Health, Nursing & Medicine Research Guide
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. |
Find Books
| Find Articles
Web Sites |
Statistics |
Citing Sources
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
Encyclopedia of Public Health. 4 vols. Reference RA
423 E53 2002
Gale
Encyclopedia of Medicine. 5 vols. Reference RC 41
G35 1999
Gale
Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health. 5 vols.
Reference rT 21 G353 2002
Medterms.com---Online medical
dictionary edited by U.S. board-certified physicians
Find Books
nursing and ethics
leukemia and treatment
If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days. This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.
WorldCat
A
catalog of books, serials, Web resources and other materials worldwide. You
can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within
two weeks. This service is available to current Truman
students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email. A
modified version of
WorldCat is also available for free.
Dissertation Abstracts*
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every
American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes
many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations from Europe and abstracts
from Masters Abstracts. Coverage is 1861 to date
Find Articles
Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.
MEDLINE, 1965+
On the Web through
FirstSearch
On the Web through
PubMed, the NLM
free public site.
Indexes more than 3,500 journals published internationally in all
fields of medicine. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Click
here to show journal list.
EBSCOhost databases of particular use for health and
medicine are:
Cumulative
Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL).
1983+
In print 1977-1997:
General Collection RT 41 C842
Contains indexing and abstracts for over over 1700 current nursing
and health journals. Also provides access to Pre-CINAHL, a
companion database featuring rotating bibliographic information
about new journal articles as they are being assigned indexed.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition. Provides nearly
540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical
disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570
journals.
Health Source: Consumer Edition. Information on many health
topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition,
childcare, sports medicine and general health. Searchable full text
for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s
Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general
health, nutrition and professional health care publications.
Alt
Healthwatch. 1990+. Alternative health database with
full text coverage for more than 140 publications.
BioMed Central.
Over 100 open access journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
Free.
General Science Abstracts, 1984+
Contains citations from more than 150 journals and magazines from
the U.S. and Great Britain, covering anthropology, astronomy,
biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine and health, physics and
more. Click
here to show journal list.
Google Scholar - scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references. Free site.
HighWire Free Online Full-text Articles. The
largest repository of free full-text life science articles, with
more than 600,000 free articles online. From Stanford
University Libraries.
PubMed Central
Database of about 50 free online medical journals, searchable by
keyword.
Sport
Discus (EBSCO). Comprehensive coverage of sport,
fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource
Center (SPIRS). Includes over 650,000 records of monographs and journal
articles going back as far as 1800.
Bibliography of Bioethics. 1975+
In print only: Ref R 724 B53
Lists English-language books, essays in books, journal and newspaper
articles, court decisions, bills and laws, and audiovisual materials
concerning ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of health
related topics.
Periodicals in Pickler Library in Health, Nursing and Medicine --
Current subscriptions
Web Sites
Search Box for Health Web Sites
Associations |Government Agencies | Full-text Resources | Comprehensive Sites
Associations
American Nurses
Association
American Medical Association
DoctorFinder--- Search by physician name or medical
specialty
American Association of Colleges of
Osteopathic Medicine
Health education
assets library
National League for Nursing
Government Agencies
CDC Wonder -WONDER provides a
single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric
public health data.
Centers for Disease Control
(CDC)
National Center for
Health Statistics
Traveler's Health---Health
information for travelers
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Missouri Department of
Health and Senior Services
Missouri Monthly Vital Statistics---Links to the Missouri Center
for Health Statistics focus articles appearing in the monthly
publication. Topics include prenatal care, causes of death, teenage
smoking, hospital utilization, firearm deaths and injuries, and many
others.
National Center on
Sleep Disorders Research
National Institute of Nursing
Research
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
AIDSInfo
Clinical
Trials.gov
National Center for
Complementary and Alternative Medicine
National Library of Medicine
MEDLINEPlus
---Consumer health information
National Women's Health Information
Center
Nutrition.gov---An
Internet portal to nutrition and health information Web sites
produced by the federal government.
U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services
World Health Organization
Full-Text Resources
AEGIS---AIDS Education Global
Information System, maintained by the Sisters of Saint Elizabeth
Hospital of Hungary.
BioMed Central---BioMed Central publishes peer reviewed research
across all areas of biology and medicine
Free Medical Journals---Links
to approximately 1,000 medical journals that are available on the
Internet in full text for free.
PubMed Central---Database
of about 50 free online medical journals, searchable by keyword.
Comprehensive Sites
American Hospital Directory -
free hospital look-up to hospital websites and basic statistics.
Drug Infonet---Links to
sites concerning healthcare and pharmaceutical related topics
Hardin Meta Directory
of Internet Health Sources---Hardin Library for the Health
Sciences, University of Iowa.
Healthfinder---A service
of the U. S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
InteliHealth---Johns
Hopkins Health Information
MedHist---Guide to
history of medicine resources on the Internet.
Public
Health Resources on the Internet---Compiled by the Public Health
Library, University of California, Berkeley
WebMD --- Portal for a variety of
medical information.
Statistics
CDC Wonder -WONDER provides a
single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric
public health data.
Health, United States. A series of U.S. government
publications.
Health Care
State Rankings
Healthy People. A series of U.S. government publications.
Missouri
Monthly Vital Statistics---Links to the Missouri Center for
Health Statistics focus articles appearing in the monthly
publication. Topics include prenatal care, causes of death, teenage
smoking, hospital utilization, firearm deaths and injuries, and many
others.
National Center for Health
Statistics
Citing Sources
Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk
(660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Health,
Medicine, and Nursing
Carol Lockhart, Reference Librarian for Health, Medicine, and
Nursing
(660) 785-7417
clockhar@truman.edu
cal