Library Web Home

Bibliographies for Historical Research

Bibliographies for specific subjects or time periods can be found in the Library Catalog using a subject search with the subdivision:  --bibliography. For example:
  united states history bibliography
  france history bibliography

Another way to find bibliographies in the catalog is by doing keyword searches. For example:

civil war and s:bibliography     The s: ensures that the term bibliography is found in the subject heading

Some examples of useful bibliographies are listed on the following pages, but there are many more available.  

Bibliography of Bibliographies
Besterman, Theodore.  A World Bibliography of Bibliographies. 4th ed.  1966.  5 v.
Z 1002 B5685

Bibliographic Index. 1937-1997.  Reference  Z 1002 B595
Lists bibliographies of at least 50 citations published separately, as parts of books, or as articles.

Bibliographies
American Historical Association Guide to Historical Literature. 3rd ed. 1995.  2 v.
Reference D 20 A55

Foreign Affairs Bibliography.  1919/32-1962/72.  JX 1391 F67

International Bibliography of Historical Sciences.  1926-.  D 16 I58

National Union Catalog. 1953-. Microfiche Cabinet 59 Drawers 1&2.

Africa
Hartwig, Gerald W. The student Africanist's handbook. 1974.  DT20 .H37 1974

Scheven, Yvette. Bibliographies for African studies, 1987-1993. 1994. DT351 .S345 1994

Asia
Bibliography of South Asia.  1994.  Reference DS335 N45

Bibliography of Asian Studies.  1969-1991.  DS 5 B53

Nunn, Godfrey Raymond. Asia: a selected and annotated guide to reference works. 1971 DS5 N85

Europe
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. 1967-1991.
DJK 9 A542.

Bibliography of English History to 1485.  1975.  DA 175 B43 1975

Bibliography of British History:
 Tudor Period 1485-1603.  2nd ed.  DA 315 R43 1978
 Stuart Period, 1603-1714.  2nd ed.  DA 375 D39 1970
 The Eighteenth Century, 1714-1789.  DA 480 P37 1951A
 1789-1851.  DA 520 B76 1977
 1851-1914.  DA 520 H35 1976
 1914-1989. Reference DA 566 .B52 1996

Messick, Frederic M.  Primary Sources in European Diplomacy, 1914-1945:  A Bibliography of Published Memoirs and Diaries.  1987.  D 443 M469 1987.

Ragatz, Lowell J.  Bibliography for the Study of European History 1815-1939.  1942.
D 299 R34
 Supplements 1st-3rd. 1943-56.  D 299 R342 1943A

Latin America
Fenton, Thomas. Latin America and Caribbean : a directory of resources. 1986.
F1408 .F46

Handbook of Latin American Studies. 1935-1997.  F 1408 H35

Trask, David F. & others.  Bibliography of United States - Latin American Relations Since 1810.   1968.  Supplement, 1979.  F 1418 T73 1968

Werlich, David P. Research tools for Latin American historians.  1980. F1408 .W43

United States
Blazek, Ron.  United States history. 1994. Reference E178 .B57 1994

A Guide to the Sources of United States Military History. 1975.  E 181 G85 1975.
 Supplement I, 1981, Supplement II, 1986, Supplement III, 1993.

Guide to the Study of United States History Outside the U.S., 1945-1980.  1985. 5 v.
E 175.8 G85

Merriam, Louise A.  United States history : a bibliography of the new writings on American history. 1995. Reference E 178 .M477

Writings on American History.  U.S. Government Printing Office, 1902-.  E 178 W75
 

Previous page || Next page
Back to Table of Contents
 

jir

 


Last Modified 16 May 2006
Hit Counter