Library Web Home

Periodicals & Periodical Article Indexes

for Historical Research

The Library owns a complete microfilm collection of American Periodical Series.  Part I contains filmed copies of 88 periodicals published in the United States between 1700 and 1800.  Part II contains 923 periodicals published between 1800-1850.  Part III contains 117 periodicals published between 1850 and 1900. Each of the periodical titles in Part I is listed individually in the Library Catalog. To get a complete list of titles for the series, do title search in the Library Catalog:  american periodical series. For a more complete description of each periodical see the American Periodicals 1741-1900: An Index to the Microfilm Collections located in Microform Reference AP2 .A3101835.

The Library also has many 19th and early 20th century periodicals that are not part of the above series.  Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature (Ref Table B AI 3 P7 1963) indexes periodicals published between 1802-1907. British periodicals are indexed by The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 (Reference Table B Z2005 H6).  Check the Library Cataog for individual titles.

The most useful index to early Twentieth Century periodicals is The Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature , first published in 1890 (Available electronically through Reader's Guide Retrospective or in print: Reference Table B AI 3 R48).  The Library also has many of the periodicals indexed in this set.  Check the Library Catalog for individual titles.

The Library subscribes to many current periodicals devoted to historical research. These are listed in the Library catalog. A number of important history titles can be found in the catalog by LC subject search:
    history--periodicals

Numerous print and electronic sources can facilitate your search for relevant books, periodical articles, or dissertations.  Below are links to some of the indexes you are likely to consult when doing historical research.

Previous page || Next page
Back to Table of Contents

 

jir 

 


Last Modified 16 May 2006
Hit Counter