TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University

Counseling Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.  |  Find Books  |  Find Articles | Media & Curriculum
 Web Sites  |   Citing Sources



ENCYCLOPEDIAS, DICTIONARIES, etc

Subject Encyclopedias

These can be helpful for obtaining an overview of a subject and related topics.  Often an entry in an encyclopedia will contain a list of references which can lead you to more sources on that topic.

Encyclopedia of Psychology  8 vols.   Reference BF 31 .E52  2000
Encyclopedia of Education.   8 vols.  Reference LB 15 E43  2003
Encyclopedia of Special Education.  3 vols. Reference LC4007 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders  Reference RC 514 .N63 2000
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders  Reference  RC 552 .E18 C37  2000

Subject Dictionaries

Dictionary of Behavior Therapy Techniques  General Collection  RC 489 .B4 D54  1985
Dictionary of Counseling   Reference  BF 637 .C6 B444 1994

Handbooks, Manuals

Student Manual For Theory and Practice of Counseling and Psychotherapy
General Collection  BF 637 .C6 C576  2001
Student Manual: Theory and Practice of Group Counseling  General Collection  BF 637 .C6 C576  2004
A-Z Handbook of Child and Adolescent Issues  Reference BF 721 .T29  2000
Group Leadership: A Manual For Group Counseling Leaders  General Collection
HV 45 .B33  1982
Handbook of Child Abuse Research and Treatment  General Collection HV 6626.5 .H36  1998
The Handbook of School Psychology   General Collection  LB 1051 .H2356  1999
Outrageous Behavior-mod: Handbook of Strategic Interventions for Managing Impossible Students   General Collection  LB 1060.2 .C497  1997
Clinical Handbook of Health Psychology: A Practical Guide to Effective Interventions
General Collection R 726.7 .C54  1998
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV (Text Revision)
Reference  RC 455.2 .C4 D54  2000
Psychologist's Desk Reference   Reference  RC 467.2 .P78  1998
Sourcebook of Psychological Treatment Manuals For Adult Disorders
General Collection  RC 480 .S633  1996
Handbook of Alcoholism Treatment Approaches  Reference  RC565 .H26  1995
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder: A Handbook for Diagnosis and Treatment
General Collection  RJ 496 .A86 B37  1998
DSM-IV Training Guide for Diagnosis of Childhood Disorders
General Collection  RJ 503.5 .R36  1996
Handbook of Psychological Treatment Protocols For Children and Adolescents
General Collection RJ 504 .H3618  1998
The High School Counselor's Handbook  U.S. Documents  ED 1.8:C 83/2/   2003/2004


FIND BOOKS

Check the library catalog for books and other materials such as videos.   Begin with some basic keyword searches, combining a few terms that relate to your topic, for example:
                       
                        family counseling AND techniques
                        rehabilitation counseling AND disability
                        grief AND (counseling OR therap*)

The asterisk * truncates a term and will retrieve all forms of the word that follow the truncation    symbol.  For example, therap*  will retrieve therapy, therapies, therapeutic.  The parentheses allows you to search for concepts similar in meaning and then combine these with different term(s).  Remember to always place your similar terms within parentheses when using AND & OR in one search statement.  Click here for more tips on keyword searching.

Results from your keyword searches will help you identify appropriate subject headings that you can search under.  These can help you get even more relevant books on your specific topic.  Listed below are a variety of subject  headings used in the library catalog:

                          counseling                                                children--counseling of
                          family counseling                                    older people--counseling of
                          group counseling                                     minorities--counseling of
                          rehabilitation counseling                        counseling--vocational guidance
                          counseling in elementary education     counseling--study and teaching
                          counseling in secondary education      counselors
                          counseling in higher education              counselors--training of
                                                                                              drug abuse counseling
                          psychotherapy       
                          mental health services
                          helping behavior
                                             


If our library does not have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS (the Missouri-wide library database) and complete the online form.  There is no charge for this service and the requested book or books are usually delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is only for books and is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Back to top


FIND ARTICLES

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
On the Web through FirstSearch
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.

ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are available online through the ERIC Document Reproduction Service.  Documents before 1993 are on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.  Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.

PsycINFO
On the Web through FirstSearch,  1887+
In print 1927-1966:  General Collection BF 1 P65.

Published by the American Psychological Association. Contains summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related disciplines. Indexes over 1400 journals in 29 different languages from approximately 54 countries. Books, dissertations, and reports are also included. Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO).  1985+. 
A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800 journals in all areas of academic study--social sciences, humanities, etc.

Exceptional Child Education Resources
Print 1969+:  General Collection  LC 3950 E942
Indexes books, periodical articles, government reports, dissertations on children who are gifted or are physically, mentally or learning disabled.
 



Counseling Journals -- Current subscriptions in Pickler

American Journal of Family Therapy.  1991+  Periodicals RC 488.5 I54
Counseling and Human Development.  1982+  Periodicals LB 1027.5 C68
Counseling and Values.  1985+  Periodicals LC 461 N438
Counseling Psychologist.  1969+  Periodicals BF 637 C6 C64
Counselor Education and Supervision.    1961+ Periodicals BF 637 C6 C66
Families in Society: the Journal of Contemporary Human Services.  1990+  Periodicals HV 1 J5622
Family Journal: Counseling and Therapy for Couples and Families.  2001+ 
Periodicals RC 488.5 F325
International Journal for the Advancement of Counselling.  1978+  Periodicals BF 637 C6 I53
Journal for Specialists in Group Work.  1992+  Periodicals BF 637 C6 J58
Journal of College Student Development.  Print 1988-2002 Periodicals LB 2343 
Online through Project MUSE 2003+
Journal of Counseling and Development: JCD.  1984+  Periodicals HF 5381 A1 O45
Journal of Counseling Psychology.  1956+  Periodicals BF 637 C6 J6
Journal of Humanistic Counseling, Education and Development.  1999+  Periodicals LB 175 S7914
Journal of Mental Health Counseling. 2002+  Periodicals  LB 2343 J642
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development.  1992+  Periodicals LC3701 J68
Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development.  1984+ 
Periodicals LB1 1027.5 M382
Professional School Counseling.  1997+  Periodicals LB 1027.5 P76

See also Psychology journals and Education journals.

