CD-ROM Resources for Historical Research
Below is a select list of history CD-ROMs available at Pickler Library. The asterisk indicates those items currently loaded and accessible in the Media library, but others may be loaded upon request.
To find CD-ROM resources or videodiscs in the Library Catalog, do a key word search.
For example:
american revolution and multimedia
African-American Experience* E185 A371 1996
Part of the American Journey. Includes pictures and primary documents
from the colonial period until 1994, but its main emphasis is on the 19th
century. Includes 24 different topics, such as African Americans on the
Frontier, education, civil rights, debate over slavery, etc.
American History CD-ROM E 178 A452 1996
Provides full screen overviews of historical periods narrated by Charles
Kuralt. Includes 2,512 images, 115 historical maps, 68 film sequences
and numerous sound bytes.
American Revolution* E208 A4275 1995
Covers 1753-1781 and includes both images and primary documents.
This source is divided into numerous topics, including but not limited
to Native Americans and the Revolutionary War, Profile of a typical British
Soldier and Sailor, Literature and Culture, Siege of Yorktown, etc.
Anglo-Saxons DA152 A63 1990
Pictures and text about a variety of subjects, including Monks and
Nuns, making books, Anglo-Saxon writing, kings and kingdoms, places, and
digging up London.
Atlas of U.S. Presidents E176.1 A8 1994
Provides portraits of each President and First Lady. Includes biographies,
election results, maps, speeches and facts about their personal history.
Also includes audio clips of Presidential speeches for the twentieth century.
Civil War: America’s Epic Struggle E468 C596 1995
Disk 1 includes a narrative of the major events during the Civil War
and the events which lead to this struggle. Includes a Chronology
of the Civil War as well as a chronology of events in Washington and Richmond.
Provides biographical information on 300 Union and Confederate Generals
and general information on the major battles and events. Disk 2 includes
the photo archive, maps, and statistics. Also includes an in-depth
chronology of the Navies as well as smaller sections about medical care,
technology, and railroads. Author: Marc Schulman.
Indian Question* E76.2 I54 1994
Texts and illustrations. Includes full text of almost all treaties,
1850 Encyclopedia of American Indians edited by Henry Schoolcraft, myth
collections written at the turn of the twentieth century, the notebooks
of George Catlin, biographies on the lives of Indian Chiefs, translation
of the Autobiography of Ma-ka-tai-me-she-kia-kiak (Black Hawk), The Indian
in Self Defense by Right Hand Thunder, statistics from the Bureau of Indian
Affairs, and a few other items.
JFK: History Maker E842 J6 1990
Makes extensive use of audio and video clips to provide an examination
of JFK. Most of the video is derived from the Universal news reels.
The author is Marc Schulman.
Korea DS918 K54 1994
Provides photos and text on the Korean War. No video or audio.
Life in Tudor Times* DA320 L43
Narrated information on various topics. These topics include
Ways of Life, which is further divided into Life at Sea, Court Life, and
Town & Country, Major Events, Personalities, and Monarchs. Personalities
and Monarchs are biographical.
North American Indians E77 N6756 1994
Historical database with hundreds of images. Textual information
is provided on leadership, heritage, religion, family life, customs, wars,
weaponry, art, reservations, and resettlement.
Twelve Roads to Gettysburg E475.53 T84 1994
Uses animation, narration, story, photographs, period engravings, military
terminology and period music. Provides information on daily lives
of soldiers, how many survived and what happened to them after the war.
Further, it contains daily maneuvers and the activities of influential
politicians who shaped this event.
Vietnam: A Visual Investigation* DS558 V5 1994
Narrated by Drew Pearson. This database contains the full text
of George Herring’s book, time line of information concerning Vietnam from
1854 to 1962, information on the war memorial, and individual experiences
and opinions. This information is provided though video clips, interviews,
photographs, and audio.
Western Civilization CD-ROM D21.1 W682 1996
Contains narrated, full screen overviews of the historical periods,
numerous sound bytes, 3,936 images with captions, 53 film sequences, and
100 historical maps.
World History CD-ROM (Non-European) D21.1 W682 1996
Contains narrated, full screen overviews of the histories of world
areas, 2,400 images with captions, sound bytes, 87 historical maps.
World War II Encyclopedia D743 W668 1994
Subtitled the European Theater. Archival material from BBC Sound
Archives, Imperial War Museum, and Hulton Deutsch Photograph Collection.
Includes 600 images, 15 video clips and 200 sound.
Previous
page || Next
page
Back
to Table of Contents
jir