Library Web Home

Grants Research Guide

General Grant Sources | Grant Sources by Subject Writing Grants | Grants News Sources |       
        Print Publications about Grants

General Grant Sources

Truman State University Office of Grants and Foundation Relations   http://grants.truman.edu
This page has a lot of good information about grant sources, how to write a grant, and information about doing research on human subjects.

Carnegie Corporation of New York    http://www.carnegie.org - Four current program areas are: Education, International Peace, International Development; and Strengthening the U. S. Democracy. 

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance  - the primary catalog for federal government grants.

Chronicle of Higher Education    http://chronicle.com/free/grants/ - look under the  Features section on Grants and Fellowships.

Foundation Center   http://fdncenter.org - This comprehensive site has: a Foundation Finder, for finding basic information about foundations; Sector Search which looks for grant makers in private, corporate, community, non-profit, government and public charities; news about grants including the Philanthropy News Digest, and the Foundation Directory Online (although to search the Foundation Directory Online you need assistance from the Truman State University Office of Grants and Foundation Relations 660-785-7459.)

Grant Advisor    http://www.grantadvisor.com/tgaplus - a newsletter in Acrobat PDF format, database searches, deadline listings with extensive hyperlinks by discipline.
 
Grants.gov    http://www.grants.gov - the electronic storefront for Federal grants
 
GrantsNet    http://www.grantsnet.org - for funds for training in the sciences and undergraduate science education. Free, but must sign up for password.

National Science Foundation-Finding Funding   http://www.nsf.gov/funding  -
 announces key dates on which grant proposals are due at NSF for the current 4 months. Biological sciences; computer science; information science; engineering; education; human resources; geoscience; integrative activities; polar programs; mathematics; physical sciences; social, behavioral and economic sciences; and international programs are included.
 
ED.gov     http://www.ed.gov/fund/landing.jhtml?src=rt  - The U.S. Department of Education is providing money to help strengthen teaching and learning in colleges and other postsecondary institutions; and  to support rehabilitation, research and development, statistics, and assessment.
 
Federal Register   http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html - the official U.S. government publication of regulations, proposed rules and legal notices issued by federal agencies and federal grants information may be found here.
 
IRIS Searchable Databases - University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign  http://www.library.uiuc.edu/iris/

The IRIS Database currently contains over 8,600 active federal and private funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to funding opportunities for faculty, the IRIS Database also contains fellowships and scholarships for grad students and undergrads. Users can search IRIS by sponsor, deadline date, keyword, and other criteria. Most IRIS records contain live links to sponsor Web sites, electronic forms, or Electronic Research Administration (eRA) portals. The IRIS Database is updated daily.
 
National Institutes of Health Grants and Funding Opportunities    http://grants1.nih.gov/grants/
 
Grant Sources by Subject
 
Grants By Subject or Geographic Area   http://www.proposalwriter.com/grantsubjects.html - from Deborah Kluge, a professional proposal writer.
Grants for Non-Profits   http://www.lib.msu.edu/harris23/grants/2sgalpha.htm - a subject listing of grant resources by Jon Harrison of Michigan State University
 
Writing Grants
 
Developing and Writing Grant Proposals  http://12.46.245.173/pls/portal30/CATALOG.GRANT_PROPOSAL_DYN.show  - from the Catalog of  Federal Domestic Assistance

EPA Grant-Writing Tutorial   http://danpatch.ecn.purdue.edu/~epados/grants/src/grant.htm  - Produced by the Environmental Protection Agency and Purdue University this site is intended to help with the process and paperwork of applying for a grant -- especially a Federal grant. Included are a number of tips on structure, requirements, links to forms, examples, resources, and a tutorial program.

Guide for Writing a Funding Proposal   - http://www.learnerassociates.net/proposal/  by S. Joseph Levine - has a nice example of a completed grant proposal.

Non-Profit Guides: Grant Writing Tools for Non-Profit Organizations  http://www.npguides.org   -
An overview of grant writing, with sample proposal summaries, inquiry letters, cover letters, and applications. The site is "specifically designed to assist established, experienced private and public non-profit organizations and entities. The guides will not assist individuals or start-up organizations.

A Proposal Writing Short Course. http://fdncenter.org/learn/shortcourse/prop1.html  - by The Foundation Center, this site offers excellent tips and strategies for grant writing.

What do Winning Proposals have in Common http://teacher.scholastic.com/professional/grants/WinningProposals.htm  - by Gary Carnow - ten of the common elements found in winning proposals.

Grants News Sources

Chronicle of Philanthrophy   http://philanthropy.com/ - a newspaper for the nonprofit world.

Foundation Center Literature of the Non-Profit Sector    http://lnps.fdncenter.org  - is a searchable database of the literature of philanthropy. It incorporates the unique contents of the Foundation Center's five libraries and contains more than 22,615 full bibliographic citations, of which more than 15,140 have descriptive abstracts. It is updated daily.

Philanthropy News Digest   http://fdncenter.org/pnd/news/index.jhtml  - a newsletter from  the Foundation Center. 

Print Publications about Grant Support

Annual Register of Grant Support: A Directory of Funding Sources.
Reference AS 911 A2 A67  2001

Bauer, David G. The "How to" Grants Manual: Successful Grant seeking Techniques for Obtaining Public and Private Grants.  General Collection  HG 177 B38 2003

Corporate Giving Directory: Comprehensive Profiles and Analyses of Major American Corporate Philanthropic Programs.  Reference HV 97 A3 T29 2003

Directory of Missouri Grantmakers.  Reference HG 4028 C6 D58 2003-2004

Directory of Research Grants.  Reference LB 2338 D57 2003

Financial Aid for Research and Creative Activities Abroad.  Reference LB 2337.2 F572 2002-2004

Foundation Directory  Reference AS 911.A2 F65 2003. - information on nation's 10,000 largest grant making foundations. Arranged alphabetically by state then foundation name.  Includes financial information of latest year; funding interests; officers and trustees.

Foundation 1000. Reference HV 97 F65 F67 2000/2001 - in depth profiles of the 1000 largest U.S. foundations.

Foundation Reporter:  Comprehensive Profiles and Analyses of America's Private Foundations.  Reference HV 97 A3 T323 2003 - Gives lengthy profiles of 500 of America's largest foundations including: names, addresses, due dates, fiscal and historical information, areas of interest, application procedures.  Six indexes are by: state, grant, fields of interest, individuals by name, place of birth and alma mater. 



 


Kight, Dawn Ventress and Bradford Perry. " Grant resources on the Web: Where to look when you need funding." C&RL News  60.7 (July/August 1999) 20 May, 2004 <http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues1999/julyaugust4/grantresources.htm>.

 

cal

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter