Library Web Home

Foreign Languages Research Guide

Language Research Guides    |  Find Books  |  Dictionaries    |  Videos
   Periodicals   |   Newspapers   |  Find Articles
  Web Sites  |    Citing Sources

Language Research Guides

Chinese Language Japanese Language
French Language Latin Language
German Language Portuguese Language
Greek Language Russian Language
Italian Language Spanish Language

Back to Top


Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

heroes and literature
china and commerce
italy and sports

Foreign-Language Books
Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples for foreign languages.  Each link performs the subject search in Truman's Library Catalog.

Chinese Books Greek Books Latin Books
French Books Italian Books Russian Books
German Books Japanese Books   Spanish Books


If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Foreign-Language Dictionaries:
Many language dictionaries are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional copies, which may be checked out, are kept in the General Collection on the third floor. To find bilingual dictionaries (e.g., a Spanish-English dictionary) in the Library catalog, click on the links below to get the call numbers for bilingual dictionaries in our library.

Chinese Dictionaries Italian Dictionaries Portuguese
French Dictionaries Japanese Dictionaries Russian Dictionaries
German Dictionaries Latin Dictionaries Spanish Dictionaries
Greek Dictionaries Old English  

Le Grand Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise. CD-ROM workstation across from Reference Desk.
Online Dictionaries and Translators
YourDictionary.com - Enter a term in the dictionary/thesaurus look-up box for English or use the word translator and type in a word and select from English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish.

 

Videos/DVDs by Language.  Pickler Memorial Library has a number of videos in different languages.

Chinese Greek Latin
French Italian Russian
German Japanese Spanish

 

Back to Top

Foreign Language Periodicals.  Pickler Memorial Library subscribes to the following foreign periodicals.

Chinese Greek Latin
French Italian Russian
German Japanese Spanish

International Newspapers in Print.   Pickler Memorial Library subscribes to the following international print newspapers:

 Chinese

French

German

Italian

Russian

Spanish

People's Daily  Le Devoir Süddeutsche Zeitung  Corriere Della Sera   Literaturnaia Gazeta Diario las Américas
Taiwan Journal Liberation     Moskovskie Novosti  El Pais
World Journal East Le Monde         


Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles. You can limit your searches by the following languages: Chinese,  Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Swedish, and Ukrainian. 

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

ARTFL Project, years of coverage varies
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) - authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.  You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.   Coverage: Click here to show journal list.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

L'Ane Philologique Online. Database published by the Société Internationale de
Bibliographie Classique covering volumes 30 to 73 with more than 480,000 bibliographic records.

Arts and Humanities Search  1980+
Indexing of 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.  Citation Index allows searching of bibliographies.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle ages & Renaissance
A bibliography of articles from selected interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), years vary by journal title.

JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection.

LexisNexis-A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news.

Project MUSE. - Truman campus has access to the Basic Undergraduate Collection of Project Muse journals

Back to Top


Web Sites:                      
 

                                 General       |     Associations     |    University Hosted Projects

General


Center for Applied Linguistics - a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
CESAR - details of the plays, people and performance spaces that graced French theatre during the 17th and 18th centuries, from the dawn of the age of public playhouses to the French Revolution
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature -
Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English
Ethnologue---
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Foreign Language and Culture Page offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.
iLoveLanguages is a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.
radio-locator - A list of radio stations on the internet
Modern Language Association Language Map -
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
Old English Pages

Word Reference.com - Superior translation dictionaries for French, Italian, and Spanish



 

Associations

American Association of Teachers of French
American Association of Teachers of German
American Association of Teachers of Italian
American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese
American Classical League
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
American Translators Association
International Language Testing Association (ILTA)
Modern Language Association (MLA)



University Hosted Projects

Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition at the University of Minnesota
Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University
Language Acquisition Resource Center at San Diego State University
National Capital Language Resource Center
NFLRC at the University of Hawaii

UCLA Language Materials Project provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.
Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon - guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.

 

Back to Top

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
 

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Language and Literature.

Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu

Back to Top

dr

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter