Exercise Science Research Guide
Encyclopedias and
Reference Works | Find Books |
Find Articles
Web Sites |
Citing Sources
Encyclopedias and Reference Works
The reference collection in Pickler Memorial Library holds a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical sources and guide books for locating general information on topics in exercise science and sports. These sources are often a good place to begin your research, especially if your topic is unfamiliar to you. The sources listed below are a small representation of what is available. Go to the shelves labeled GV in the reference area to see the complete reference holdings in exercise science.
Directory
of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences
REF GV 706.4 D57 1996
Encyclopedia of Physical Education, Fitness and Sports
REF GV 567 E49
Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
GV 567 E56 1996
Encyclopedia of Sports Science
GV 558 E53 1997
Find Books
Truman State University Library Catalog is the online catalog of holdings available at Pickler Memorial Library. Use this to locate books and other materials available on topics related to sports and exercise science. It is best to begin with a keyword search and then do a narrower search using Library of Congress subject headings. For instance, starting off with keyword searches such as
college physical fitness programs
sports training
can lead to exact subject headings that allow you to do a more specific and accurate search on your topic
College Students--Health and Hygiene
Physical Education and Training
To expand your search beyond Pickler's holdings, use MOBIUS to search other academic libraries in Missouri. You may order books online and and pick them up from the circulation desk, usually within 3-4 working days. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty and staff.
WorldCat
A
catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You
can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within
two weeks. This service is available to current Truman
students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email. A
modified version of
WorldCat is also available for free.
Find Articles
Several databases and indexes (both online and print) are available for locating journal and magazine articles on topics in sports and exercise science. The online indexes, while more easily searchable, are often limited in the time periods they cover (many go back only to the early 1980s and some not even that far). Depending on your topic, it may be necessary to rely on print indexes (or a combination of print and electronic sources) to search for most of your articles. Many of the online indexes provide links to the full text of articles but in many cases you will need to look for the articles in bound copies or on microform. Use Truman's JournalFinder to determine the availability of journal and magazine holdings, both online and in print.
Sport Discus (EBSCO). Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS). Includes over 650,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.
Kinesiology Publications. 1949+ (Previously known as Microform Reproductions of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Exercise and Sports Science; Microforms Publication Bulletin; and Kinesiology Abstracts; all published at the University of Oregon)
This is an index to theses in exercise science. Pickler Library has the
actual theses on
microfiche. It is
called Health, Physical Education and Recreation.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center). 1966+
Also available through
the Web through the web on AskERIC,
free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of
journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc.
It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC
Documents 1993+ are available online through the ERIC
Document Reproduction Service. Documents before 1993 are on
microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
MEDLINE, 1965+
Also available on the Web through PubMed,
the NLM free public site.
Indexes more than 3,500 journals published internationally in all fields of
medicine. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Completed Research in Health, Physical Education,
Recreation, and Dance. 1959-1994.
Print: General
Collection GV 1 C64
This compilation lists masters theses and dissertations in
the areas of health, physical education, recreation and dance. The library has
many of the master theses and dissertations in the
microfiche collection for health, physical education and recreation.
Physical Education Index. 1967-1997
Print: General Collection GV 341 P490
Provides indexing for periodical articles in the areas of
dance, health, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, sports, sports
medicine, kinesiology (including biomechanics), coaching, facilities,
measurement and evaluation, motor learning, perception, fitness, sports
psychology and sociology, training.
Web Links
AAHPERD---American
Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. Includes
links to other AAHPERD associations
Biomechanics
World Wide---University of Alberta, Canada
NetSweat: Online Guide to Fitness
National
Athletic Trainers Association
Official Website of the Olympic Movement
Scholarly Sports Sites
--- Library, University of Calgary.
SIRC
Sports Reference.com
Sportscience ---Peer-reviewed
site for sport research
USOC
Online ---The United States Olympic Committee. Includes an online
library for information on the Olympics, sports of all kinds, sports medicine,
nutrition, etc.
Women's Sports Foundation
Citing Sources
Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact the reference librarian for exercise
science.
Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Exercise Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu
cal