Back to top


MEDIA & CURRICULUM

Our Media Library located on the second floor houses a large collection of videos, DVDs, sound recordings and CD-ROMS.   The Curriculum Library, directly south of the Media Library, contains kits and games for educational and counseling purposes. 

Most of the videos below cover various counseling techniques and other topics that may relate to counseling and therapy.  They are listed in order by call number.

Videos

When Children Grieve   Media Video  BF 723 .G75 W54  1987
Drinking Apart: Families Under the Influences   Media Video  HV 5132 .D7  2000
Peer Mediation:  Conflict Resolution in Schools   Media Video  LB 1027.5 .P35  1992
Understanding Group Psychotherapy   Media Video (4 cassettes & guide)  RC 488 .U6  1990
A Different Kind of Caring: Family Therapy, Carl Whitaker   Media Video RC 488.5 D54 1986
Object Relations Couple Therapy   Media Video  RC 488.5 .O25  1996
Narrative Therapy Using a Reflective Team   Media Video  RC 488.8 .N37  1993
Core Skills in Cognitive Behaviour Therapy   Media Video  RC 489 .C63 C68  1990
Existential-Humanistic Therapy   Media Video  RC 489 .E93 E9  1998
Multimodal Therapy   Media Video  RC 489 .M84 M847  1998
Structural Therapy   Media Video  RC 489 .S78 S78  2000
Treating Phobias   Media Video  RC 535 .T74  1987
Cognitive-Behavior Therapy for Depression  Media Video  (5 cassettes)  RC 537 .C624  2000
Child of Rage:  A Story of Abuse   Media Video  RC 569.5 .C55 C554  1990
Techniques of Play Therapy   Media Video  (1 cassette & guide)  RJ 505 .P6 T43  1994
Ritalin: Drug Treatment for Attention Deficit Disorder   Media Video  RJ 506 .H9 R55  1996

(This list is not exhaustive.  To locate more videos or DVDs,  go to our Searching for Videos page).

Sound Recordings

Strengthening Stepfamilies   Curriculum  (kit:  3 cassettes, guide, handbook and other materials) HQ 759.92 .S73  1986
The Family Power Struggle   Media  Cassette  HQ 769 .D655 1965
Songs for Elementary Emotional Development   Media  Cassette  (3 cassettes and guide)
ML 3830 .F74 1982

Games, Posters

The Self-Control Game   Curriculum  BF 632 .S45  1990
The Anger Control Game   Curriculum  BF 723 .A4 B47  1990
The Feelings Game: A Program to Develop Rational Evaluations of Emotions   Curriculum Library   BF 723 .E6 F44 1990
Stress Strategies   Curriculum  BF 723 .S75 S795  1986
Stress Attack  Curriculum  Cabinet 1, Shelf 5  1986
The Mad Sad Game   Curriculum  Cabinet 1, Shelf 2  1990
Feelings in Hand   Curriculum  Cabinet 4, Shelf 3  1989

How Are You Feeling Today? (poster)  Curriculum  Cabinet 5, Shelf 3 No. 2
The Harmful Effects of Alcohol (chart)   Curriculum  Cabinet 5, Shelf 3 No. 12
The Harmful Effects of Cocaine (chart)  Curriculum  Cabinet 5, Shelf 3 No. 4
The Harmful Effects of Marijuana (chart)  Curriculum  Cabinet 5, Shelf 3 No. 6

Back to top


*WEB SITES

Other Research Guides from Pickler Memorial Library:

Education Research Guide -- This guide is prepared for students at Truman State University.  It lists the databases, Web sites, and other resources of special interest for research in education.
Psychology Research Guide -- Prepared for students at Truman State University, it lists the databases, Web sites, and other resources of special interest for research in psychology.

American Counseling Association
American Psychological Association
American School Counselor Association
Association for Assessment in Counseling
CRESST -- National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, & Student Testing
Encyclopedia of Psychology -- Dr. William Palya, Jacksonville State University
National Institute for Mental Health
SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center
School Psychology Resources Online

*More sites to be added as they are reviewed


CITING SOURCES

There are several style manuals available in the library:

Chicago/Turabian Style

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations 
    General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
    Reference  LB 2369 .T8 1996

APA Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
    General Collection   BF 76.7 .P83 2001
    Reserve  BF 76.7 .P83 2001
    Reference  BF 76.7 .P83 2001

MLA Style

         MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
                General Collection  LB 2396 .G53 2003
                Reserve  LB 2369 .G53
                Reference  LB 2369 .G53 2003

For additional style guides and information on citing Web sites and other electronic sources, click here.

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Counseling, Lisa Glaubitz, at (660) 785-7412, or email  glaubitz@truman.edu

Back to top

lmg

 

Encouraging Discovery