Geology Research Guide
Encyclopedias,
Dictionaries, etc. | Quick Facts |
Find
Books | Find Articles |
Web Sites |
Open Access
Publications | Atlases/Maps | Find People |
Current Discussions |
Citing
Sources
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
Encyclopedia of earth science Reference QE 5 E5137 1996
Encyclopedia of paleontology Reference QE 703 E23 1999
Encyclopedia of volcanoes Reference QE 522 E53 2000.
A Dictionary of quaternary acronyms and abbreviations - contains over 950 acronyms and abbreviations.
Global change master directory list of earth science acronyms, glossaries and gazetteers
Glossary of geology Reference QE 5 B38 1997
Sciences of the earth: an encyclopedia of events, people and phenomena. General Collection QE 11 S38 1998
Quick Facts
Audubon Society field guide to North American fossils General Collection QE 718 T5 1982
CRC Handbook of physical properties of rocks and minerals General CollectionQE 431.6 P5 P73 1989
Gem: their sources, descriptions and identification General Collection QE 392 W37 1983
Mineralogy database
Contains almost 4,000 mineral descriptions with information about physical
and optical properties, chemical formulaes, classification (Dana and
Strunz), and crystal form.
United States Geological Survey (USGS) Earthquake Information
World Glacier Inventory
Collected and digitized by the World Glacier Monitoring Service,
Zurich.
World reference base for soil resources. 1998. International Society of Soil Science (ISSS), International Soil Reference and Information Centre (ISRIC), Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations
Find Books
Check the Truman State University Library Catalog for books in geology. It is a catalog for finding books, journals and other materials owned by Pickler Library. Because geology is so diverse, you should use keyword searching to combine terms. For example, see the following keyword searches:
earthquakes and Missouri
geomorphology and tectonics
plants and geology
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your
search in MOBIUS to
find books in other libraries in Missouri. You can order books
online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.
This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and
staff who will be notified by email.
WorldCat
A
catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You
can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within
two weeks. This service is available to current Truman
students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email. A
modified version of
WorldCat is also available for free.
Dissertations
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every
American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes
many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts
from Masters Abstracts. Coverage is 1861 to date.
U.S.Geological Survey Library: Online Catalog
Search the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) library catalog by author,
title, subject, keyword, or number. Free site.
Find Articles
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
Science.gov Searches selected websites databases, technical
reports, journal
articles and other published
materials. Free site.
General Science Abstracts 1984+ In print 1978/79-1995/96: General Collection Q 158.5 G45. Indexes and abstracts about 135 popular scientific journals. English language only.
Geological Society of America - Search the
Journals
A searchable database of citations from articles in the following three
GSA publications: Geology (1973-2000), GSA Bulletin (1972-2000), and GSA
Today (1991-2000). Free site.
Covers the worldwide research literature on physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology and related disciplines.
GeoRef preview
database
Also made available through the
American Geological Institute, this
database allows users to preview records before they are input into the
GeoRef database. It is updated weekly with records in various forms of
completeness. Completed records are added to the GeoRef database. Free
site.
GEOSCAN Database
A bibliographic database of over 40,000 records, most of which are
Geological Survey of
Canada publications. Searchable by title, author, and subject, area.
Searches can be limited by province. Free site.
Google Scholar - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references. Free site.
Index of USGS web servers
A complete linked list of USGS web servers. Free site.
Ingenta
A table of contents database indexing over 26,000 journals across many
disciplines including the geological sciences. Searchable by title key
word, journal title, and author (up to 3 authors listed - first two and
last). Free site
JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection.
U.S.Geological Survey Library: Online Catalog
Search the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) library catalog by author,
title, subject, keyword, or number. Free site.
Web Sites
Comprehensive Sites | Associations | Government Agencies/Resources
Atlas of Rocks, Minerals, and TexturesHydrology Web
Links for mineralogists
National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) marine geology inventory (GEOLIN)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Paleoclimatology - a central resource for information, research and data on climatic conditions prior to the avilability of instrumental data.
Science.gov - a catalog of government science and technology Web sites from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library
Mineralogy and Petrology Research on the Web
Resources of scholarly societies - Earth sciences.
Geologic information
Earthquake Hazards Program
Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Data Center: Earth resources observation systems - satellite images, aerial photographs, and digital maps recording land-surface phenomena. It is the largest archive of such images in the world.
Minerals theme
Mineral resources program
Spectroscopy Lab
Volcano Hazards Program
Atlases/Maps
Color landform atlas of the United States
EROS Data Center: Earth resources
observation systems - satellite images, aerial photographs, and
digital maps recording land-surface phenomena. It is the
largest archive of such images in the world.
INFOMINE
A tapestry of time and
terrain: The union of two maps - geology and topology.
Find People
For biographies and biographical dictionaries about scientists consult the following subject headings in Truman State University Library Catalog:
African American scientists.
African American women scientists -- Biography.
Geologists.
Scientists -- Biography.
Scientists -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Scientists -- Biography -- Indexes.
Scientists -- Canada -- Biography.
Scientists -- United States -- Biography.
Eric
Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name
or discipline.
Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences
Includes biographical information and bibliographies.
ISIHighlyCited.com
ISI site which lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.
Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search
by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
Nobelprize.org
Provides extensive information on Nobel laureates including interviews.
Nobel Prize Internet
Archive
Provides information and Web links on all Nobel prize winners.
Current Discussions
Scientific Meetings
Newswise Calendar of Scientific Meetings
Science News
Globalchange.gov
- government-funded, high-quality data directly related to global
change.
EurekAlert!
News site sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement
of Science.
Sci-Bytes
A what's new in research site sponsored by ISI. Includes hot papers and journal
rankings in selected fields.
Science
News - New York Times - the Tuesday science section of the New
York Times.
The Scientist
Biweekly news journal for life scientists.
Citing Sources
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact the Reference Librarian for Science.
Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Science
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu
cal