Encyclopedias,
Dictionaries, etc. | Find
Books |
Find Articles
Web Sites |
Statistics |
Citing Sources
Encyclopedia of Education. 8 vols. Reference
LB 15 E43 2003
Encyclopedia
of Special Education. 3 vols. Reference LC4007 .E53 2007
World
Education Encyclopedia. 3 vols. Reference LB 15 W67
2002
Credo Reference. Over 360 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Check the Library
Catalog
for books in education. Because that term is so broad, you should
combine it with other terms, or think of completely different terms.
For example, see the following
keyword
searches:
prayer and public schools
education and supreme court
reading and instruction
The Curriculum Library, on the second floor, contains a collection
of textbooks used in the public schools and a collection of
children's books. These are all listed in the Library Catalog.
You can search for children's books by
author,
title,
keyword, or
children's subject
heading.
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your
search in MOBIUS to
find books in other libraries in Missouri. You can order books
online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.
This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and
staff.
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
On the Web through
FirstSearch.
On the Web through the official
ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal
articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all
areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+
are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library
on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other
useful information, is available on the Web through
the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC
documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click
here to show journal list.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
A free trial is currently in progress
for this EBSCO indexing/abstracting database to approximately 280 popular
periodicals and 1,300 book chapters related to K-12 education. Users may
save, e-mail, or download citations and abstracts.
PsycINFO
On the Web through
FirstSearch, 1887+
In print 1927-1966:
General Collection BF 1 P65.
Published by the American Psychological Association. Contains
summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Indexes over 1400 journals in 29 different languages from approximately 54
countries. Books, dissertations, and reports are also included. Coverage:
Click
here to show journal list.
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO). 1985+.
A multi-disciplinary database offering full text for over 1800
journals in all areas of academic study--social sciences,
humanities, etc.
Exceptional Child Education Resources
Print 1969+:
General Collection LC 3950 E942
Indexes books, periodical articles, government reports,
dissertations on children who are gifted or are physically, mentally
or learning disabled.
Kraus Curriculum Development Library
(KCDL)
Cumulative index on a CD
workstation in the Reference Area
KCDL is a collection of
curriculum guides from all over North America, reproduced on
microfiche. Click
here for a detailed
description of this set.
Click here for a list of current education periodical subscriptions in Pickler Memorial Library.
Associations |
Government
Agencies/Resources
For
College Students/Faculty |
For Teachers K-12
Associations/Organizations
American Association for
Higher Education (AAHE)
American Association of University
Professors (AAUP)
Association for the Study of Higher
Education (ASHE)
Council of Public Liberal Arts
Colleges (COPLAC)
Education
Resource Organizations Directory (EROD)
Educause
Missouri State Teachers
Association (MSTA)
National Association for Gifted
Children
National Association for the
Education of Young Children
National Council for
Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
National Education Association
(NEA)
National Middle School Association
North Central Association: The
Higher Learning Commission
Education Commission of the States
-- nonpartisan, nonprofit interstate compact created by the states
and the U.S.Congress that helps governors, legislators, state
education officials, business leaders and others identify, develop
and implement public policies to improve student learning at all
levels. The ECS website is the nation's most extensive website
devoted to education policy.
Federal Resources for Educational
Excellence (FREE)---Provides access to a collection of
electronic educational resources produced by 49 different federal
agencies.
National Center for
Education Statistics---NCES is the primary federal entity for
collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the
United States and other nations.
U.S. Department of
Education
Missouri
Department of Higher Education
Missouri Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education
Missouri
School Directory. Also available in print: Reference
L 9903 M5 M5
College
and University Rankings---Developed by the Education and Social
Science Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Assembles and provides context for the many rankings of colleges and
universities in the U.S. and other countries.
College Guides---Online resources selected by Pickler Memorial
Library.
College Navigator---From
the U.S. Dept. of Education , provides information on nearly 7,000
postsecondary institutions in the U.S. Possible to compare up to
four institutions in one view, and maintain a list of favorite
institutions from different searches.
.edu: U.S.
News.com---Central location for the compilation of U.S. News &
World Report's college and career related material on the Web.
Encyclopedia of
Educational Technology - short multimedia articles providing the
foundation for incorporating technology in education
FastWeb
---Financial aid search through the Web.
