Use the Library Catalog to find items which contain historical statistics.
You can do a subject search using the name of a country or a region along with
the subdivision statistics. For example:
great britain--statistics
europe--statistics
Or, you can do a keyword search in the Library Catalog:
europe* and histor* and statistics
The following is a select list of sources for historical statistics:
Historical United States Census Data (1790-1960) at http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census/index.html. This is a free Web site.
International:
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania
1750-1988. 1995.
Reference HA 4675 M55. Covers climate, population, economics, and
education.
World Almanac & Book of Facts. 1900+. Latest volume in Reference: Ref
AY 67 N5 W7
Other volumes are either in general collection or Rare Books (see Library
Catalog): AY 67 N5 W7
North and South America:
Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2000: America year by year.
1994.
Reference HA 202 K87 1994. Has chapters on population, vital
statistics, migration, economic, (including industries and trade) and
social statistics.
Historical Statistics of Canada. 1965. Reference HA 746
U7. Covers population, economics, agriculture, industry, education,
politics, government and justice.
Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789-1945: A Supplement
to the Statistical Abstract of the United States. 1949. HA 202
A385
See also Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial
Times to 1970
(Reference HA 202 A385 1976)
Historical Statistics of the United States, 1790-1970. Vol. II, The
Midwest. 1973.
Reference HA 215 D6. Covers population, agriculture, and manufacturing
for 12 Midwestern states.
International Historical Statistics: The Americas 1750-1988.
1993.
Reference HA 175 M55 1993. Covers population and vital statistics,
economics, and education.
Statistical Abstract of the United States. 1879-. HA 202
A32 (Most recent volume in Reference). Covers social, economic,
education, and demographic statistics. Earlier volumes cover data as far
back as the mid 19th century.
Europe:
Abstract of British Historical Statistics. 1962. HA 1135
M5. Covers economic history. This volume is succeeded by British
Historical Statistics.
British Historical Statistics. 1988. HA 1134 M58 1988.
This emphasizes economic history but does contain some social statistics.
The East European and Soviet data handbook : political, social, and
developmental
indicators, 1945-1975. 1981. Reference HA1446 .S53.
Social statistics, including education, population, ethnic and religious
affiliations, class, communist party membership, standard of living and
occupation.
European Historical Statistics, 1750-1970. 1975. HA 1107
M5 1975. Covers the economic history of Europe.
International Historical Statistics, Europe, 1750-1988. 1992.
Reference HA 1107 M5 1992
Covers population and vital statistics, economics, and education.
TOPICAL RESOURCES:
To find statistical sources on a topic or event search the Library catalog
using keywords. For example:
civil war and statistics
election* and statistics
indians and histor* and statistics
Below is a select list of topical resources:
Historical Statistics of Black America. 1995. 2 vols.
Reference E 185 H543 1995
Among the topics covered are: economics, crime and law
enforcement, education, the family, health, housing, politics, population,
religion, slavery, and sports and leisure.
Nations Within a Nation: Historical Statistics of American Indians.
1987.
E 77 S924 1987. Topics include: land
holdings, population, migration, vital statistics, federal government
activity, health care and education, occupations, and use of natural resources.
Presidential Elections, 1789-1996. 1997. JK524 .P6783 1997
Includes data by state for popular vote returns for
president and presidential primary returns as well as other information relating
to elections.
Statistical Record of the Armies of the United States. 1989.
E 491 P5 1989
Gives data on numbers and organization of the armies of
the United States.
Previous page || Next
page
Back to Table of Contents
jir