TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University

Guide to Legal Resources

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT
PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS, PROCLAMATIONS

COMPILATION OF THE MESSAGES AND PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS

  • Arrangement: By administration. Volume 11 is index.
  • Notes: 11 volumes. Begins 1789 (Washington) and ends 1913 (Taft).
  • Location:  General Collection J 81 B97
CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS
  • Purpose: Contains regulations of the various bureaus and departments of the government which are currently in force. Part 3 has the Presidential material.
  • Location: Ref KF 70 A34 I46 (1985-2002).  Also available online through:
         FDsys (free)
         LexisNexis Academic -- Legal Research (Truman network only)
  • Cited: CFR
PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS OF THE UNITED STATES
  • Purpose: Includes public presidential papers. Begins with Hoover.
  • Location: Main volumes:  General Collection J 80 A283
  • Indexes: General Collection J 80 A2832
WEEKLY COMPILATION OF PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS
  • Purpose: The best CURRENT source for all Presidential documents. Includes executive orders, proclamations, speeches, press conferences and other legally significant documents.
  • Arrangement: Chronologically. Quarterly and annual indexes.
  • Notes: Published since 1965 (Lyndon Johnson).  Library has 1965+.
  • Location: Periodicals J 80 A284, 1993 to present.  Also available online through:
         GPO Access  (free)
         EBSCOhost  Academic Search Elite 1995+   (Truman network only)

PRESIDENT'S WEB SITE

 


Previous page || Next page
Back to Table of Contents of Guide to Legal Resources


Encouraging Discovery