Graduate and Professional Schools---Resources selected by Pickler
Memorial Library
Graduate Record Examinations
---Practice for the GRE
LearningExpressLibrary---Guide
to test preparation in basic skills and career advancement. Includes
practice tests for: academic, advanced placement, basic skills
success, civil service, college preparation, cosmotology, EMS, ESL
(Spanish) skills improvment courses, firefighter, GED, graduate
school entrance, law enforcement, military, real estate, skills
improvement courses, teacher certification, technical and career
college, and US citizenship.
ResearchChannel--A
video library offering programs in many disciplines.
World Lecture Hall--University of Texas---Links to pages created
by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver class
materials.
Ben's Guide to U.S.
Government for Kids---Includes resources for teachers.
Census in
Schools---Material for activities involving use of the census.
Children's Literature
Web Guide
Columbia Education Center
Cyberschoolbus---Created by the United Nations, for educators
developing curricula focused on global concerns.
DiscoverySchool.com---From
the Discovery Channel, ideas to enhance learning for parents,
teachers, students.
Education World---A
mega site offering information, resources, and links to assist
educators.
Educator's Reference
Desk --- Provides resources and services to educators,
including lesson plans and links to education information.
Eisenhower National Clearinghouse---(ENC
Online) For math and science education.
Gateway to 21st Century Skills---Provides
access to high quality Internet lesson plans, curriculum units and
other education resources. Project sponsored by the ERIC
Clearinghouse on Information & Technology, U. S. Dept. of Education.
History Matters: The U.S.
Survey Course on the Web--- Designed for high school and college
levels.
Kids.gov --- The official kids'
portal to the U.S. government.
LD Online --- Created
by The Learning Project at WETA in association with the Coordinated
Campaign for Learning Disabilities.
LessonPlanZ.com---Comprehensive
site for many useful resources.
MarcoPolo:
Internet Content for the Classroom. --- Nonprofit consortium of
national and international education organizations with a mission of
providing high-quality Internet content and professional
development. Now called Verizon Thinkfinity.
Math Forum---Comprehensive
resource for math education assistance for prekindergarten through
college.
Mid-continent Research for Education
and Learning---Private, nonprofit organization to improve
education through applied research and development. Provides
products and services, primarily for K-12 educators, to promote best
practices in the classroom.
National Science Digital Library ---A
digital library of "exemplary resources collections and services,
organized in support of science education at all levels."
NationalGeographic.com---Designed
for educators and students.
New York Times
Learning Network---Student Connections includes news summaries,
a daily news quiz, science Q & A, and much more. Teacher
Connections includes lesson plans, this day in history , and other
resources.
PBS Teacher Source
ProTeacher --- Extensive
collection of links.
Puzzlemaker---Create
puzzles tailored to topics your students are studying.
RAND---Nonprofit institution that
helps improve policy and decision making through research and
analysis. Many education reports available free online.
ResearchChannel--A
video library offering programs in many disciplines.
SchoolMatters---Research
information about public schools and compare schools at the local,
state, and national levels.
Skewl Sites: The Best in
Educational Web Sites---Researched by teachers for teachers.
Smithsonian Education
--- Lesson plans, background information and more from the
Smithsonian Institution.
SuccessLink:
Linking Educational Innovators across Missouri---Sponsored by DESE
this site includes lesson plans, job vacancies, and much more.
Teachers.net---A mega site
with lesson plans, chat boards, live meetings, etc.
Verizon:
Thinkfinity --- Literacy, education, technology. Formerly
MarcoPolo: Internet Content for the Classroom
Web English Teacher
--- Claims to offer the best of K-12 English/Language Arts online
teaching resources.
What to Expect
your First Year of Teaching ---A document which is the result of
focus group discussions that the U.S. Department of Education
facilitated with winners of the 1996 Sallie Mae First Class Teacher
Awards.
Condition
of Education. Reference L 112 C65
Digest of
Education Statistics. Reference L 11 D48a
Education
Indicators: An international perspective. Reference L 112
E34 1996
Education
Statistics of the United States. Reference LB 201 E38
National Center for
Education Statistics---NCES is the primary federal entity for
collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the
United States and other nations.
Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly in APA,
Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Education.
Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu
dr