Library Web Home

French Language Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.  |   Find Books   |    Videos     |   Periodicals
 Find Articles   |    Web Sites  |    Citing Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue française. General Collection PC2580 .B55 2002
Encyclopedia of contemporary French culture.  Reference DC33.7 .E53 1998
Guide to French literature.  Reference PQ 41 L48 1992
Oxford-Hachette French desk dictionary.   Reference PC2640 .O937 1996
The new Oxford companion to literature in French.  Reference PQ41 .N49 1995

Foreign-Language Dictionaries:
Many language dictionaries are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional copies, which may be checked out, are kept in the General Collection on the third floor. To find bilingual dictionaries (e.g., a French-English dictionary) in the Library catalog, click on the link below to get the call numbers for bilingual dictionaries in our library.

French Language Dictionaries in Pickler Memorial Library
Le Grand Robert: Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue Francaise
. CD-ROM workstation across from Reference Desk.
Online Dictionaries and Translators
YourDictionary.com - Enter a term in the dictionary/thesaurus look-up box for English or use the word translator and type in a word and select from English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish.
Free on-line French Dictionary

Back to Top


Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

                nationalism and art
                popular culture and france
                france and social conditions

Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples for foreign languages.  Each link performs the subject search in Truman's Library Catalog.

                France - Civilization
                Painting, French - 19th Century
                French Literature -- History And Criticism.

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.


French Language Books in Pickler Memorial Library

French Language Videos/DVDs in Pickler Memorial Library

Back to Top

French Periodicals

Actualite Current 5 years News magazine
Archive for history of exact sciences 1997-date Per Q125 A75
Artibus et historiae  1980-2002 JSTOR
Canadian journal of African studies 1967-2000 JSTOR
Canadian journal of behavioural science 1998+ online through Ovid
Canadian journal of experimental psychology 1998+ online through Ovid
Canadian journal of political science 1968-2000 JSTOR
Canadian journal of zoology 1991-date Per QL1 .N1532 
Canadian modern language review 2004+ Project Muse
Chatelaine Current 5 years News magazine
Contemporary French and francophone studies 2004-date PER DC33.9 S572
L'Express 1975-date  Per AP20 .E92632
France-Amerique Current 6 months  
French cultural studies 1998-date PER DC415 F746
French historical studies 1958-1999 JSTOR
French historical studies 1996-date Per DC 1 F 69
French review 1970-1982 JSTOR
International nursing review 1985-date PER RT1 I68
International review of the aesthetics and sociology of music 1970-2000 JSTOR
IRAL, international review of applied linguistics in language teaching 1986-date PER P1 A1 I7
Journal of French Language studies 1991-2006 Per PC 2001 J68
Journal of the international Folk Music Council 1949-1968 JSTOR
Numen 1966-date Per BL1 N8
Oriens 1948-2001 JSTOR
Pacific Coast philology 1966-1999 JSTOR
Phronesis 1988-date Per B 1 P 59
Revue de musicologie 1922-1998 JSTOR
Revue historique 1951-date PER D1 R6
RLC 1989-date Per PN851 R42
Sites 1999-2003 Per DC 33.9 S57
Studia Musicologica 1961-1999 JSTOR
Swiss journal of psychology 2005+ online through Ovid
Yale French studies 1948-2002 JSTOR
Devoir Current  Newspaper
Liberation Current  Newspaper
Monde Current  Newspaper


Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles. You can limit your searches by the following languages: Chinese,  Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Swedish, and Ukrainian. 

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

Persée - Established by the ministère de l'éducation nationale, Persée provides full-text access to the back files of French journals in the social and human sciences.  The interface is available in both French and English.

Revues.orgFull-text access to French journals in the social and human sciences.  It is possible to search all journals or a specific title.

ARTFL Project, years of coverage varies
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.   Coverage: Click here to show journal list.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

L'Ane Philologique Online. Database published by the Société Internationale de
Bibliographie Classique covering volumes 30 to 73 with more than 480,000 bibliographic records.

Arts and Humanities Search  1980+
Indexing of 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.  Citation Index allows searching of bibliographies.

JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, & IV collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.

LexisNexis-A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).

Project MUSE. - Truman campus has access to the Basic Undergraduate Collection of Project Muse journals  There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

Back to Top


Web Sites:                      
 

                                 General       |     Associations     |    University Hosted Projects

General


ABU: La Bibliothèque Universelle - a digital library of French texts in the public domain.  It includes 288 texts by 101 authors.  Access to specific works is available through a keyword search as well as alphabetical author and title indexes.
Athena - Provides full-text access to works in French by French and Francophone authors, and translations of foreign works into French.
Center for Applied Linguistics - a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
CESAR - details of the plays, people and performance spaces that graced French theatre during the 17th and 18th centuries, from the dawn of the age of public playhouses to the French Revolution
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature -
Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English
Ethnologue---
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Foreign Language and Culture Page offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.
French Studies Web - Links to reference tools on the Web that provide information about France and French culture
Gallica (Bibliothèque Nationale de France) - access to 90,000 texts and hours of audio files, covering a time period ranging from the Middle Ages to the 19th century
iLoveLanguages is a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.
Learn French - Language Learning Library
Portals to the World - France - links to Web sites covering a wide range of subject areas (maintained by the Library of Congress)
Le Quartier français du village planétaire - A gateway to news sites, museums, government information, reference tools, and cultural topics.
radio-locator - A list of radio stations on the internet
Modern Language Association Language Map -
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
Word Reference.com
- Superior translation dictionaries for French, Italian, and Spanish
 

Associations

American Association of Teachers of French
American Classical League
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
American Translators Association
International Language Testing Association (ILTA)
Modern Language Association (MLA)



University Hosted Projects

Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition at the University of Minnesota
Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University
Language Acquisition Resource Center at San Diego State University
National Capital Language Resource Center
NFLRC at the University of Hawaii

UCLA Language Materials Project provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.
Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon - guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.

 

Back to Top

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
 

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Language and Literature.

Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu

Back to Top

 

 

 

 


 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter