; geography; gerontology; history; international
relations; journalism; law; linguistics; literary & social criticism
literature; minority studies; music; performing arts; philosophy;
planning & public administration; political science; psychiatry, and
psychology; public welfare; religion and theology; social work;
sociology; and urban studies.
LexisNexis
Academic
Contains full text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal,
medical and reference sources. Sources include regional,
national and international newspapers, news wires, magazines, trade
journals and business publications, biographical information,
corporate reports, etc. Major archives of federal and state
case law, continuously updated statutes of all 50 states, as well as
articles from law journals. Also contains Shepard's® Citations for
all U.S. Supreme Court cases beginning in 1789. A recent
addition: transcripts from the Arabic news channel, Al Jazeera
(coverage: 1/2002 -current).
Congressional
Contains legislative information including full text of bills, laws,
congressional reports. Information on pending legislation, hot
topics, etc.
MLA Bibliography. 1926+.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics,
and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than
4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75%
are language and literature journal articles.
PsycINFO
On the Web through
FirstSearch, 1887+
In print 1927-1966:
General Collection BF 1 P65.
Published by the American Psychological Association. Contains
summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related
disciplines. Indexes over 1400 journals in 29 different languages
from approximately 54 countries. Books, dissertations, and reports
are also included from 1987+. Coverage: Click
here to show journal list.
Other related indexes/databases:
Academic Search Elite
(EBSCO). 1985+.
A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800
journals in all areas of academic study--social sciences,
humanities, etc.
Business Source Premiere. Provides full text for
more than 1,100 scholarly business publications and more than
7,000 other sources. Coverage includes virtually all
subject areas related to business, including advertising, public
relations, etc. This database provides full text (PDF) for more
than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as
1922.
Dissertation Abstracts International
Abstracts of doctoral dissertations (1980+) and masters theses
(1988+); citations to doctoral dissertations from 1861+; from
institutions in North America and Europe.
In Print: 1938-1979, located in Periodicals LB 2371 D58
The actual dissertations generally need to be ordered on
interlibrary loan.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
On the Web through
FirstSearch.
On the Web through the
official
ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal
articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc.
It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.
ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.
Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The
library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other
useful information, is available on the Web through
the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.
(ERIC documents are not available at this site.)
Reader's Guide Abstracts.
Online 1983+. Abstracts of articles from popular magazines.
In print, 1890+ Title is
Readers Guide to Periodical
Literature
Reader's Guide Retrospective. 1890-1982. Index to
older magazine articles.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive
sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and
the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908. Also
contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more
than 6000 conference papers.
World News Connection.
11/1994+. English translation of foreign news broadcasting. Password
needed. Inquire at Reference Desk.
Print indexes
Communication Abstracts
In print only
1967-2001: Reference P 90 C65
Provides coverage of recent literature in the areas of general
communication, mass communication, advertising and marketing,
broadcasting, communication theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal
communication, small group communication, organizational
communication, journalism, public relations, radio, public opinion,
speech, and television.
FIND: Frye's
Index to Nonverbal Data. Reference P 99.5 F79 1980
Index to
Journals in Communication Studies through 1990. Edited by
Matlon and Ortiz. 2 vols. Print only.
Reference P 87 M37 1992.
Accuracy in Media --- A
politically conservative group, AIM is a non-profit, grassroots
citizens watchdog of the news media.
Advertisement Avenue
--- An free archive of television advertisements.
AJR NewsLink---From the
American Journalism Review. The RESOURCE section contains
information on other Web-linked resources pertinent to journalism
and communication.
American Communication
Association. Their Communications Studies Center provides
an annotated collection of communication-related links organized by
subfields within the communication discipline.
American Press
Institute --- Devoted to the training and development of people
in the news industry and in journalism education.
American Rhetoric ---
Gateway to many useful sources for speeches, links for scholars of
rhetoric, and more.
Broadcast Net -- The
broadcast industry's home page.
Center for Communication
Center for Nonverbal Studies---Includes The Nonverbal Dictionary
of Gestures, Signs & Body Language Cues.
Committee to Protect Journalists
--- Tracks press conditions around the world, has recent news and
archived news back to 2000. Has information on journalists
killed and missing since the mid 1990's.
Communication WWW
Links---Truman State University Division of Language and
Literature.
FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy in
Reporting
Freedom Forum Online---The
Freedom Forum is dedicated to fostering First Amendment
freedoms.
Internet
Resources for the Study of Communications---Compiled by Paul
Starr, Princeton University.
Investigative Reporters and Editors,
Inc. --- IRE is a member-supported organization run by
investigative journalists. Provides a gateway for anyone
intrested in in-depth news reporting.
Journalism.org --- A
collaboration of the Project for Excellence in Journalism and the
Committee of Concerned Journalists.
Journalism
Resources---Compiled and edited by Karla Tonella, University of
Iowa.
The Journalist's
Toolbox---Online resources for reporters and editors.
Media Research Center (MRC).
Conservative, follows trends in the media.
Mediachannel.org ---A
politically liberal organization which watches the media.
Nielsen Media Research
--- Top 10 TV programs
News
Resources --- Links to radio, television, and newspaper sites,
prepared by Pickler Memorial Library.
NewsWatch: A Consumer's Guide to
the News --- Project of the Center for Media and Public Affairs.
Newswise ---Comprehensive
resource for reporters who write about science, medicine, business
trends, and the economy. Free, but requires registration.
Pew Research Center for the
People and the Press --- Presents survey results on public
attention to major news stories and opinion on political and social
values.
Power Reporting Resources for
Journalists---Created and maintained by Pulitzer Prize winning
journalist Bill Dedman.
Poynteronline---"Everything
you need to be a better journalist."
Putlizer Prizes
Society of Professional Journalists
Statistical Assessment Service
(STATS)---"nonprofit nonpartisan organization examines the way
that scientific, quantitative, and social research is presented by
the media and works with journalists to help them convey this
material more accurately and effectively."
Truman
State University Student Resources for the Communication Major &
Minor
U.S. Federal Communications Commission
(FCC)
U.S. Library of Congress
Copyright Office
Vanderbilt Television News
Archive --- Includes ABC, CBS, and NBC evening news broadcasts
since August 5, 1968; various CNN programs, and Fox broadcasts
starting in January 2004. Users must register but will have
free and complete access to the database. There are fees for
the actual videotape copies.
Websites for
Journalists
Film
Review Index, 1882-1985. Reference PN 1995 F5 1986
Film Review
Annual, 1982+ . Reference PN 1995 F55
New York
Times Film Reviews, 1913-2000. Reference PN 1995 N4
Includes photocopies of
reviews appearing in the New York Times.
Variety's
Film Reviews, 1907-1997. Reference PN 1995 V34 1983
Includes photocopies of
reviews appearing in Variety.
See also the
Library's
Guide to Film Reviews
Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly in APA,
Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Communication.
Dan McGurk, Reference Librarian for Communication
(660) 785-4528
dmcgurk@truman.edu
dm