Library Web Home

FELLOWSHIPS AND SCHOLARSHIPS

A Guide to Resources in Pickler Memorial Library

 

BACK TO COLLEGE

Resource center for re-entry and nontraditional students, with lots of information about everything from choosing a college to using academic reference materials. Financial aid, foreign study, internships, online degrees, life experience credit, counseling - it's all here. http://www.back2college.com 

COLLEGE BLUE BOOK: SCHOLARSHIPS, FELLOWSHIPS, GRANTS & LOANS.    
        (Ref LA 226 C685)

           List of agencies and organizations which are committed to funding students'
           undergraduate and graduate education. Includes for each award:
           eligibility, application information, level of education, amount of award, etc.

COLLEGE STUDENT’S GUIDE TO MERIT AND OTHER NO-NEED FUNDING.
            (Ref LB 2337.2 C64) 

DIRECTORY OF FINANCIAL AIDS FOR WOMEN.  (Ref LB 2338 D564)

Indexed by subject, geographical area, and sponsoring organization.

FAFSA (FREE APPLICATION FOR FEDERAL STUDENT AID) ONLINE
           (by US Dept of Education at http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/)

FASTWEB GATEWAY (http://www.fastWEB.com/)

            Scholarship and college guide.

FAFSA: FEDERAL SCHOOL CODE SEARCH

A searchable list of the school codes used to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). From the U.S. Department of Education. http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/fotw0405/fslookup.htm

FINAID! THE SMART STUDENT GUIDE TO FINANCIAL AID (http://www.finaid.org/)

 

 

FINANCIAL AID FOR RESEARCH AND CREATIVE ACTIVITIES ABROAD.
           (Ref LB 2337.2 F572)
 
            Provides descriptions of more than 1,700 funding opportunities open to
            Americans interested in research, study, travel, professional or other
            activities abroad.  High school, undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral
            professional levels of study are included. 

FINANCIAL AID FOR STUDY AND TRAINING ABROAD.  (Ref LB 2337.2 F576)

FINANCIAL AID FOR THE DISABLED AND THEIR FAMILIES.  (Ref  LB 2337.2 F58)

            A list of scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, and interships
            designed primarily or exclusively for the disabled and their families;
            state sources of  benefits, and reference sources on financial aid.

GovLoans.gov    

"Five federal agencies -- U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Department of Education, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, U.S. Small Business Administration, and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs -- have come together to create this single point of access for federal loan information on the Web." Browse or search for loans for farming, businesses, students, disaster relief, and more. Includes a glossary of loan terms and links to additional resources. http://govloans.gov/

HUMANITIES.  Published bimonthly by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Describes the NEH program, projects, and issues in the humanities.  Gives recent grants, deadlines, and useful information for applicants seeking funds.  (Current issues in Current Periodicals, old issues in Bound Periodicals LB 2301 H83) also on EBSCOhost

MONEY FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS IN THE ARTS AND HUMANITIES.  
         
(Ref LB 2337.2 M664)
 
MONEY FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS IN  THE BIOLOGICAL AND HEALTH  SCIENCES.  
          
(Ref LB 2337.2 M666)

MONEY FOR GRADUATE STUDENTS IN THE SOCIAL AND BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES
           (Ref LB 2337.2 M667)
           
A list of fellowships, grants, awards, loans, traineeships, and other funding programs,
            state sources, etc.

 

 

 

NATIONAL SECURITY EDUCATION PROGRAM (NSEP)      

The NSEP "seeks to lead in development of the national capacity to educate U.S. citizens, understand foreign cultures, strengthen U.S. economic competitiveness and enhance international cooperation and security." The site provides information and forms for applying for NSEP undergraduate scholarships, fellowships, and grants. Also includes information about the NSEP service requirement and a list of current grant recipients. From the Institute of International Education (IIE). http://www.iie.org/Template.cfm?&Template=/programs/nsep/default.htm 

PETERSON’S COLLEGE MONEY HANDBOOK.  (Ref LB 2337.2 C35)

This book gives a cost and aid profile for all accredited colleges and
            universities in the U.S. and U.S. Territories that offer 4 year
            baccalaureate degree programs.  It includes directories of
            colleges that offer non-needs scholarships for freshman; athletic
            grants; coop-programs; ROTC programs; guaranteed tuition
            or tuition prepayment plans.

SCHOLARSHIPS, FELLOWSHIPS AND LOANS.  (Ref LB 2338 S35)

Provides information on financial aid for the student who is completing high school, who is starting or is already
            enrolled in post-secondary education, who is a graduate student, a post-graduate student, a researcher, or a
            student of law, medicine, dentistry or veterinary medicine.

STUDENT AID ON THE WEB      

This site from the U.S. Department of Education's Federal Student Aid (FSA) program describes funding and loan repayment considerations relating to attending schools from elementary through graduate. Also find information about preparing for college, selecting a school, and applying to a program. Provides information for students, parents, and counselors. Available in English and Spanish. Searchable. http://studentaid.ed.gov/

STUDY ABROAD.  (Ref LB2338 S86)

UNITED NEGRO COLLEGE FUND (UNCF)      

Features information about the programs, scholarships, and member colleges of this "minority higher education assistance organization." Include a timeline of the organization, information about scholarships for students attending historically Black colleges and universities, and profiles of member colleges (browsable by name and discipline). http://www.uncf.org/

 

 cal

 

PLEASE ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK FOR HELP IN LOCATING THESE SOURCES.

PICKLER MEMORIAL LIBRARY-TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY           6/2006

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter