Library Web Home

Language & Literature Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.  |  Find Books  |  Find Articles
  Web Sites  |    Citing Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

American Writers. Reference PS 129 A55
Benet's reader's encyclopedia.    Reference PN41.B4 1996
Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature.  Reference PN 471 B57 1992
Contemporary literary criticism. 180 vols.   Reference PN771.C62
Dictionary of literary biography.  1980-1999.  Reference PS221 D5 1989
Encyclopedia of folklore and literature.   Reference PN41.E48 1998
Encyclopedia of the novel. 2 vols.  Reference PN41.E487 1998
Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th Century. 4 vols. Reference PN771.E5 1999
Literary research guide : an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies.  Reference PR83 .H27 2002
Magill's survey of world literature. 6 vols. Reference PN523.M29 1993
Oxford Companion to English literature.   Reference PR19.O94 2000
Oxford English Dictionary. 20 vols. Reference PE1625.O87 1989 or online
Twentieth-century literary criticism. 142 vols.  Reference PN94. T94

Back to Top


Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

heroes and literature
shakespeare and criticism
abjection and literature

Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples for language and literature.  Each link performs the subject search in Truman's Library Catalog.

heroes in literature

shakespeare, william

women in literature

myth in literature
greek poetry slavery in literature

The Curriculum Library, on the second floor, contains a collection of textbooks used in the public schools and a collection of children's books.  These are all listed in the Truman's Library Catalog.  You can search for children's books by author, title, keyword, or children's subject heading

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Back to Top


Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO).  1985+.   A multi-disciplinary database offering full text  for more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.   Coverage: Click here to show journal list.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Literature Resource Center - Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, produced by Thomson-Gale. (1 simultaneous user)

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles. You can limit your searches by the following languages: Chinese,  Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Swedish, and Ukrainian. 

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I and II collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection.

Project MUSEFull-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection.

L'Ane Philologique Online. Database published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique covering volumes 30 to 73 with more than 480,000 bibliographic records.

Anthropological Index Online. Free to the public to search.

ARTFL Project, years of coverage varies
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. 

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO).  Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more. 

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.  Full-text access to a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets, and broadsides from the early 1800s, based on Ralph R. Shaw's and Richard H. Shoemaker's "American Bibliography, 1801-1819.  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), 1966+
        On the Web through FirstSearch
        On the Web through The Educator's Reference Desk.   Free to the public.
        On the Web through the Dept. of Education.  Free to the public.
        ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are available online through the ERIC Document Reproduction Service.  Documents before 1993 are on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.  Journal Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle ages & Renaissance
A bibliography of articles from selected interdisciplinary journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), years vary by journal title.

Reader's Guide Retrospective.  1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.

Print Indexes

Communication Abstracts, 1967-2001
Reference P90 C65
Provides coverage of recent literature in the areas of general communication, mass communication, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, communication theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, small group communication, organizational communication, journalism, public relations, radio, public opinion, speech, and television. 

Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2001
Reference  AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.

Index to Journals in Communication Studies
Reference P87 M37, beginning dates vary to 1990
Often referred to as the Matlon guide, this subject and author index covers a number of important communication journals.

Language Teaching, 1982+
In print only under various titles: Periodicals PB35 L322
Indexes scholarly journals on learning and teaching languages. 

Back to Top


Web Sites

Language/Linguistics | Literary Criticism/About Authors | Classic Literature/Digital Archive
 

Language/Linguistics

The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation
Center for Applied Linguistics
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
ERIC Clearinghouse on Languages & Linguistics
Ethnologue---
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Glossary of Literary Terms
Lexicon of Linguistics
Linguistic Bibliography
Modern Language Association (MLA)
Old English Pages
Online Dictionaries and Translators

Literary Criticism/About Authors

Contemporary Writers in the UK
Gender Inn --- Feminist literary criticism and gender studies database
Geoffrey Chaucer  -  Harvard University's site on Geoffrey Chaucer
Geoffreychaucer.org
Internet Public Library: Online Literary Criticism Collection

Literary Encyclopedia
Literary history
 

Classic Literature/Digital Archive

Alex Catalogue of Electronic texts---collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy
American and English Literature Internet Resources
American Verse Project---electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920 at University of Michigan
ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
Bartleby: Great Books online
---Comprehensive literature works collection
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations---at Columbia University
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
Camelot Project -- at University of Rochester
Electronic Text Center---digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible
English Prose Drama Database ---more than 1,600 plays written by more than 350 different authors
The English Server Drama Collection---at Carnegie Mellon University
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts---collected by D. L. Ashliman of University of Pittsburgh.  Coverage is international, but is particularly rich in Nordic/Germanic selections.
Internet Classics Archive
Jane Austen Info Page, Pride and Prejudice Hypertext
Literary Resources on the Net
Literature.Org
---Online Literature Library with full text of 100 classic works
Luminariam: Anthology of Middle English, Renaissance, and Early 17th Century Literature
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
The Online Books Page---
website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Library
The Online Medieval and Classical Library---at Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE
Playwriting seminars
Project Gutenberg - oldest producer of free e-books on the internet
Reading Women Writers and African Literature
Science fiction and Fantasy Research Database
Shakespeare's Complete Works
Sonnet Central
---an archive of English sonnets
William Blake Archive - access to high-quality electronic reproductions of a growing portion of Blake's work including  both images and texts organized, interlinked, and searchable in ways that only hypermedia systems  allow.

Back to Top

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
 

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Language and Literature.

Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu

Back to Top

dr

 

 

 

 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter