General Science Research Guide
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. |
Quick Facts | Find Books |
Find Articles | Web
Sites |
Open Access
Publications | Find People |
Current
Discussions | Citing Sources
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
Check the
Truman State University Library Catalog
for encyclopedias and dictionaries. For example, see the
following keyword searches:
encyclopedia* and human biology
dictionar* and chemistry
Quick Facts
American Institute of Physics Handbook Reference QC 61 .A5 1972
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Reference QD 65 .H3
New York Public Library Science Desk Reference Reference Q 173 B25 1995
Scientific American Science Desk Reference Reference Q 173 S427 1999
How Many? A Dictionary of Units of Measure
Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures. Reference QC 94 C295 2003
Find Books
Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books on biology. It is a catalog for finding books, journals and other materials owned by Pickler Library. Because biology is so diverse, you should use keyword searching to combine terms. For example, see the following keyword searches:
insects and flight
pollution and carbon
plants and fire
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your
search in MOBIUS to
find books in other libraries in Missouri. You can order books
online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.
This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and
staff who will be notified by email.
WorldCat
A
catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You
can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within
two weeks. This service is available to current Truman
students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email. A
modified version of
WorldCat is also available for free.
Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every
American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes
many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts
from Masters Abstracts. Coverage is 1861 to date
Truman Masters Theses - Biology
This is a link to the
Truman State University Library Catalog catalog record for a biology theses. All
Truman Masters Theses are available online at
Current
Research by author, title and faculty
advisor from 1997+.
Find Articles
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
EBSCOHost. Includes MasterFILE Elite (over 1,100 full text periodicals), Academic Search Elite (over 1,500 full text journals), Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (over 500 full text journals), and many others.
General Science Abstracts, 1984+
In print 1978/79-1995/96: General Collection Q 158.5 G45
Indexes and abstracts about 160 popular scientific journals. English
language only.
Google Scholar - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references. Free site.
JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection.
Science.gov Searches selected websites databases, technical reports, journal articles and other published materials.
Web Sites
Comprehensive Sites | Associations | Government Agencies/Resources
Comprehensive Sites
INFOMINE Gateway developed by the University of California covering over 2,000 scholarly Internet resources.
SciCentral Gateway to the best science and engineering online resources.
Science.gov - a catalog of government science and technology Web sites from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Searches selected websites databases, technical reports, journal articles and other published materials.
American Association for the Advancement of Science
Science.gov Searches selected websites databases, technical reports, journal articles and other published materials.
Find People
For biographies and biographical dictionaries about scientists consult the following subject headings in Truman State University Library Catalog:
African American scientists.
African American women scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Scientists -- Biography -- Indexes.
Scientists -- Canada -- Biography.
Scientists -- United States -- Biography.
Women life scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Eric
Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name
or discipline.
Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Includes biographical information and bibliographies.
ISIHighlyCited.com
ISI site which lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.
Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search
by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
Nobelprize.org
Provides extensive information on Nobel laureates including interviews.
Nobel Prize Internet
Archive
Provides information and Web links on all Nobel prize winners.
Current Research & Discussions
Current Research Information System
A searchable database of U.S. Department of
Agriculture funded research. Search by keyword, investigator, agency,
institution, state, and project status and type. Many records include a list of
publications resulting from the research. Free to the public.
Scientific Meetings
Newswise Calendar of Scientific Meetings
Science News
EurekAlert!
News site sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement
of Science.
Sci-Bytes
A what's new in research site sponsored by ISI. Includes hot papers and journal
rankings in selected fields.
Science
News - New York Times - the Tuesday science section of the New
York Times.
The Scientist
Biweekly news journal for life scientists.
Citing Sources
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.
Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu