Library Web Home

Latin Language Research Guide

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.  |  Find Books  |   Videos  |  Periodicals
Find Articles  |    Web Sites  |    Citing Sources

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Ancient Roman writers.  Reference PA6013 .A53 1999
Chronology of the Ancient World. General Collection D54.5 .B5 1980
Dictionary of Latin Literature. General Collection PA 31.M3
Greek and Latin authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000. Reference PA 31.G7
Guide to the Ancient World. General Collection DE 25.G72 1986
Oxford Latin Dictionary. 2 v. Reference PA 2365.E5 O9
Smith's English-Latin dictionary. Reference PA2365 .E5 S6 2000

Foreign-Language Dictionaries:
Many language dictionaries are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional copies, which may be checked out, are kept in the General Collection on the third floor. To find bilingual dictionaries (e.g., a Spanish-English dictionary) in the Library catalog, click on the links below to get the call numbers for bilingual dictionaries in our library.

Latin language Dictionaries in Pickler Memorial Library
Online Dictionaries and Translators
YourDictionary.com - Enter a term in the dictionary/thesaurus look-up box for English or use the word translator and type in a word and select from English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or Spanish.

Back to Top


Find Books

To find books, videos or other materials located in Pickler Memorial Library, search the Library Catalog. It is usually a good idea to start with a keyword search so you can combine search terms that relate to your research project.  For example:

greek and latin
women and marriage
latin authors

Check the Subject Headings listed in the records you retrieve to find other useful terms and phrases to search.  Below are some subject heading examples for foreign languages.  Each link performs the subject search in Truman's Library Catalog.

            Satire, Latin - History and Criticism
            Latin Poetry - History and Criticism
            Rome in literature

If Pickler Memorial Library doesn't have what you want, try your search in MOBIUS to find books in other libraries in Missouri.  You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.

Latin Language Books in Pickler Memorial Library

Latin Language Videos/DVDs in Pickler Memorial Library

 

Back to Top

Latin Periodicals

Archive for history of exact sciences 1997-2006 Per Q125 A75
Commentarii de rebus in scientia naturali et medicina gestis 1752-1798 Per QH 7 C64
I. Giornale de letterati 1668-1679 Per AP 37 G55
Greece & Rome 1931-2007 Per DE 1. G7
Journal of Roman studies 1912-2006 Per DG11 .J7
Medievalia et humanistica   G.C. D111 .M5
Novi commentarii Academiae Scientiarum Instituti Bononiensis 1834-1848 Per AS222 B65
Phronesis 1988-2006 Per B 1 P 59


Find Articles

Databases in this section are restricted to use on the Truman network unless otherwise indicated.

MLA Bibliography. 1926+. A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles. You can limit your searches by the following languages: Chinese,  Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish, Swedish, and Ukrainian. 

MLA Directory of Periodicals.  Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+
In print under various titles 1907-1996.    Reference AI 3 S6
Contains citations from more than 465 periodicals in archaeology and classical studies, area studies, communication, folklore, history, language, literature, performing and visual arts, philosophy, religion and theology.   Coverage: Click here to show journal list.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective. Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Arts and Humanities Search  1980+
Indexing of 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.  Citation Index allows searching of bibliographies.

JSTOR. Archive of scholarly journals. Truman campus has access to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, & IV collections, Ecology & Botany collection, and General Science collection. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.

Back to Top


Web Sites:                      
 

                                 General       |     Associations     |    University Hosted Projects

General


Center for Applied Linguistics - a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
Ethnologue---
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Foreign Language and Culture Page offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.
iLoveLanguages is a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.
radio-locator - A list of radio stations on the internet
Modern Language Association Language Map -
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.

 

Associations

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
American Translators Association
International Language Testing Association (ILTA)
Modern Language Association (MLA)



University Hosted Projects

Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition at the University of Minnesota
Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University
Language Acquisition Resource Center at San Diego State University
National Capital Language Resource Center
NFLRC at the University of Hawaii

UCLA Language Materials Project provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.
Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon - guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.

 

Back to Top

Citing Sources

Selected guides to help you cite sources correctly  in APA, Chicago/Turabian, and MLA styles.
 

For further assistance, visit or call the Reference Desk (660-785-4051) or contact the Reference librarian for Language and Literature.

Daisy Rearick, Reference Librarian for Education
(660) 785-4048
drearick@truman.edu

Back to Top

 


 

Last Modified 16 June 2008
Hit Counter