Library Web Home

Environmental Studies Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Open Access Publications
| Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Dictionary of ecology and the environment. 4th ed. General Collection QH 540.4 .D53 2001

Compendium of Environmental Acronyms (CEA)
Association of Engineering Geologists
. Based from USGS-Water Resources Division, Denver. Modified by Kevin James, 2004. 

Cooper's comprehensive environmental desk reference. Reference GE 123 .C64 1996 

Ecosystem valuation glossary. Part of the Ecosystem valuation site developed and written by Drs. D.M. King and M. Mazzotta.

The encyclopaedic dictionary of environmental change. Reference GE 10 .E5 2003

Encyclopedia of biodiversity. 2001. Reference  QH 541.15.B56 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies.  Reference TD 9 A84 2001

Environmental dictionaries & glossaries. Links from the  National Council for Science and the Environment.

Environmental encyclopedia.  Reference GE 10 E58 2003

The facts on file dictionary of environmental science.  Reference TD 9.W95 2001

Global change acronyms and abbreviations

U.S. Global Change Research Information Office

Glossary of climate change terms EPA

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics  General Collection GE 170 I55 2002

Terms of Environment.  Definitions of common terms used in EPA issued material. 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Quick Facts

Community-based environmental protection: a resource book for protecting ecosystems and communities. 1997. [Washington, D.C.]: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Policy, Planning, and Evaluation. General Collection  QH 76 C66 1997

Concise guide to environmental definitions, conversions, and formulae.
Reference TD 145 F55 1999

Current hydrologic conditions. National Weather Service, Office of Hydrology, Hydrologic Information Center.

Envirofacts Data Warehouse - environmental information from the EPA about waste, water, toxics, air, land, radiation and compliance by zip code, city/county/state abbreviation. Users can generate maps.

EnviroMapper - Search EPA maps by city/county/state, zip code, address, facility, watershed, EPA region, latitude/longitude.

Environmental technology resources handbook. Reference TD 169.5 G68 2003

Handbook of complex environmental remediation problems. Reference TD 1060 H34 2002

Handbook of environmental data on organic chemicals. 
General Collection  TD 1196 O73 H35 1983

Linkages: A Multi-media Resource for Environment and Development Policy Makers. International Institute for Sustainable Development.

McGraw-Hill recycling handbook.  2nd ed. Reference TD 794.5 M397 2000

Practical environmental bioremediation : the field guide. Reference TD 192.5 K56 1999

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Find Books

Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books on environmental studies. It is a catalog for finding books, journals and other materials owned by Pickler Library.  Because environmental studies is so diverse, you should use keyword searching to combine terms.  For example, see the following keyword searches:

                                   environmental policy and united nations
                                   ozone depletion and climate
                                   plants and fire

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.

WorldCat
A catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.
 

National Climatic Data Center - Focuses on historical archives of weather and climate data of all types.

National Library for the Environment
Developed and maintained by the Committee for the National Institute for the Environment

National Library for the Environment - Reference Programs. A virtual library of virtual libraries developed and maintained by National Library for the Environment.

U.S. EPA Online Library System

Dissertations
                                                  
Dissertation Abstracts  
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions.  It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts from Masters AbstractsCoverage is 1861 to date

Truman Masters Theses - Biology
This is a link to the Truman State University Library Catalog catalog record for a biology theses.  All Truman Masters Theses are available online at Current Research by author, title and faculty advisor from 1997+.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Find Articles

Pickler Memorial Library Periodical Subscriptions

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

AGRICOLA, 1970+
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library.  Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject. It is compiled by the National Agricultural Library. 

Google Scholar - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.  Free site.

ingenta/UnCover
An online articles delivery service, a table of contents database, and a keyword entry index to nearly 20,000 periodicals.  Free to the public.

JSTOR
A searchable database of full-text scholarly journals including several major botanical journals.

Science.gov 
Searches selected websites, databases, technical reports, journal articles and other published materials. Free to the public.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Web Sites

AgDB - Agriculture Network Information Center. Over 1,000 information resources described.

National Climatic Data Center - Historical archives of weather and climat data of all types.

National Environmental Publications Internet Site - NEPIS. Searchable, full-text database of over 6,000 EPA documents.

National Library for the Environment
Developed and maintained by the Committee for the National Institute for the Environment

U.S. EPA Online Library System

National Library for the Environment - Reference Programs. A virtual library of virtual libraries developed and maintained by National Library for the Environment.

Science.gov - a catalog of government science and technology Web sites  from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

WWW Virtual Law Library
Browse by topic environmental law. Maintained by the Indiana University Law School

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Find People

Biography | Associations | Government Agencies

Biography

For biographies and  biographical dictionaries about scientists consult the following subject headings in Truman State University Library Catalog:

African American scientists.
African American women scientists -- Biography.
Ecologists.
Ecologists -- Biography.
Ecologists -- Recreation.
Ecologists -- Travel.  
Ecologists -- United States -- Biography.
Environmentalists.
Environmentalists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Environmentalists -- Canada -- Biography.
Environmentalists -- Correspondence
Environmentalists -- Directories.
Environmentalists -- United States -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Scientists -- Biography -- Indexes.
Scientists -- Canada -- Biography.
Scientists -- United States -- Biography.
Women Environmentalists -- Biography.  
Women life scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.

Biographical Web sites


Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name or discipline.

ISIHighlyCited.com
ISI site which lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.

Nobelprize.org Provides extensive information on Nobel laureates including interviews.

Nobel Prize Internet Archive Provides information and Web links on all Nobel prize winners.

Associations

Scholarly Societies Project - Environmental Engineering

American Rivers
Assocation of Environmental and Resource Economists

Cedan International
Pursuing underwater research, exploration and marine conservation
Conservation Technology Information Center

Ecological Society of America
Environmental Defense
Greenpeace U.S.A.

Izaak Walton League of America

National Audubon Society

National Environmental Directory
National Wildlife Federation


Natural Resources Defense Council

Nature Conservancy

Sierra Club
Wilderness Society

World Wildlife Fund


Government Agencies

Environmental Protection Agency
Missouri Department of Conservation

Missouri Department of Natural Resources

EPA Drinking Water Contaminants

United Nations Environment Programme Information on current global environmental issues.
United Nations Environment Programme Global Resource Information Database
: Compilation of data, metadata, clearinghouses, WWW sites, and special projectsUnited States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Provides a description of Agency projects and programs, access to the text of laws and regulations, databases and software, and viewable publications.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts  | Find Books | Find Articles | Web Sites |
Find People | Current Research & DiscussionsCiting Sources

Current Research & Discussions

Current Research Information System
A searchable database of U.S. Department of Agriculture funded research. Search by keyword, investigator, agency, institution, state, and project status and type. Many records include a list of publications resulting from the research. Free to the public.

Environmental News

Environmental News Network

Environmental News Service

Globalchange.gov - government-funded, high-quality data directly related to global change.

News Link. Environmental. Capitol Reports.
Links to news digest, federal and state agencies, and federal and state courts

Scientific Meetings

Newswise Calendar of Scientific Meetings


Science  News

EurekAlert!
News site sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Sci-Bytes
A what's new in research site sponsored by ISI.  Includes hot papers and journal rankings in selected fields.

Science News - New York Times - the Tuesday science section of the New York Times.

The Scientist
Biweekly news journal for life scientists

Citing Sources

Consult the Research Guides for information related to Environmental Studies.


For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.

Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu

Consult the Research Guides for related information.

Thank you to Jim Bird, University of Maine and Janice Dysart, University of Missouri Columbia  for their many contributions to this guide.

cal

 

 

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter