Library Web Home

Evaluation of Sources for Historical Research

Book reviewing sources

America: History and Life. 1964+ 

Arts & Humanities Search.  1980+ Available through FirstSearch

Book Review Digest.  1905+  Print Ref (Table A) Z 1219 C95.  1983+  through FirstSearch.

Book Review Index.  1965+  Print Ref (Table A) Z 1219 B6

Historical Abstracts. 1971+  

H-NET REVIEWS. 1995+   Scholarly Internet Reviews

Humanities Abstracts.  1907-1996  Print Ref AI 3 S63 Book reviews in the back of each volume 1984+   through FirstSearch

Social Science Abstracts. 1974-1996 Print Ref AI 3 S63 Book reviews in the back of each volume   1983+ through FirstSearch

Evaluating authors--Reference sources for biographical information on historians.

American Historians, 1607-1865. 1984.  Reference E 175.45 A48 1984
American Historians, 1866-1912.  1986.  Reference E 175.45 A483 1986
American Women Historians, 1700s-1990s. 1996. Reference E175.45 .S27 1996
Blackwell Dictionary of Historians. 1988.  Reference D 14 B58 1988
Great Historians from Antiquity to 1800: an International Dictionary.
    1989.Reference D 14 G74
Great Historians of the Modern Age: an International Dictionary.
    1991. Reference D 14 G75 1991
Historians of the American Frontier: a Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. 1988.
    Reference E 175.45 H57
Twentieth-Century American Historians.  1983.  Reference E 175.45 T85 1983

Use the following sources to find more information on authors, historians and other scholars:
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI).  

Dissertation Abstracts, 1861+ through FirstSearch (1980+ with abstracts), 1938-1979 in Print PERIODICALS LB 2371 D58
 

Previous page || Next page
Back to Table of Contents
 

jir
 


Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter