Ben's Guide to U.S.
Government for Kids---Includes resources for teachers.
Census in
Schools---Material for activities involving use of the census.
Children's Literature
Web Guide
Columbia Education Center
Discovery Education ---From
the Discovery Channel, ideas to enhance learning for parents,
teachers, students.
Education World---A
mega site offering information, resources, and links to assist
educators.
Eisenhower National Clearinghouse---(ENC
Online) For math and science education.
Gateway to 21st Century Skills---Provides
access to high quality Internet lesson plans, curriculum units and
other education resources. Project sponsored by the ERIC
Clearinghouse on Information & Technology, U. S. Dept. of Education.
History Matters: The U.S.
Survey Course on the Web--- Designed for high school and college
levels.
Kids.gov --- The official kids'
portal to the U.S. government.
LD Online --- Created
by The Learning Project at WETA in association with the Coordinated
Campaign for Learning Disabilities.
LessonPlanZ.com---Comprehensive
site for many useful resources.
Math Forum---Comprehensive
resource for math education assistance for prekindergarten through
college.
Mid-continent Research for Education
and Learning---Private, nonprofit organization to improve
education through applied research and development. Provides
products and services, primarily for K-12 educators, to promote best
practices in the classroom.
National Science Digital Library ---A
digital library of "exemplary resources collections and services,
organized in support of science education at all levels."
New York Times
Learning Network---Student Connections includes news summaries,
a daily news quiz, science Q & A, and much more. Teacher
Connections includes lesson plans, this day in history , and other
resources.
PBS Teachers -
Resources for the classroom and professional development
ProTeacher Community --- Extensive
collection of links, blogs and chats.
RAND---Nonprofit institution that
helps improve policy and decision making through research and
analysis. Many education reports available free online.
SchoolMatters---Research
information about public schools and compare schools at the local,
state, and national levels.
Smithsonian Education
--- Lesson plans, background information and more from the
Smithsonian Institution.
SuccessLink:
Linking Educational Innovators across Missouri---Sponsored by DESE
this site includes lesson plans, job vacancies, and much more.
Teachers.net---A mega site
with lesson plans, chat boards, live meetings, etc.
Verizon:
Thinkfinity --- Literacy, education, technology. Formerly
MarcoPolo: Internet Content for the Classroom
Web English Teacher
--- Claims to offer the best of K-12 English/Language Arts online
teaching resources.
What to Expect
your First Year of Teaching ---A document which is the result of
focus group discussions that the U.S. Department of Education
facilitated with winners of the 1996 Sallie Mae First Class Teacher
Awards.
For further assistance you can visit the Library Service Desk,
call the Reference Department (660-785-4051) or contact the
Reference librarian for Education.
Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu