Location information:
Reference -- First Floor
Periodicals (bound and current) -- First Floor
General Collection A-K -- Second Floor
General Collection L-Z -- Third Floor
Special Collections -- Third Floor
Encyclopedias,
Dictionaries etc.
| Find Books |
Find Articles |
Web Sites |
Citing Sources | Help
Location information:
Reference -- First Floor
Periodicals (bound and current) -- First Floor
General Collection A-K -- Second Floor
General Collection L-Z -- Third Floor
Special Collections -- Third Floor
Encyclopedia
Americana
Reference: Table D (1999)
General Collection: AE 5 .E333 (1994)
Third Floor Reference, Room 308 (1997)
Academic American Encyclopedia
Reference: Table D (1996)
Encyclopedia of Associations
Reference HS 17 G334 (latest edition)
Subject Encyclopedias
These can be helpful for obtaining an overview of a
subject and related topics. Often an entry in an encyclopedia
will contain a list of references which can lead you to more sources
on that topic.
Here are some that we have:
Cassell's
Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol and Spirit: Gay, Lesbian,
Bisexual and Transgender Lore. Reference BL 795 .H6
C65 1997
Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 9 H846 1994
The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United States. General Collection and Reference HQ18.U5 S59 1994
Gay Histories and Cultures: an Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.15 .E63 2000
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: an Encyclopedia. Reference HQ 75.15 .E63 2000
Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia General Collection HQ 76.2 .U5 H65 1999
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality. Reference HQ 76.25 E53 1990
Sexuality and the Law: An Encyclopedia of Major Legal Cases. Reference KF 9325 .A7L46 1993
Subject Dictionaries
Historical
Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement. Reference
HQ 76.5 .H86 1999
There are several types of searches you can do in the
library catalog
to locate books. Since GLBT studies is interdisciplinary, you
will find books under many different subject headings. Begin
with some basic keyword searches, combining a few terms that
relate to your topic, for example:
sexual orientation AND psychology
homosexuality AND literature
homosexuality AND marriage and (polic* or law*)
Results from your keyword searches will help you identify appropriate subject headings that you can search under. These can help you get even more relevant books on your specific topic. Listed below are a few subject headings designated by the Library of Congress that you can search under in our catalog:
bisexuality
gay and lesbian studies United States
gender identity
homosexuality
sexual orientation
transsexualism
lesbianism
To find other formats:
After doing a keyword search, you can further limit your results by choosing the
Modify Search button at the top of the screen display. In the
"Material Format" menu you will find several formats to search, for example
Video/Films, Spoken Audio, etc. When searching by subject, you
can choose the Limit/Sort option to locate these different formats.
If you are looking for articles from either popular magazines or scholarly
journals, you will need to use a periodical index.
Once you have a list of citations to articles that you are interested in,
you need to check
the catalog
to see if we have the periodical and to obtain its call number. In most of
our online databases (indexes), however, you can seamlessly link to our catalog
and retrieve the call number & location information, without exiting the
database you are searching in. And even more conveniently, there
will be cases where you can link to the full text of a journal article directly
from the database (index) in which you locate citations. Several databases
are listed below.
Social Sciences Abstracts
1983+
In print under various titles 1907-1996: Reference AI 3 S6
Covers about 550 journals in the areas of anthropology, area studies, community
health and medical care, criminal justice, economics, geography, international
relations, law, political science, psychology, social work and public welfare,
sociology, and related topics.
SocIndex with Full Text. A comprehensive sociology
research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over
400 journals dating back to 1908. Also contains full text for more than
700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.
Contains summaries of the periodical literature in sociology and related
disciplines. It is compiled from the material published in Sociological
Abstracts. This database covers over 1900 journals in 28 different languages.
PsycInfo
1887+
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO contains
summaries of the world's literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Over 9,000 sources indexed including scholarly journal articles, books and book
chapters, dissertations and reports.
Full-text Databases for Magazine, Journal
& Newspaper
Articles
EbscoHost
Various dates. Includes Advocate, the national gay & lesbian
news magazine, full text from 1996+
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper articles from many regional, national and international
papers
Pickler Memorial Library also subscribes to
a couple of full text journal collections:
J-STOR
Project MUSE
These collections are searched differently from online periodical indexes, so be sure to ask for assistance at the Reference Desk if you need assistance with them.
Laws, Court Cases, Law Reviews and
Government
Publications
LexisNexis Academic
US Code, Federal regulations, state laws, federal and state cases, and law
reviews.
LexisNexis Congressional
Use for finding public laws (1988+), Congressional bills, and legislative
histories.
Pickler Library has complete collection of United States Statutes at Large
in print and microform. Check the catalog for location, call number and format.
Thomas US Congress legislative information Web site, including
public laws (1973+) and bills.
GPO Access Gateway to US
government publication on the Internet.
State and Local Government on the Net
Collection of state government Web sites. Could be useful for finding state
laws.
Gay and Lesbian Associations, Organizations
Center for Lesbian and Gay
Studies
Family Pride Coalition
Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education
Network
Gay Lesbian Alliance Against
Defamation
International Gay and Lesbian Human
Rights Commission
International Gay and Lesbian Review
Lesbian Resource Center
National Gay and Lesbian Task
Force
For a more comprehensive list of organizations/associations, check the Encyclopedia of Associations in Reference, HS 17 G334.
College Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Offices/Resource
Centers
Marshall University
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual Outreach
NYU Office of LGBT Student
Services
Research Centers and Other Web Sites
ACTUP (AIDS
Coalition to Unleash Power) Oral History Project--"ACT-UP
revolutionized gay politics, giving new and forceful meaning to the
slogan 'out of the closets and into the streets.' . .Filmmaker Jim
Hubbard and novelist and essayist Sarah Schulman have created a Web
site of oral histories of individuals who participated in this
significant political movement. . .ACT-UP was among the first
organization to reflect the tremendous diversity of the GLBT
community, and the oral histories available on this Web site reflect
that diversity. . .Highly recommended." E. Broidy,
University of California, Los Angeles. CHOICE Reviews,
October, 2004.
Answers to Your
Questions About Sexual Orientation and Homosexuality-- From
the American Psychological Association.
Gay/Lesbian Politics
and Law---Comprehensive collection of Internet resources at
Indiana University
GenderNet--Part
of the World Bank's extensive Web site. . .The site not only offers
a variety of reports and documents on women across the world, it
provides access to unique and comprehensive data sets--an
instructional treasure hous--compiled from national statistics,
United Nations information, and surveys only the Bank has been in a
position to undertake. . .Recommended." N.B. Rosenthal,
SUNY at Stoney Brook. CHOICE Special Issue, v. 41 (2004).
Gerber Hart Library Archives
-Chicago
(with many links to other gay/lesbian/bisexual collections)
Lesbian Herstory
Archives--
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives of New York
City, the largest and oldest Lesbian archive in the world, began in
1973 as an outgrowth of a Lesbian consciousness-raising group
at the Gay Academic Union. The founders were concerned about the
failure of mainstream publishers, libraries, archives, and research
institutions to value Lesbian culture. It became obvious that the
only way to insure the preservation of Lesbian culture and history
was to establish an independent archives governed by Lesbians." From
the "History of the LHA" page:
http://www.lesbianherstoryarchives.org/about.htm#HISTORY
ONE National Gay and
Lesbian Archives
The Other Queer Page.
Comprehensive list of of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender
resources.
People With a
History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans*
History--Dr. Paul Halsall, editor, Internet History
Sourcebooks Project, Fordham University.
CITING SOURCES
There are several style manuals available in the library:
Chicago/Turabian Style
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
General Collection LB 2369 .T8 1996
Reference LB 2369 .T8 1996APA Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
General Collection BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reserve BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001MLA Style
MLA
Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
General Collection LB 2396 .G53 2003
Reserve LB 2369 .G53
Reference LB 2369 .G53 2003
For additional style guides
and information on citing Web sites and other electronic
sources, click
here.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660) 785-4051 or contact the Reference Librarian for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgendered Studies:
Lisa M. Glaubitz, Reference Librarian
(660) 785-7412
glaubitz@truman.edu
lmg